We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with vies to die for !”
Review of Vila Gale Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Gale Cascais
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My husband and and I stayed here last week for our first visit to Cascais. We paid the supplement for a seaview, maybe we were lucky but after many holidays in Portugal and Spain the view from our balcony here was unmatched. We didn't find the rooms dull, they were huge and comfortable. You need to take your own kettle, and the fridges don't keep the beer/wine that cold. Our rooms were cleaned extremely well, we found the reception staff and cleaning staff polite and helpful. Breakfasts consisted of a good selection of food which we found to be very enjoyable. I defy anyone to find a better location in Cascais, as many people have said it's in the ideal spot to walk 15 minutes along by the harbour/sea [with all the pretty little lights) as it is getting dark to choose from the wonderful selection of restaurants.
The towels were very thin yes , but we loved the hotel and would highly recommend from our
experiences.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suffolktraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or on any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you,

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

I went to Vila Gale Cascais on a girls weekend break. It was great for our large group and the hotel helpfully put all our rooms close together on the same floor so we weren’t running between the floors when it was time fetch people.

Room: The room was nice and clean but not amazing decor. This may be my personal taste as I like a very modern hotel and this hotel felt like it had been decorated a bit cheaply.
Service: The service staff were always helpful but we did learned any request had to be put in half an hour before you wanted it as they were laid back about responding quickly, especially at the bar.

Food: I would advice heading to the centre of town for food. It was cheaper and better quality to the hotel. The only lunch we did have there was a bit of a struggle. The staff were slow taking the order and by the time it arrived we were considering leaving for somewhere in the town centre as we were starving.

Location: It is a ten minute walk from the centre of the city and it is a nice stroll down to all the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidy_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Dear Guest,

The feedback received from our clients allow us to constantly improve our standards of service, therefore we thank you for your review.

Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or on any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you,

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here in October for a week when we played the local courses. This is our third trip to the area, but first time to this Hotel. Hard to fault it really. Great (big) rooms and splendid bathrooms, great pool area without traffic noise. Breakfast was spot on, too. Two biggest pluses for me were absolutely no problem parking the minibus, and the pleasant walk into the town without hills. We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or on any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you,

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Bearing in mind its location, any Hotel should get almost top marks, but sadly Vila Gale doesn't.
Unpreposessing building, inadequate reception, dull and unimaginative rooms, poor standard of cleaning and inadequate staffing levels.
We piad extra for a junior suite with sea view and were disapointed with both ! There was a sea view if you looked around the corner of your balcony but the view straight out was the Hotel next door plus the local waste collection area and the Hotels kitchen delivery area.
We asked fr a change of room but were told the Hotel was full. The room itself was large but decidedly dull - a real disapointment.
Cascais itself was wonderful although the Marina development was unimpressive due to a lack of occupancy and customers.

Room Tip: insist on front of Hotel location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Dear Guest,

The feedback received from our clients allow us to constantly improve our standards of service, therefore we thank you for your review.

Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or on any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you,

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Regardless of other reviews we did not find this hotel to be the best, yes the location was fantastic overlooking the pool and Atlantic ocean. The rooms were very large and the mini kitchenette was a bonus however the decor for a recently refurbished hotel was dark and gloomy. As said before the reception was adequate but not over friendly, at one point my wife needed a doctor and they didnt really know where to go. Breakfast was very good with excellent choice of both hot and cold food however the the floor and table bottoms in the front part of the restaurant were fairly grubby. Overall we did enjoy our stay, the walk to Cascais was 10/15 minutes and very pleasant via the marina and we did find some excellent restaurants, the best being the Casa Vehla which is over the back of the square

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catullo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Guest,

The feedback received from our clients allow us to constantly improve our standards of service, therefore we thank you for your review.

Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or on any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you,

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed Vila Gale 4 nights beginning of October. The location is good short walk from marina and town. Staff are friendly and helpfull. Buffet breakfast was good and the ocean view from the room was excellent.
Small disappointments, the cleaning could work better ( room, windows, spider nets in breakfast room windows) and the quality of towels need to be better.
However we had a great stay here and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerMUPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or on any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you,

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Our second visit to a hotel in the Vila Gale group and the Cascais Vila Gale is a hotel not to be missed.
The position of the hotel, on the edge of a botanical garden surrounded by palm trees is beautiful and just 10 to 15 minutes walk from the centre of town. A bus stop is about two minutes from the hotel which is a circular route through the town stopping at the station and shopping/supermarket malls.
This is an aparthotel and pulling back what seems to be wardrobes reveils a kitchen with all amenities. My wife and I found all the hotel staff warm and friendly but in life if you are pleasant to people they will be friendly to you. The reception, restaurant, bar staff and chamber maids do their best to make your stay a good one.
We were B&B and found we were spoilt for choice with the breakfat menu, there is something for all tastes (IMO).
The hotel is kept spotlessly clean.
Wifi is available in the hotel lobby and LAN is available (1MB) in the rooms at an extra charge.
Towels are provided for the pool which are exchanged for fresh whenever you want.
There is a health club in the hotel with beauty treatments available, which my wife made full use off and can recommend for both quality and value.
Vila Gale Cacais is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms face either the park or the pool/sea, the choice is yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We are glad to see that you have enjoyed you stay in our hotel and that you have fully experienced it.

We hope that you will keep coming back to our hotel.

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#11 of 39 in Cascais
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#17 of 39 in Cascais
723 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,244 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cascais

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira 80 | Parque da Gandarinha, Cascais 2750-641, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £66 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Cascais over the sea and close to the Marina. The centre of Cascais is approximately 800 m away and offers several shops and entertainment venues. A link to the public transport network is only 100 m from the hotel and the nearest airport is 30 km away in Lisbon. Completely renovated in 2004, this hotel offers 7 floors with 233 rooms of which 75 standard rooms and 29 junior suites with ocean view. The Hotel offers a 24 hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, currency exchange desk, wheelchair access, lifts and parking. In the public areas guests will find one restaurant with buffet or a la carte menu, two bars, a Health Club with Spa, outdoor pool for adults and children, gardens and a playground. Business guests can take advantage of 3 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection and multimedia devices. 24 hour room service and laundry service are also available. The tastefully re-decorated rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel's Health Club has free access for guests is equipped with sauna and a Spa where you can enjoy massages and beauty treatments for an additional fee. In the exterior will find a swimming pool with a children's paddling area, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use in the hotel grounds. A game room with billiard/snooker table among the hotel leisure options and the nearest golf course can be found approximately 2 km away. Guests may select their breakfast and lunch from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte and lunch can alternatively be chosen from a set menu. Special diet requirements are also catered and special requested dishes can be prepared. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cascais Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Cascais
Cascais Vila Gale Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing