We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vila Gale Cascais
Nearby Hotels
US$313
US$285
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$341
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Alvorada(Estoril)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Cascais(Cascais)(Great Value!)
US$166
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$367
US$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Bicuda Resort(Cascais)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
US$264
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$323
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$270
US$261
Cancelon
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,086)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveller rating
234
560
206
62
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
560
206
62
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewpool areaminute walkgood sizenice hoteltown centrejunior suiteroom safesmall kitchenettebeautiful parkgolf tripbuffet breakfasttop floorpool towelsper dayhot foodsparkling wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Myself and my husband recently stayed for 1 week at this hotel. It is rated as a 4* but it is really just a good 3* hotel. Rooms were nice beautiful sea view we were on the 5th floor. Buffet breakfast was not great just about ok not much variety worst I've seen in a long time really and we never ate dinner in the hotel as was really awful looking. The worst thing of all was the swimming pool it was FREEZING and I really mean Freezing I got into the pool once in the whole week and had to get out just as quick as I was blue with the cold and it was in Sept and it was 29 most day's so that really ruined it for me as I love to swim and could not do as the water was way to cold. The staff are very friendly especially the lads in the bar.

Room Tip: Look for rooms on 5th & 6th floors with sea view really worth it , only book bed & breakfast.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We were very disappointed to know about your review but we always take every opportunity to improve.

Regarding the water temperature on the swimming pool you can understand that on an non-heated outdoors swimming pool we are depending on the sun and on the last days of September the sun didn't shine too much.

We hope that you can give us a second chance.

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The best thing about this hotel is it's proximity to lovely Cascais - a 10 minute stroll away. Our room was dark & looked towards the car park which is actually the front of the property. There was very loud music playing at a nearby bar until 1.30am on both Friday & Saturday & as it had a licence the hotel told us it was unable to do anything at all. The rooms on the other side have partial sea views & are brighter. The hotel is large & noisy with bus parties & golfing groups some of whom had no respect for others with shouting & door banging until 4.30am on one occasion. Hardly a restful holiday. Breakfast was a shambles - same offering everyday & very little quality of food. As perviously mentioned the pigeons on the outside tables were a real turn off & although the staff were working hard to keep on top of things it was not a pleasant dining experience & we avoided it on several days.

Room Tip: choose a sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We were truly disappointed when reading your comments, specially when we found out that the majority of your disappointment was caused by some circumstances that we cannot control.

Regarding the pigeons situation and has you could witness we are always trying to avoid there visit and new measures will be taken in order to solve it definitely.

We thank you for you review that allow us to constantly try to improve our services so that we can welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Don't usually go back, but this hotel offered us everything we needed. Good size room, small kitchen area with fridge and cooker. Seaview with a small balcony. Air conditioning.Friendly and efficient staff. Good pool and loungerss area. Nice gardens. Acceptable breakfast. Fifteen minute walk to town. Good value for Cascais. Recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a seabird.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you once again and you thank you for the time taken in posting your review.

We hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Had booked and then read the reviews, so pleasantly surprised at large rooms, comfortable beds, nice white cotton sheets, low but ok lighting especially in the pool view room, helpful friendly staff, good breakfasts and uncrowned pool. Maybe the management have been listening , which is also positive. We upgraded after two nights to a pool view room, the rear rooms do not have much natural light and I would suggest most holidaymakers would prefer the view. The second room did not have the hidden kitchenette, the one that did had two cups, plates, pans, knives but no forks, no kettle and a teapot without a lid. Can't say that bothered us much, but it would probably be a good idea if they are provided to check the inventory in the kitchenette. It only cost us 15 euros a night to upgrade, and well worth the extra. It was our fault for not booking it sooner. Although I agree that wifi in the room is now usually provided as standard, again the cost of fifteen euros for a week is also not excessive. I do believe safes should be available without charge however. We did not eat in the evening as buffets are not our favourite ways of eating, but the daytime snacks we had were very good. The location is excellent, with good walking in all directions. We enjoyed some excellent food in restaurants, Hemmingways and El Pirata on the marina, the Masala Indian restaurant in town.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with sea/pool view, well worth the extra.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We always appreciate the feedback received and welcome every opportunity to improve, therefore we thank you for your review.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "always close to you".

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Spent 7 nights at this very comfortable hotel. Bedrooms are a good size which is great for 2 people sharing. Great power in the shower. The buffet breakfast was very good with lovely selection of fresh fruits and hot and cold dishes, with something to suit everyone. While there the pool side was never over crowded and always poolside beds available. The Hotel is located within easy walking distance of attractive Cascais,the delightful Marino and about 20 mins walk from the train station which has a regular service to Lisbon.
I would suggest that some of the bath towels supplied to the room were quite worn looking and would benefit from renewal. Also there appeared a problem with acquiring towels for the poolside on a number of days.perhaps best to have a policy that towels are available or not.

Room Tip: Poolside would be nice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PegIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken in posting your review and for the opportunity that you give us to always improve our services.

We hope to welcome you again on a near future,

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews