We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Pestana Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Cascais
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A good choice of hotel for visiting Cascais and the Lisbon coast. Although a little bit from the centre of the town, it is a nice walk to the town centre. The hotel has a nice ambiance, the staff were very courteous and professional and the rooms and public areas were clean. All in all, a good 4 star hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    330
    132
    37
    21
See reviews for
232
288
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Pestana Cascais did surprise us a little. It wasn't our first choice hotel, but because others were already full booked, we chose Pestana Cascais. It was absolutely better than we thought it would be, it was much more beautiful in real life than on the traveler's photos here. The room was very clean, not the modern style we usually pick, but it was neat and that's more important. The balcony was very lovely to sit outside in peace in the evening or when you want to read a book where it's not so noisy.

The breakfust was very good, a lot of choice, and delicious fresh fruit!

The pool was very nice, bigger than expected and very clean. We also thought it was really nice of the hotel that we didn't need to pay extra for the chairs by the pool (as it is in many other hotels) and we did get pool towels from the hotel which we needed to return afterwards.

The only little thing we found unfortunately was that the shuttle bus didn't drive in the weekend, so in the weekends you need to walk to the center (about 2 kilometres), grab a taxi or go by public bus. Not that it's a huge issue, but why not offer the shuttle bus service also in the weekends?

Overall, we really enjoyed Pestana Cascais!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dorien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lying by the pool at the moment while a drill is buzzing in my ear. I've been here a few days and it's the same everyday. This is an expensive hotel and to put up with the drilling is not exceptable. Complaints have been made to reception and nothing has been done about it. Absolute disgrace!! Hotel is clean and staff are friendly. But apart from that it's out of the way from the town and the food is not great. Extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holslovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just returned from Hotel Pestana, it is the 5th time that my husband and I have stayed there, I think that speaks for itself! We love the Cascais area and the Pestana is an excellent hotel to stay in.
It is a 30 minute walk along by the cliff edge. If you like walking like we do there are lovely walks in the area either towards Estoril or to Guincho. There is a very good bus service so if the walking is too much then just hop on the bus!
The staff in the Pestana are very welcoming and helpful. I was having problems with my WI FI and one of the men in reception sorted it for me. Also there were some noisy boys (Iber Cup) in the room next to us, I mentioned it to Paula at reception and it was sorted immediately.
The breakfast in the hotel is very good,plenty of variety to suit all tastes, We havent eaten dinner there so I'm not sure what it is like.
Over the years we have discovered lots of genuine Portugese restaurants which are great value. Sometimes on the walk into town at night we go through the old town and definitely this is the place to eat, the food is excellent and it is so cheap, usually we have a starter to share, 2 main courses, and dessert each plus wine which costs €30 for 2 people.
Some areas of the hotel could do with a revamp but it doesnt bother us as it is kept very clean and the rooms are serviced every day.
There are plenty of sun beds both by the pool and in the garden. Again the pool area and the garden are always clean and tidy with no loud music.
We are already looking forward to our next stay in Pestana!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms get the sun in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EF_G5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I agree with PatNx. This hotel is certainly quiet and relaxing, and so are homes for the elderly. Again as per the previous review suggested, we would have been better off going somewhere more lively. Personally, I thought it ridiculous that the option of after dinner drinks outside with friends or family was not available as the doors were locked to the pool or garden area at 8pm sharp. ( I suppose we could have sat on the car park?! ) During the day there was no music loud or otherwise until I asked if I too could hear the music being played by a small radio at the bar. We traveled in a group of 10 including 4 teenagers who are used to behaving well - although I think being told not to play volley ball in the pool a bit extreme!! (this being the only available entertainment in 30+ degree heat),the pool is too cold and often empty, and as previously mentioned. the garden is extensive and so no need to sunbathe at the pool edge.

There is a minibus which provides transport between the hotel and Cascais (which incidentally is a good 45min walk away -and uphill coming back!!) but the minibus is usually full and a 20 min wait is required for it to take one load and return (assuming you will fit into the second run)

The food is NOT good - the only holiday that I have actually lost weight!! Breakfast is continental with the odd nod to full English, however the evening meal is not good value for money, being often unrecognizable, poor choice, and unpleasant. The restaurant is small and overcrowded with a wait for a table at peak times.

On a positive note, the hotel is situated in a decent area, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and on the whole the staff are friendly.

I feel it necessary to be as honest as possible, in the hope that those who...... do not have active children...... enjoy peace and quiet...... an early night......and are not too bothered about what they eat..... will find this hotel.........................and leave vacancies in the ones that are into living!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jslNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The review below by Charlotte L headed "If you like being bored this is the place for you" fails to recognise that some people actually like a hotel that is quiet and peaceful. My wife and I stayed at the hotel at the same time as Charlotte and found that it suited our needs. Yes, there is no music playing in the pool area, so you can sunbathe or read by the pool and in the extensive gardens in a quiet and relaxing environment. The bedrooms are also quiet at night so you will not be kept awake by late night drinkers or disco music. If someone is looking for a more "lively" hotel then I would suggest they choose a hotel in the centre of Cascais.
This was our second visit to the hotel and there is still room for improvement in the food buffet. The scrambled egg at breakfast is poor and the hot meat dishes at dinner are often unattractive.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PatNx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time for 2 weeks in May.

First impressions

Advertised as a 4 star, but in my opinion it was more like a good UK 3 star hotel.

Decor was a bit dated and basic.

Hotel was spotless, staff very friendly.

There was a laid back attitude, so service was not super fast, tendency to take their time, but always with a smile.

Room was a good size, very comfortable bed.
TV was a little basic but good range of channels in a variety of languages.
Room had a random selection of self catering equipment.
A hob, plates, but lacked a kettle, cutlery or cups.

No tea or coffee facilities in the room either.

Rooms were spotlessly clean, only issue was a lack of supplies, you were left with 1 tiny bottle of shower gel and shampoo and one toilet roll per day. We could have done with a few extra toiletries.

Seating area in the lobby not very comfortable, and quite small. It got very congested when coach trips arrived, this happened most days.

The indoor and outdoor pool areas were lovely, but water absolutely freezing!

Quite a lot of the sun loungers were broken, but it was never that busy so always plenty of loungers free.

Prices for drinks at the bar were reasonable.

Food
We got breakfast included.
Good points
Lots of fresh fruit, cereals and yogurts available. Good variety.
Really nice muffins and pastries.

Bad points
Poor selection of hot food, unappetising tiny sausages (looked like they came out of a tin) bacon and the scrambled eggs were tasteless and watery.

Improvements needed,
The bread a selection was good, but only 1 toaster so you were often queuing for 10 mins to get toast.

Only 1 coffee machine, which also provided got water for tea so had to queue for that everyday too meanwhile your breakfast was going cold.

The breakfast area was small, and tended to get very busy, my advice is go down early to avoid queuing and make sure there are things left.

I did not eat lunch or dinner at the hotel as I felt it was overpriced.
Lunch options were sandwiches and fries from the bar at around 12 euros and there was a fabulous bakery across the road with freshly made sandwiches at a quarter of the price.

Dinner was only a buffet option, very limited main course choice and expensive so we ate out every night.

It is a little away from the town centre, but the walk along the coast is beautiful, and plenty if places to stop on the way for ice creams.

Personally I wouldn't return to this hotel, just felt it wasn't quite as advertised. Was good value for money but if I was to return to the area I would spend a bit more and stay somewhere of a higher standard.

Having said that the place was spotless, the staff were very friendly.

One more thing to note it says on the website you need to pay for Internet, if you go to the reception you can get a free 3 day pass which you can just renew when it runs out.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
1,003 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Cascais
Eurostars Cascais
#24 of 39 in Cascais
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cascais

Property: Pestana Cascais
Address: Avenida Manuel Julio Carvalho e Costa, 115 | Alameda Guia, Cascais 2754-518, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#10 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#12 Business Hotel in Cascais
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Cascais is a 4-star hotel located in one of the most luxurious areas of Lisbon's coastal region, Vila de Cascais. It is very close to various beaches, including the surfer's paradise Guincho beach, parks, museums, shopping centres and the Casino do Estoril. It offers both an outdoor and indoor swimming pool with whirpool bath, sauna and Turkish bath, as well as a restaurant and a bar. During the summer, enjoy the outdoor swimming pool and gardens with views of the Atlantic ocean. All rooms feature a kitchenette, balcony, air conditioning and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Cascais Hotel Cascais
Pestana Hotel Cascais
Cascais Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing