We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fortaleza do Guincho
Nearby Hotels
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Baia(Cascais)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farol Hotel(Cascais)
US$948
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$417
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
405
123
41
21
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
123
41
21
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin starenclosed balconyrelais and chateauxcliff overlookingcrashing wavescomplimentary fruitchaise longuehuge wavesoutstanding restaurantamuse boucheold fortressguincho beachthe atlantic oceanportuguese coastsuperior roomkite surfersjunior suites
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A total surprise, not expecting the brilliant service and attention to detail that staff at the hotel showed us. We were upgraded to a room overlooking the sea without any additional charge. Absolutely breathtaking views and beautiful coast line walks. The hotel provides bikes and helmets to hire, free of charge. Lovely thoughtful touches such as handmade chocolate left on your pillow in the evening. The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and fantastic service from staff waiting on us. We hired a car to go on tour of mountain villages but could have done without it as plenty to do locally. Check out the hotel restaurant not as expensive as you first assume and fabulous food.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the sea. Use the bikes.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christiekaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Good afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for your kind comments about our Hotel and for taking the time to share we the TripAdvisor community your feeling and impression about us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Best regards from all of us.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The view from our rooms really took our breath away - the small enclosed balcony was perfect for staring out across the sea. The rooms themselves were very authentic, with comfortable beds, attention to detail and a very sweet bathroom - complete with jacuzzi.

I stayed here in December (just before Christmas) with my husband and parents-in-law for four nights and it really was a relaxing experience.

The breakfast was delicious, with plenty to choose from, including freshly cooked eggs. The restaurant was expensive - we just had one meal there, which was a special tasting menu. They catered well for one veggie - making sure we had our own menu. The service was excellent and we felt very well looked after throughout our stay.

We had several day trips (you do need a hire car to get to the hotel) to Sintra and to Lisbon. Neither took too long and the journey was scenic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ktmy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Good afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for your nice comments about our property; it is always a matter of joy for us to know that our clients had a pleasant stay.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again for a longer stay.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Best regards from Fortaleza do Guincho.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Once a fort but now a five star hotel. Fortaleza has the perfect balance of staff to match. We felt so relaxed and comfortable here. The staff go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The hotel is well out of the frantic hustle and bustle of Lisbon. It sits on a headland which enables guests to have some fantastic views out of so many of the windows. The dinning room really excels for views. The bedrooms are comfortable and interestingly furnished. We had one with a sea view and a small balcony. if the sun had shone we would have been in our element. It is sad to see bad comments because in our experience the staff went out of their way to supply us with any requests we made and always remembered our special requirements.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good but the extra to pay for an upgrade is well worth it
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guincho0, Diretor de vendas at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Good afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our property and our staff.
It is always a matter of joy to learn that we have made your stay as pleasant as possible.

We really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho.

Best regadards.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We booked a very nice package including a dinner at the one star Michelin restaurant, but at the arrival the person at the desk just brought us to our room without explaining anything about the dinner, the breakfast room and hours, etc, etc. The location is wonderful (old fortress on the sea at Guincho) but the rooms are a bit disappointing. The decoration is a bit kistch for a hotel of this category, our room (and we had a superior one) was quite small, smelling bad (bathroom) and the view to the see was on the side. The balcony was nice, but just above the kitchen of the restaurant). The restaurant was a must and I will review it separately.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge_Karlsruhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Good afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share with the TripAdvisor community your thoughts about our property.

We are really sorry that you have been disappointed with your stay in our Hotel.

Please be sure that we will do our best in order to improve our service / information at check in time; unfortunately in what regards the size of the room there is nothing we can do, since our Hotel is built in a fortress from the XVII century although superior room have got about 25 to 28 m2.

As is concerns the decoration I am afraid we can't pleased everybody, but if you come again we will try to allocate you another type of room.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Best regards from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I arrived at the hotel very late one night in December and our first impression was one of amazement. Perched on the top of a cliff in a fairly remote area was this beautifully lit fort looking quite dramatic against the dark sky. Inside was equally beautiful, with a lovely reception area.
We were warmly greeted and upgraded to a first floor room which had an enclosed balcony overlooking the beach.We were to spend many happy hours sitting here. At night all we could hear was the sound of crashing waves - my idea of heaven!
Our room was very well appointed and maintained. A good selection of toiletries was provided, linen changed daily and towels twice daily. I had difficulty getting into the over-bath shower because of the static glass curtain, but a step was soon provided which solved the problem.
The dining room had spectacular views of the sea and its huge Atlantic rollers - quite mesmerizing! Breakfast was superb, with various fruits, cereals, meats, cheeses and smoked salmon together with eggs in any shape or form cooked to order. The coffee and tea were very good too. The service was impeccable.
Sadly, we did not dine there because the prices were a bit beyond our means, but we did have several bar meals which were excellent. My husband particularly enjoyed the delicious, beautifully presented desserts! There are several very good restaurants within a very short walking distance.
Apart from the wonderfully atmospheric building and its position, what stands out about this hotel is the exceptionally high standard of service, which we felt could not be faulted. As we came and went we were greeted by the reception staff, the restaurant and bar staff saw to our every need and the housekeeping staff made sure we were comfortable.
We both thoroughly enjoyed our week of complete and utter luxury, to which we are not, to be honest, accustomed and are extremely grateful to the hotel staff and to Fleetway Travel for giving us such a good deal. We thoroughly recommend the Fortaleza do Guincho.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLG324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Greeting from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

What a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
Thank you so much for sharing with the TripAdvisor community your though about our property.

We really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews