We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Obrigado” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vila Gale Cascais
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
MK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Obrigado”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Loved our time here and will definitely be going back next year. First impressions were good, a clean spacious room and was pleased to find a well-appointed modern bathroom. There was a large flat screen lcd TV and air-con came as standard. I would definitely recommend opting for the sea view. It made all the difference. Room overlooked the pool where there were always sunbeds available and a bar was available most of the time.

Breakfast in the morning consisted of a help yourself buffet with choice of Continental or full English with plenty of free tables and a good selection of fresh fruit. Was more or less the same every day though so did get a bit familiar and you might want to bring your own teabags!!

Hotel was ideally situated for Cascais itself, close to the Railway Station, Marina and Town Centre. A Bus Stop nearby was convenient and buses were cheap. The staff were always friendly, helpful and very polite - Obrigado is Portugese for thank you and you will hear it more than any other word!!

Only downsides were the Bar in the Hotel was a bit pricey and our room was adjacent to the lifts, where some noise was evident. I did get used to it though.

Room Tip: Go for the Sea Veiw - stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,

"De Nada", you were more than Welcome.

If some one as to say "Obrigado", that one should be our staff when knew about your review.

We thank you for the kind words and the complete description that you made from our Staff and Service.

We wait for your next visit,

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    473
    174
    54
    18
See reviews for
226
411
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Staff were friendly and courteous, the room was lovely, it was a twin room with a sea view, the breakfast was perfect, and a gorgeous view of the sea all round the room and so close to the train station, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken to share your experience with other travellers.

Being considered "lovely" and the promise of your return is our greatest reward.

We wait for your next visit to Vila Galé Cascais or any other Vila Galé Hotel "Always Close to You",

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Myself and my husband recently stayed for 1 week at this hotel. It is rated as a 4* but it is really just a good 3* hotel. Rooms were nice beautiful sea view we were on the 5th floor. Buffet breakfast was not great just about ok not much variety worst I've seen in a long time really and we never ate dinner in the hotel as was really awful looking. The worst thing of all was the swimming pool it was FREEZING and I really mean Freezing I got into the pool once in the whole week and had to get out just as quick as I was blue with the cold and it was in Sept and it was 29 most day's so that really ruined it for me as I love to swim and could not do as the water was way to cold. The staff are very friendly especially the lads in the bar.

Room Tip: Look for rooms on 5th & 6th floors with sea view really worth it , only book bed & breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We were very disappointed to know about your review but we always take every opportunity to improve.

Regarding the water temperature on the swimming pool you can understand that on an non-heated outdoors swimming pool we are depending on the sun and on the last days of September the sun didn't shine too much.

We hope that you can give us a second chance.

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The best thing about this hotel is it's proximity to lovely Cascais - a 10 minute stroll away. Our room was dark & looked towards the car park which is actually the front of the property. There was very loud music playing at a nearby bar until 1.30am on both Friday & Saturday & as it had a licence the hotel told us it was unable to do anything at all. The rooms on the other side have partial sea views & are brighter. The hotel is large & noisy with bus parties & golfing groups some of whom had no respect for others with shouting & door banging until 4.30am on one occasion. Hardly a restful holiday. Breakfast was a shambles - same offering everyday & very little quality of food. As perviously mentioned the pigeons on the outside tables were a real turn off & although the staff were working hard to keep on top of things it was not a pleasant dining experience & we avoided it on several days.

Room Tip: choose a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We were truly disappointed when reading your comments, specially when we found out that the majority of your disappointment was caused by some circumstances that we cannot control.

Regarding the pigeons situation and has you could witness we are always trying to avoid there visit and new measures will be taken in order to solve it definitely.

We thank you for you review that allow us to constantly try to improve our services so that we can welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,111 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Don't usually go back, but this hotel offered us everything we needed. Good size room, small kitchen area with fridge and cooker. Seaview with a small balcony. Air conditioning.Friendly and efficient staff. Good pool and loungerss area. Nice gardens. Acceptable breakfast. Fifteen minute walk to town. Good value for Cascais. Recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a seabird.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you once again and you thank you for the time taken in posting your review.

We hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Had booked and then read the reviews, so pleasantly surprised at large rooms, comfortable beds, nice white cotton sheets, low but ok lighting especially in the pool view room, helpful friendly staff, good breakfasts and uncrowned pool. Maybe the management have been listening , which is also positive. We upgraded after two nights to a pool view room, the rear rooms do not have much natural light and I would suggest most holidaymakers would prefer the view. The second room did not have the hidden kitchenette, the one that did had two cups, plates, pans, knives but no forks, no kettle and a teapot without a lid. Can't say that bothered us much, but it would probably be a good idea if they are provided to check the inventory in the kitchenette. It only cost us 15 euros a night to upgrade, and well worth the extra. It was our fault for not booking it sooner. Although I agree that wifi in the room is now usually provided as standard, again the cost of fifteen euros for a week is also not excessive. I do believe safes should be available without charge however. We did not eat in the evening as buffets are not our favourite ways of eating, but the daytime snacks we had were very good. The location is excellent, with good walking in all directions. We enjoyed some excellent food in restaurants, Hemmingways and El Pirata on the marina, the Masala Indian restaurant in town.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with sea/pool view, well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We always appreciate the feedback received and welcome every opportunity to improve, therefore we thank you for your review.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "always close to you".

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Spent 7 nights at this very comfortable hotel. Bedrooms are a good size which is great for 2 people sharing. Great power in the shower. The buffet breakfast was very good with lovely selection of fresh fruits and hot and cold dishes, with something to suit everyone. While there the pool side was never over crowded and always poolside beds available. The Hotel is located within easy walking distance of attractive Cascais,the delightful Marino and about 20 mins walk from the train station which has a regular service to Lisbon.
I would suggest that some of the bath towels supplied to the room were quite worn looking and would benefit from renewal. Also there appeared a problem with acquiring towels for the poolside on a number of days.perhaps best to have a policy that towels are available or not.

Room Tip: Poolside would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PegIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken in posting your review and for the opportunity that you give us to always improve our services.

We hope to welcome you again on a near future,

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.0 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#13 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cascais

Property: Vila Gale Cascais
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira 80 | Parque da Gandarinha, Cascais 2750-641, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Cascais over the sea and close to the Marina. The centre of Cascais is approximately 800 m away and offers several shops and entertainment venues. A link to the public transport network is only 100 m from the hotel and the nearest airport is 30 km away in Lisbon. Completely renovated in 2004, this hotel offers 7 floors with 233 rooms of which 75 standard rooms and 29 junior suites with ocean view. The Hotel offers a 24 hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, currency exchange desk, wheelchair access, lifts and parking. In the public areas guests will find one restaurant with buffet or a la carte menu, two bars, a Health Club with Spa, outdoor pool for adults and children, gardens and a playground. Business guests can take advantage of 3 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection and multimedia devices. 24 hour room service and laundry service are also available. The tastefully re-decorated rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel's Health Club has free access for guests is equipped with sauna and a Spa where you can enjoy massages and beauty treatments for an additional fee. In the exterior will find a swimming pool with a children's paddling area, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use in the hotel grounds. A game room with billiard/snooker table among the hotel leisure options and the nearest golf course can be found approximately 2 km away. Guests may select their breakfast and lunch from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte and lunch can alternatively be chosen from a set menu. Special diet requirements are also catered and special requested dishes can be prepared. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Gale Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cascais Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Cascais
Cascais Vila Gale Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing