We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice! Great quallity/price”
Review of Vila Gale Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Cascais
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We stay in Vilagale Cascais only for 2 nights, in a nice suite with large room and separate living room. The room is complety new, nice furniture and very confortable.
The buffet breakfast is very nice anf dinner buffet too. Staff is very friendly and helpfull.
Is easy walking to Cascais beach and downtown. Poll area seems great but was cold to be in pool area. Room servive is good and you just wait a a few minutes forthe service.
I recommend this hotel because is an excellent 4 stars, complety refurnisch, nice rooms, good food, staff friendly and near cascais village with many restaurants and shops. is easy visit Lisbon by train too.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 587 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2009

GREAT HOTEL. Staff fantastic especially BRUNO and co in the bar.Rooms floor 6 A1
Breakfast superb with good choice.Working on pool but looks good so far.
Bus stop very close plus train to LISBON around half an hour and estoril 2 stops.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rutland-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

This hotel is located about a 15 minute walk downhill(uphill return) from the centre. The beach is a further 10 minute walk away. There is however a local 10 minute cheap bus centre to the centre about 300 metres from the hotel. The rooms are a nice size with a good bathroom and are cleaned daily with towels being changed every other day. A widescreen digital television with 4 English speaking channels is provided and it also has pay as you view film channel. There is no kettle or tea making facilities here. The swimming pool area is very pleasant with free sunbeds. The reception staff could be friendly and helpful or the reverse depending on who you spoke to. generally the morning shift were the best. An ample buffet style breakfast with a good choice but with diabolical congealed scrambled eggs and horrible cocktail sausages. The evening meal was alright but vastly overpriced at 20 Euros without drinks and you are best eating at one of the restaurants in Cascais. A nice but bar/lounge area ehere the drinks were a lttle pricey but not exorbitant. We were allocated a room overlooking the car park which was the cause of some noise but the real problem was the music blasting from the bar/bier garden opposite until 2 o'clock in the mornings 5 nights a week. It really stopped us sleeping.We asked to be moved but were informed it was not possible. We understand that several other guests complained about the noise from the music. If you want to stay at this hotel insist of a room with a sea view which is at the back of the hotel then the noise would not be a problem,If you cannot be guaranteed a sea view room the in opinion the noise is too disturbing to stay here.The guests staying here were a real mix of nationalities from all over the world. All staff spoke some English.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Richard10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

A quality hotel with spacious and comfortable bedrooms.
We were fortunate to be give a small suite which meant there was a balcony around two sides of the room and the ability to sit out in the sun all day.
Excellent views if you have a room on the seaward side.
Pleasant and attentive staff. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice.
The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the marina with a large choice of restaurants although they cater for visitors from Lisbon more than international tourists and the food is not of as a high a standard as that we have found in the Algarve or Maderia.
Cascais town is pretty but a long walk. The buses into town are frequent and cheap.
The outside bar and lunchtime eating area is not the most attractive part of the hotel.
The hotel is not very suitable to the less mobile as there are steps up and then down to get to the outside bar and then more steps up to the pool area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernardSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

If you want to stay in a good hotel in a beautiful resort this is the place to stay, please not too many of you or I will not get back in.

You may have read some reviews on this hotel where people say to stay in the refurbished floors(4th-6th) ,which fine if a little depressing with the dark red colours. if however you prefer lighter, brighter colours and being able to make a cup of tea/coffee whenever you want try the lower floors.
This 4 star hotel is fairly well run despite the indecisive manager (has to contact his manager before he does anything). The front of house is well run in the day ,not so at night. May I highly recommend that if you have any queries or problem at the Hotel that you seek out Cristina Ferreira (she will probably be embarrassed by my comment) on the front desk she is not only the the most helpful member of staff at this establishment but the best I have found.
The pool as you may have read elsewhere, tends to be on the cold side, slightly warmer than the sea. I I hear there are plans to build a coverd pool in the next year.
Breakfast is plentiful, plenty of choice, and they do try to please a varied customer but the cooked side is an acquired taste. Never tried the evening meals, so no comment.
Away from the Hotel, there is the Marina close by, but seen one Marina, you have seen most.

For those who may find walking a problem, the local bus is really god and cheap runs every 15 minutes and cost 60 cents no matter where you get on or off.

If you looking for places to eat, the main square is o.k. with some really interesting fish places more in the center.However, if you really want to eat well forget the center and wander in the side streets between the Hotel and the town, where you will find some delightful restaurants, please make notes of where they are ,as you may never find them again, I'm presently kicking myself for not do so with a chicken piri-piri place which is fantastic, if you like spicy chicken or Black pork this is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lyn100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

We stayed at this hotel for three days in August.
My first impression was that it was truly a 4 star hotel,it had a
nice reception area and the staff were very helpful.When we
got to our room which was a suite we were taken aback at how
grubby and tired it looked.The cooker looked like it had been
there for decades and I've seen better furniture in skips,the entire suite needed to be gutted and refurbished.Oh by the way the room had its fair share of ants.Having said all that i would return to this hotel if the rooms were improved because the rest of the hotel was lovely,it had a very clean and relaxing bar area with a very friendly staff . The pool area was great with plenty of loungers
and the hotel itself is ideally located being only a few minutes
walk from a fabulous marina and about ten minutes from Cascais. We had a great time but wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jfc153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We really enjoyed our stay here last year but the refurbished rooms made the hotel seem even better this year. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, in stark contrast to the inflexible service we had just received at the Vila Gale Ericeira. The Cascais Vila Gale has a great location, nice seaview rooms, good breakfast (especially fruit and breads) and pools. The cooked part of the breakfast wasn't that great but plenty of other things. Overall recommended if you like a relaxing hotel with a nice short walk (10-15mins) into Cascais.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank hereforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#11 of 39 in Cascais
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#16 of 39 in Cascais
723 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,246 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cascais

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira 80 | Parque da Gandarinha, Cascais 2750-641, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £66 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Cascais over the sea and close to the Marina. The centre of Cascais is approximately 800 m away and offers several shops and entertainment venues. A link to the public transport network is only 100 m from the hotel and the nearest airport is 30 km away in Lisbon. Completely renovated in 2004, this hotel offers 7 floors with 233 rooms of which 75 standard rooms and 29 junior suites with ocean view. The Hotel offers a 24 hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, currency exchange desk, wheelchair access, lifts and parking. In the public areas guests will find one restaurant with buffet or a la carte menu, two bars, a Health Club with Spa, outdoor pool for adults and children, gardens and a playground. Business guests can take advantage of 3 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection and multimedia devices. 24 hour room service and laundry service are also available. The tastefully re-decorated rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel's Health Club has free access for guests is equipped with sauna and a Spa where you can enjoy massages and beauty treatments for an additional fee. In the exterior will find a swimming pool with a children's paddling area, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use in the hotel grounds. A game room with billiard/snooker table among the hotel leisure options and the nearest golf course can be found approximately 2 km away. Guests may select their breakfast and lunch from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte and lunch can alternatively be chosen from a set menu. Special diet requirements are also catered and special requested dishes can be prepared. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Vila Gale Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cascais Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Cascais
Cascais Vila Gale Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing