We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice hotel, but ....”
Review of Pestana Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Cascais
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel, but ....”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

But the location is not the best. Our main interest on this trip was to visit Lisbon. The walking distance to the small town of Cascais from the hotel was approx. 30 minutes. Then the train, depending of how many stops, it took about 30 - 40 minutes before it stopped at the station Cais do Sobre in Lisbon. Then , you can take the metro to Rossio station in the middle of Lisbon. The traveling time to and from Lisbon / hotel is 2 - 3 hours.

There is a local shuttle bus at the hotel.. It starts in the morning, but stops at approx. 6 pm. After that you must take the local bus called "buscas" from the railway station to the hotel. In july 2011 this had a price 0.7 Euro pr. ticket from the railwaystation to the hotel.

The hotel Pestana Cascais is very nice. It is a bit "worn". Did not bother us. Nice and clean. The apartment and balcony was not as big as I had expected from reading other reviewers opinion but, ok, no problem. From out 6'th floor apartment we had a very nice view over the Atlantic ocean, watching the cruise ships visiting Lisbon come and go and disappear in the evening fog. Our small kitchen in the department corner was functioning perfectly.
There is an indoor pool, and there is an outdoor pool. The outdoor pool is not heated, so the indoor pool was the best for us :) In the afternoon, the pool could be crowded due to the afternoon heat.
Friendly and helpful staff. Not all of them English speaking. No problem, just use a few words in spanish, and everybody is happy. ..
Great breakfast, scrambled eggs everyday. A good variety in different fruits, and so on.
Recommended, yes indeed.
So, if your intension is to visit Lisbon for a couple of days, this hotel is not the right choice. But, if you just want to stay a couple of day just to relax, then this choice is ok ..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norwtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    309
    121
    33
    21
See reviews for
214
272
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lint, belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We've had a very pleasant stay here. The hotel is situated near the sea and has a lovely garden where you can relax under the palm and olive trees. Almost every hour between 9am and 6pm, a shuttle service brings you to the train station, where you can take a sunbath on the beaches nearby or buy a ticket for the train that brings you in half an hour to the center of Lisboa. If you're too late for the bus, there's always cheap (0,70 EUR for a ticket) public transport available to go to Cascais. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. We immediately felt home. The indoor swimming pool proved to be very useful, even in summer, as late in the afternoon there's often a lot of wind. Breakfasts are OK, the rooms are spacious and well cleaned. Nearby, there's a little park (Villa da Guia), with nice views on the rocky coast, shops and some pubs and restaurants. Just opposite to the hotel, there's a supermarket and a bakery.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank girardoLint_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Pestana Hotel Cascais deserves its 4 Stars This Hotel is Very Good, This Hotel is just out of town ,5 Minutes in a taxi , €5 takes you in or out of town ,
The Staff in this hotel know how to treat Guests,Very Very Helpful,
Hotel runs a Shuttle Bus to Cascais and also to the Beach , The Woman Driver was Marvelious and Very Helpful,The Receptionist also Helped us no end , I could go on and on , Thanks to all the staff in the Pestana Cascais.

Room Tip: The 6 Floor Quite as Mice View Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had a woderful time, was the first trip for my parents to Portugal. They absolutely loved staying at Pestana Cascais and said if ever they had to return, they would defenitely stay there again! The staff are very friendly and helpful, not to mention the breakfast that is topclass, with staff making sure there are no shortages whatsoever. Thank you so much for making our holiday memorable!
Carlos and Chirese dos Reis Marques

Room Tip: Loved the rooms, where we could sit and talk outside everynight! Very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chirese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Croydon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Nice hotel with large rooms and excellent facilities such as the sauna and swimming pool.
Located about 10-15 mins driving distance from Cascais centre itself which we didn't find a problem due to the free shuttle bus provided by the hotel. If you wanted to stay in the centre for an evening a cab back would be relatively inexpensive (€10).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank PMGOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My wife and daughter and I stayed ay the Pestana Cascais during early June. Rooms good, comfortable and clean. Breakfast good. Didn't eat lunch or dinner in restaurant as preferred to check out the many very good restaurants downtown. Reception staff very helpful. Shuttle bus to Cascais available (if at times on a somewhat erratic schedule.) Very good and cheap bus service (Buscas) to town - bus stop just around the corner. Price (obtained direct from hotel over the Internet) reasonable for what was offered. On the whole very satisfied. Would recommend. No sign of dogs in appartments overlooking the pools!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lewes1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

\we had a Superior sea facing room with a huge balcony and a kitchenette with a two ring cooker but no electric kettle.Cooker incapable of boiling a saucepan containing 2 cups of water after an hour or more,Diningroom overcrowded at breakfast.Excessive number of tables restricts movement.Poolside furniture not the cleanest..Served tinned fruit cocktail several mornings,not what one would expect of a 4 star hotel.Had to run the bath a number of times to clear brown colour in the water.A good 30 minutes walk from Cascais centre.Not as good as 4 star hotels in which we stayed in Canary Islands in recent years

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kierangoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#12 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cascais

Property: Pestana Cascais
Address: Avenida Manuel Julio Carvalho e Costa 115 | Alameda Guia, Cascais 2750-424, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#12 Business Hotel in Cascais
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6 story hotel - situated yards from Atlantic Ocean; in close proximity to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Cascais Hotel Cascais
Pestana Hotel Cascais
Cascais Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing