We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Vila Gale Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Gale Cascais
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here from 3rd to 15th July and had a brilliant holiday. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect as it is right on the coast. Pool area very good, spotless and sufficient amount of loungers. Buffet dinner was very good as it catered for all tastes. My only suggestion here would be to leave some meat dishes without sauce and allow those who prefer sauce to pour it for themselves. That said, there was always beef, chicken, pork, fresh fish dishes to choose from and chips, pasta and salad for kids. The rooms were big and cleaned daily. Can not fault it. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Guest,

It's with that eager to please, that we work every day, so that all our costumers, like you, can get the best rest/vacations.

Hope to see you soon,

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

When there are far too many hotel guests, the quality is not up to standard. The breakfast was not of the quality we were expecting of a four star hotel. Otherwise the staff was wonderful, the cleaning, depending who was cleaning varied from very good to mediocre. The pool was not heated. Wi-fi was available only in the foyer and it usually didn't work.

Room Tip: Not exactly the 4 star hotel like we had expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angi0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review.
we do appreciate your observations and understanding regarding the high season.

Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

On 22nd June myself and three friends arrived at Villa Gale hotel Cascais ,We were warmly welcomed with a smile ,bit of language problem at first ,but we were soon given a person who spoke good english and thanks a million for that
Staff all friendly and happy ,rooms beautiful ,Breakfast very good and service was excellent
Dinner in hotel was disappointing but that didn't matter lots of nice food uptown .
Would go back loved everything about Cascais and thanks a million to all staff ,keep up the good work x

Room Tip: All rooms were very quiet we stayed on first floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank angelam43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, as it is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are very happy to read your review as our main objective is the satisfaction of our guests .

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel. Thank you

Kind regards

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel is at a great location but is certainly getting old. There is a nice park nearby, a bit of beach and a great view of the Atlantic. I was with my family and while we waited for some time for them to prepare the room, the room we got was pretty dirty. We had to get it cleaned again.The suite was ok but the view was great. Note that the hotel charges for the safe and does not recommend drinking tap water. The breakfast spread was reasonable. The staff was certainly helpful and polite. Wifi was free only in the lobby and needed to be connected every time one came back. The hotel certainly needs a makeover.

Room Tip: A higher floor room with sea view is a must otherwise it is not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SHVISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, we do appreciate your observations regardind the room cleaning.

Kind regards

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, family of 2 adults and 1 child (4yr). Location was great, a few minutes walking from Cascais lighthouse, marina, town and excellent restaurants. Room was clean and spacious, ocean view was beautiful from our room 522. Now, we book thru Airbnb and we got the room for half price. Kids pool was convenient and always found available chairs and umbrellas. Breakfast buffet was good, many choices, even sparkling wine. Our only complaint is the bar service, apparently didn't find a bartender to make drinks, so only the staff was making them and they were terrible and expensive (double price compared to places outside hotel).

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Guest,

We're pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, and therefore hope to see you again some time soon.

Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

On the other side of town relatively close to marina & lighthouse. Lower end of 4stars hotel in need of refurb.. Quite dark inside with red walls. Lifts are small if group with luggage. Friendly staff. Large clean rooms. Buffet breakfast ok.. Try the made to order omelette. Need your own towels for pool which isn't very big for size of hotel. Quite a walk into the town & further to beaches so need car or bike, wouldn't want to do walk with young children when hot. Would probably be good for groups on conference or golfing holiday rather than family with teenagers. Nearby nightclub near lighthouse can be noisy.

Room Tip: Request Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank aliPuk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure to read your review and find you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding the swimming pool towels, we have at the reception, for our guests. Sorry if nobody gave you the right information.

Hope to see you again sometime soon,
Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nice hotel, very big and luxery rooms with balcony. Very touristic to and to use wifi in your room they will charge you 5 euro! In the lobby the use is free.
The hotel is situated in the middle of other touristic places and hotels and there are many international guests and tourists.

Room Tip: good hotel, comfortable, but not a quiet place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your review. It is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay.

Hope you may visit us again soon

Kind regards
Margarida Antunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#12 of 39 in Cascais
773 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#16 of 39 in Cascais
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cascais

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira 80 | Parque da Gandarinha, Cascais 2750-641, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £67 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Cascais over the sea and close to the Marina. The centre of Cascais is approximately 800 m away and offers several shops and entertainment venues. A link to the public transport network is only 100 m from the hotel and the nearest airport is 30 km away in Lisbon. Completely renovated in 2004, this hotel offers 7 floors with 233 rooms of which 75 standard rooms and 29 junior suites with ocean view. The Hotel offers a 24 hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, currency exchange desk, wheelchair access, lifts and parking. In the public areas guests will find one restaurant with buffet or a la carte menu, two bars, a Health Club with Spa, outdoor pool for adults and children, gardens and a playground. Business guests can take advantage of 3 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection and multimedia devices. 24 hour room service and laundry service are also available. The tastefully re-decorated rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel's Health Club has free access for guests is equipped with sauna and a Spa where you can enjoy massages and beauty treatments for an additional fee. In the exterior will find a swimming pool with a children's paddling area, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use in the hotel grounds. A game room with billiard/snooker table among the hotel leisure options and the nearest golf course can be found approximately 2 km away. Guests may select their breakfast and lunch from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte and lunch can alternatively be chosen from a set menu. Special diet requirements are also catered and special requested dishes can be prepared. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vila Gale Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cascais Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Cascais
Cascais Vila Gale Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing