We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are staying here for business i would not recommend, as the WiFi doesn't work”
Review of Hotel Cidadela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cidadela
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 19 May 2010

The reception staff were unable to help with the problems connecting to the WiFi and made the trip very frustrating and expensive on the phone calls as i was unable to use skype for my correspondance.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolebutt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2009

The room was good but the air-conditioning was very ineffective. This did not really matter as we just left the balcony door open. We had a fairly pleasant view and you could see the sea even though it was a little way away. The pool was good but we did not use it much as there was a junior football team who monopolised it noisily most days of our stay. The breakfast was very good and the service at all times was pleasant and courteous. The hotel had a sort of 60s feel to it but this was not unpleasant. It is a few streets away from the main town and the beaches which was fine when the weather was good (which it was most of the time) but when it rained at the end of our week, we were loathe to trudge into town. Cascais is wonderful - so much so that we returned to Cascais in October 09 but this time stayed at the Hotel Baia.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This hotel is easily reached from the Rail Station on the BUSCAS 10-15mins service which runs 10.00 till 22.00. It is situated above the old town with a lotof restaurants and about 15mins to the beach. The hotel offers a buffet breakfast with lots of choice, an evening dinner menu at around 18 Euro all-in. The pool is immaculate, cleaned daily with plenty of seating and a poolside bar/snackbar. The rooms are well equipped (except no coffee/teamaking but they can lend a kettle.) Rooms at the 3-5 floor pool facing allow great views to the sea and sunrises. Free WiFi and internet to rent on 2 pc's at 1.50 Euro/15mins. Close to bus stops (Buscas/404). A haven in summary

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank droscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

I recently stayed at the Cidadela with a friend while staying in Cascais for a week. The hotel rooms are slightly dated but clean and have a lovely private balcony. The twin room was quite spacious for the two of us. The only negative comment was that the fridge was locked and a fridge would have been nice to store a bottle of water.The beakfast was good with breads, cheese, hams, cereal, fruit and eggs and bacon also, buffet style. The pool area was very clean and well kept with a small pool bar where you could get lunch also.
The location is up a hill, however we walked everywhere and never found it too much.
Cascais is great with loads of nice restaurants, they have free bike rental in the town and there are lovely bike rides around the area, I cycled to guincho beach which is a lovely cycle and an amazing beach.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoggey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

This Hotel was v. good for us as it was fairly near to the railway station; and we used the train to visit Lisbon and Belem. We managed to get a deal of €60 B. & B. if we had paid much more I think we would have quibbled at the value, as although it was very clean and comfy, the bathroom was quite dated and it was a huge struggle to get enough water for the shower. The swimming pool was a good size, the breakfasts were adequete in choices, car parking at the hotel was no problem. We fould a great little Pizzaria restaurant which we ended going to 3 evenings (they do vegetarian)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I booked a short break in Cascais, in order to combine beach with city - Lisbon is only a short ride away. The hotel is a typical multi-storey block of the sixties, with the standard sort of room layout and a balcony overlooking the pool and gardens. It was fully adequate, but the decor could do with a bit of a face-lift. I think some rooms had already been improved, but they hadn't reached ours yet. The dining room served a very generous buffet breakfast, but we didn't try it for dinner. The Saturday night BBQ by the pool was good value. The hotel is adjacent to a bus stop for the very cheap (60 Eurocents) circular route which links Cascais station to most parts of the town. It is a bit of a walk to the harbour area and town centre - uphill on the way back - but far more convenient than some of the more modern hotels on the edge of town

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerdundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

I stayed at Hotel Cidadela for a conference. It is in a great location. While the rooms are dated they are clean and have all the facilities I require (including a comfortable bed). The pool was lovely and a nice place to relax. While there was noise from the street, the view from my room on the 5th floor was amazing. My work had only paid for a single room and when I explained that my husband was coming for three of the four nights they didn't change me the extra for a double. Staff were very accomodating.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.7 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#16 of 39 in Cascais
717 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 17 in Estoril
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#12 of 17 in Estoril
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 39 in Cascais
1,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Cascais
Eurostars Cascais
#24 of 39 in Cascais
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cidadela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cidadela

Address: Av. 25 de Abril, Cascais 2754-517, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range: £39 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cidadela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment-style Hotel in busy residential area, about 600 yards from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cidadela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidadela Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing