We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cidadela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cidadela
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is in a good location for exploring and dining out, as it is only a short walk into the centre. The staff were most welcoming and helpful, and the accommodation was comfortable and boasted an excellent panaromic view of the Atlantic. The beds were clean and comfortable, the furniture may be a little outdated but still adequate. Bathroom and toilet facilities were all clean, and the room comfortably warm and spacious. The breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of choice and offered much more than the usual continental fare offered in other hotels.
Overall, would defintely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    93
    74
    24
    19
See reviews for
49
107
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

The room is ok, but the breakfast...I don't know how to describe. The food taste just not like food! Horrible coffe!(if this thing can be called coffe) I only have eaten butter and bread. In addition, there is not drinkable water avaliable in the room.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 悦 何
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We arrived in Cascais and were immediately greeted by the warm and welcoming staff. Yes, the Hotel has seen better days - but you can almost hear the chatter of the socialites that presumably once roamed the corridors. We stayed on the 5th floor in the suite at the end. 100 Euros per nght (including breakfast). We had an enormous sitting room where my daughter slept & an incredible view. A hallway and double glass doors divided us and we had a grand bedroom facing the back. Quiet, charming and comfortable. The cleaning staff was invisible and yet the room was always made up almost before we returned from breakfast. The pool is hidden and yet surrounded by banana trees. We walked everywhere..including the Farmers market on the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

This is a good quality 3 star hotel. Comfortable rooms,helpfull staff,food at breakfast excelent. The resturant was also of good quality.
My only "moan" is the bathroom we had needed up dating. The shower was a tad feeble!
We will be returning in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inertiaanne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

08/11/13, just arrived home to ireland, after a 7 day stay in the cidadela hotel in cascais.
as regards, hotel,staff,food,rooms,
location, 10 out of 10. i stayed in room 414 on the 4th floor, with a stunning view of the sea and beach, my first stay at this hotel, but after this experience, i will be returning, for many years to come. GERALD

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel did not change and is the same than 8 years ago, no fancy place but great to stay at. The staff was still the same and very helpfull and friendly. Clean rooms, good beds and close to the beach and train and bus station. I would certainly recommand to everybody to go there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria26012012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This place is incredible. I loved everything about it. Food was great, room was great and the bed was like a cloud. Everything that you could possibly want to do is within walking distance. We enjoyed a great bike ride up and down the beach.
Perfect.
In case you were wanting a pool, it is not so great. But with beaches all around, who cares.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#13 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#17 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
3.3 mi away
Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alvorada
Hotel Alvorada
#6 of 17 in Estoril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cidadela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cidadela

Property: Hotel Cidadela
Address: Av. 25 de Abril, Cascais 2754-517, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cidadela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment-style Hotel in busy residential area, about 600 yards from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Cidadela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidadela Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing