We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit to Cascais”
Review of Hotel Cidadela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cidadela
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our first visit to Cascais”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very pleasant Hotel,with friendly and helpful Reception staff. The room was spotlessly clean and large with a fine view from the balcony. We stayed on a Bed and Breakfast basis, which turned out to be a good choice as the Hotel was very quiet in the evenings and there was a very good choice of restaurants in the town which was a ten minute walk away. We took advantage of the excellent Train and Bus services to Lisbon and Sintra. On this occasion the holiday was more for sight seeing than for sitting on the beach or by the pool. There is so much to see and do in this area and this Hotel was a good base.We had a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on 4th or 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    95
    80
    25
    21
See reviews for
52
114
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Just home from a wonderful weeks holiday in Cidadela. Staff are lovely, helpful and friendly. Room was large with a beautiful view and cleaned everyday. Pool was terrific, bar and common areas were beautiful. A terrific place to stay and near everywhere. We will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank CathF88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

from a spring trip to Lisbon & Cascais and the Cidadela has proved as reliable as ever. Great service, extremely helpful staff and super large bathroom, along with a balcony with a view over the town to the Tejo and Cparica make this an obvious choice for me. You don't need a car to get around - the Buscas (Boca do inferno, Parc, Paula Rego, main sqaure, train station and shopping centre) is still only € 1-00 flat rate from either side of the hotel. Oh, forgot the private pool...Breakfast is good, too.

Room Tip: All have morning sun and a balcony I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedodgerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is our second visit to the Cidadela Hotel, it is quite an old fashioned hotel, which I like, the staff are very pleasant and always happy to help, breakfast is fine the usual continental buffet a large selection, all fresh and well stocked. The hotel is around 10 minutes walk from cascais centre, but the hotel is at the top of a hill, just be aware of this if you are not used to walking. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyP123490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was at this hotel for a weekend with some friends. The hotel has clearly lived better times and you can tell by the size of the rooms and common areas, but the furniture and the decoration has not been updated since probably the seventies/eighties. Any case, the size of the room and the bathroom is larger than what you can find at hotels of the same category. It had also a spacious balcony facing the Atlantic with a great view ( we were at the fith floor and I would recommend a high floor room) . The bed was comfortable and they were no noises. As objections I would say lack of plugs for powering phone, camera, etc.. and water pressure at the bathroom, probably due to lime deposited during the years. Any case, shower was OK. The breakfast was better than indicated at some of the comments. Was decent, with cooked food, sweets and also fruit. We had all we wanted. The location is good as you can walk to the bars , restaurants, beach, etc.. and it is all surrounded by trees. We did not use the swimming pool , but it looked right. Free parking was also available at the property. The staff was very helpful, more than what you normally find in Spain at hotels of similar category . I found it a good option for the cost it has and I will recommend it for anyone staying at Cascais for a short break

Room Tip: Get your room at the top floors of the building to ensure a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madrid_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent 2 nights in the hotel in April 2014. As a family of four (two children aged 5 and 1) we had a standard triple room on the third floor. The room was huge and consisted of a bedroom and a living/additional sleeping area, decent bathroom, a cupboard and lots of storage space. The room was just perfect for us, the staff was very helpful and pleasant, breakfast was good. We did not stay long enough to comment on any facilities or dinner.
What you can immediately see when walking through the from door is that the hotel must have been grand a couple of decades ago and absolute top of shelf when it was built. Now it feels a bit forgotten and unloved. The splendid flowery curtains, rich red and green carpets and beautiful though outdated furniture could still add an enormous value to the place. But the electric installation and plumbing would need a lot of TLC. I would recommend the place an excellent base to see Cascais, Sintra and Lisbon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is in a good location for exploring and dining out, as it is only a short walk into the centre. The staff were most welcoming and helpful, and the accommodation was comfortable and boasted an excellent panaromic view of the Atlantic. The beds were clean and comfortable, the furniture may be a little outdated but still adequate. Bathroom and toilet facilities were all clean, and the room comfortably warm and spacious. The breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of choice and offered much more than the usual continental fare offered in other hotels.
Overall, would defintely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.7 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#14 of 39 in Cascais
665 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
509 reviews
1.0 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#3 of 17 in Estoril
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
965 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#13 of 17 in Estoril
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cidadela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cidadela

Property: Hotel Cidadela
Address: Av. 25 de Abril, Cascais 2754-517, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cidadela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment-style Hotel in busy residential area, about 600 yards from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cidadela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidadela Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing