We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say.... Ok”
Review of Vila Gale Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vila Gale Cascais
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What can I say.... Ok”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Firstly the staff are friendly :) the hotel itself is very dark, along with our suite. Windows were filthy however on complaining they did come and clean them. Beautiful view. Lovely pools. Ideal location close to small beach. Food reasonable. Not a lot else to say.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your review.
Hope you may visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    490
    179
    54
    19
See reviews for
235
417
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great location, friendly staff, room perfect.

We stayed for 3 nights. It's only 5-10 mins walk to the centre of things so location. Would be difficult to beat.

Wasn't quite warm enough for the pool and it was quite quiet but found every staff member there happy and helpful.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFDublin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your review. It is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay.

Hope you may visit us again soon

Kind regards

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
117 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

First : watch out when comparing. There's another hotel with same name in Estoril !!
Here we liked the sea-view and the terrace (with wobbly table);
We did not like : Cold coffee at breakfast buffet, not enough light in room to read by, plastic sheet on bed (we're not babies), bath mat the size of a napkin and last but not least : no internet in room.
At departure, we requested proof of our cash payment since the reservation had to be guaranteed by credit card. This - surprisingly - was impossible. Why ????
We have the experience of having been charged a stay on Visa ( in the U.S.A.) even after having paid cash before. That's why.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra charge to obtain a seaview room. The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikaan1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. We do regret that you did not find our hotel to your standard.
We are glad you enjoyed the sea-view and the terrace.

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephentown, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Modern hotel with nice buffet breakfast with all the choices one would want. Good bar with pool table and TV. Across the street from the ocean. Less than 5 minute walk to city center. Also, in the opposite direction, close to the Boca del Inferno, a chasm in the shore side cliffs. Paved walk above the ocean for miles. Next door to Museum Conde Castro Guimarães, small museum home with very nice garden/park. Helpful staff. All staff spoke impeccable English which I encountered in most of the places I visited in Portugal. I had large suite with kitchenette, separate bedroom and expansive terrace looking out to the pool. No TV in bedroom though. Beer Garden next door that actually serves pretty good food. Enjoyed my stay completely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chez2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Galé Cascais.

It is a great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially about the friendly and efficient staff.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Galé Cascais Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The staff at the Vila Gale were exceptionally gracious, especially Michel and Carlos the manager. And they were put to the test with over 7,000 in town for a Budist Conference during our visit. We loved the views from our room and the delightful village of Cascais. It was a great surprise. The train to Lisbon is walking distance to the hotel and we had a great Fado Dinner at the Cascais Fado Restaurant. Beautiful memories - thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view with the kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken posting this review and specially for the compliments sent to our staff.

It was a pleasure welcome you in our hotel and for being able to provide you an enjoyable stay.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "always close to you".

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I like that the hotel had great views from the room, loved that it was across the street from the tram, loved the big free breakfast (lots to pick from) only thing I didn't like was that you can only hook up to internet in the lobby. I guess that is a small trade off.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dremolitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken to post your review.

Regarding the Internet allow me to clarify that you have also Wi-Fi available in the rooms and therefore you can hook-up also in there.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Cascais or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "always close to you".

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A hotel experience which went well above expectations.

Every room has a balcony and our view couldn't have been better- an unobstructed view of the sea to the left and of the park to the right. The location of the hotel couldn't be better and allowed quick access to all the local highlights.
The rooms were very large and beautifully presented. The inclusive breakfast was amazing, covering every imaginable breakfast food and an open kitchen for specific requests. The evening meals and bar meals were also of a very good value. All staff were friendly and knowledgeable, the vast majority spoke excellent English and went above and beyond to ensure guest happiness.
I am a disabled traveler and this was one of the easiest holidays I have had. Staff received and returned a mobility scooter for me and arranged one for another traveler.
The booking was made through a third party so the room wasn't disabled as required. Staff upgraded us to a suite as a result, before moving us to the nearest (next door) disabled room the next day. Room service came with no fee and staff provided friendly and unobtrusive support through out the stay.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor has brilliant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken to post your review and for the compliments that you did regarding our Staff.

We hope that we can welcome you back on a near future,

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#12 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cascais

Property: Vila Gale Cascais
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira 80 | Parque da Gandarinha, Cascais 2750-641, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Cascais over the sea and close to the Marina. The centre of Cascais is approximately 800 m away and offers several shops and entertainment venues. A link to the public transport network is only 100 m from the hotel and the nearest airport is 30 km away in Lisbon. Completely renovated in 2004, this hotel offers 7 floors with 233 rooms of which 75 standard rooms and 29 junior suites with ocean view. The Hotel offers a 24 hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, currency exchange desk, wheelchair access, lifts and parking. In the public areas guests will find one restaurant with buffet or a la carte menu, two bars, a Health Club with Spa, outdoor pool for adults and children, gardens and a playground. Business guests can take advantage of 3 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection and multimedia devices. 24 hour room service and laundry service are also available. The tastefully re-decorated rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel's Health Club has free access for guests is equipped with sauna and a Spa where you can enjoy massages and beauty treatments for an additional fee. In the exterior will find a swimming pool with a children's paddling area, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use in the hotel grounds. A game room with billiard/snooker table among the hotel leisure options and the nearest golf course can be found approximately 2 km away. Guests may select their breakfast and lunch from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte and lunch can alternatively be chosen from a set menu. Special diet requirements are also catered and special requested dishes can be prepared. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cascais Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Cascais
Cascais Vila Gale Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing