We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cidadela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cidadela
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

from a spring trip to Lisbon & Cascais and the Cidadela has proved as reliable as ever. Great service, extremely helpful staff and super large bathroom, along with a balcony with a view over the town to the Tejo and Cparica make this an obvious choice for me. You don't need a car to get around - the Buscas (Boca do inferno, Parc, Paula Rego, main sqaure, train station and shopping centre) is still only € 1-00 flat rate from either side of the hotel. Oh, forgot the private pool...Breakfast is good, too.

Room Tip: All have morning sun and a balcony I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedodgerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    93
    74
    24
    19
See reviews for
51
107
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is our second visit to the Cidadela Hotel, it is quite an old fashioned hotel, which I like, the staff are very pleasant and always happy to help, breakfast is fine the usual continental buffet a large selection, all fresh and well stocked. The hotel is around 10 minutes walk from cascais centre, but the hotel is at the top of a hill, just be aware of this if you are not used to walking. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyP123490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was at this hotel for a weekend with some friends. The hotel has clearly lived better times and you can tell by the size of the rooms and common areas, but the furniture and the decoration has not been updated since probably the seventies/eighties. Any case, the size of the room and the bathroom is larger than what you can find at hotels of the same category. It had also a spacious balcony facing the Atlantic with a great view ( we were at the fith floor and I would recommend a high floor room) . The bed was comfortable and they were no noises. As objections I would say lack of plugs for powering phone, camera, etc.. and water pressure at the bathroom, probably due to lime deposited during the years. Any case, shower was OK. The breakfast was better than indicated at some of the comments. Was decent, with cooked food, sweets and also fruit. We had all we wanted. The location is good as you can walk to the bars , restaurants, beach, etc.. and it is all surrounded by trees. We did not use the swimming pool , but it looked right. Free parking was also available at the property. The staff was very helpful, more than what you normally find in Spain at hotels of similar category . I found it a good option for the cost it has and I will recommend it for anyone staying at Cascais for a short break

Room Tip: Get your room at the top floors of the building to ensure a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madrid_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent 2 nights in the hotel in April 2014. As a family of four (two children aged 5 and 1) we had a standard triple room on the third floor. The room was huge and consisted of a bedroom and a living/additional sleeping area, decent bathroom, a cupboard and lots of storage space. The room was just perfect for us, the staff was very helpful and pleasant, breakfast was good. We did not stay long enough to comment on any facilities or dinner.
What you can immediately see when walking through the from door is that the hotel must have been grand a couple of decades ago and absolute top of shelf when it was built. Now it feels a bit forgotten and unloved. The splendid flowery curtains, rich red and green carpets and beautiful though outdated furniture could still add an enormous value to the place. But the electric installation and plumbing would need a lot of TLC. I would recommend the place an excellent base to see Cascais, Sintra and Lisbon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is in a good location for exploring and dining out, as it is only a short walk into the centre. The staff were most welcoming and helpful, and the accommodation was comfortable and boasted an excellent panaromic view of the Atlantic. The beds were clean and comfortable, the furniture may be a little outdated but still adequate. Bathroom and toilet facilities were all clean, and the room comfortably warm and spacious. The breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of choice and offered much more than the usual continental fare offered in other hotels.
Overall, would defintely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

The room is ok, but the breakfast...I don't know how to describe. The food taste just not like food! Horrible coffe!(if this thing can be called coffe) I only have eaten butter and bread. In addition, there is not drinkable water avaliable in the room.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 悦 何
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We arrived in Cascais and were immediately greeted by the warm and welcoming staff. Yes, the Hotel has seen better days - but you can almost hear the chatter of the socialites that presumably once roamed the corridors. We stayed on the 5th floor in the suite at the end. 100 Euros per nght (including breakfast). We had an enormous sitting room where my daughter slept & an incredible view. A hallway and double glass doors divided us and we had a grand bedroom facing the back. Quiet, charming and comfortable. The cleaning staff was invisible and yet the room was always made up almost before we returned from breakfast. The pool is hidden and yet surrounded by banana trees. We walked everywhere..including the Farmers market on the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.7 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#15 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#13 of 17 in Estoril
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#13 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cidadela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cidadela

Property: Hotel Cidadela
Address: Av. 25 de Abril, Cascais 2754-517, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cidadela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment-style Hotel in busy residential area, about 600 yards from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, ACCOR, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cidadela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidadela Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing