We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Lots of character and helpful staff””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

A very attractive hotel in terms of location and facilities offered. We usually stay in 'high-end' hotels, and this is well up to the standard of such hotels.
Most importantly the staff were very attentive, recognizing us and very welcoming, even though we there for just 3 days. In particular the response of reception and housekeeping when small room requests were made was really fast (within a minute or two).
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Go for the main building-everything is brand new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Fantastic room and excellent service. Definitly not a '5 star hotel', more like a 3-4 rating by US/European standards. Hotel rents push bikes which were very useful. Nice breakfast. Only complaints, you had to pay for coffee in your room after your first free cup and quite a busy road in front of the hotel.
Overall would recommend

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank burt_ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We went for a chill with our 8 week old daughter, we learnt! The place is fantastic ant the staff just made it. They where so attentive and helpful, especially as we were there with a baby on our first holiday with her. The restaurant is superb, and they where so good sending our food up to our room the night India Mae woudn't sleep. When we ventured out to the restaurant across the road on the cliffs and came back with our food in a take away box, they where great and gave us plates so we sould eat in the room and then brought us desert. Fantastic. The pool is lovely and has a variaty of sun loungers, seats and shaded pods, which where perfect with the baby. The pool isn't busy in the day as people are out playing golf and sight seeing. The pool bar has great shrips and a lovely setting. As I said we loved it. They even charged us less than the website we booked though said it would be, so we left a larger tip happily! Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, theres the main hotel and out buildings all charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nik028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Although this is definitely not a five star hotel by the standards of other European countries, we really enjoyed our stay at the Senhora da Guia for two nights in the middle of September 2011. It is more like a good three star or possibly four star standard hotel. We found the staff friendly but the service was generally poor and very slow. Our bedroom, for two people, was small (probably more suited to one person) but clean and well equipped; the staff member who checked us in even admitted that the room was really too small for two people by saying it was "okay for two nights". The room was located in the block away from the main hotel, so was quiet and peaceful and we had a nice little terrace which caught the sunshine in the evening. We had dinner in the hotel on one evening and the food was absolutely superb and well priced. There was a bizarre, very slow system with the wine ... where only one of the serving staff could take the wine order and serve it, and the others absolutely couldn't take your wine order and pass it on to the wine guy. So we couldn't order our food and wine from the same person and if we needed a top-up of wine, we had to wait for the wine guy to come and fill the glasses (as the bottle was not on our table). The pool area is really lovely, with very comfortable sun loungers. However, it would be nice if the hotel offered waiter service by the pool. We had to go inside each time we wanted lunch, water, wine etc and I ended up bringing the empty glasses inside when the wind was blowing outside as no-one came to pick them up and I was worried they would get broken if they fell because of the wind. Also, on one of the days, one of the lbig sun umbrellas blew around the garden because of the strong wind for about 45 minutes before a staff member came out to put it back where it belonged. It is a bit too far to walk to the centre of Cascais (we tried it one evening... took over one hour), so the best option is to take a taxi; we paid anything between €5 and €6 each way).

Room Tip: If there are two of you, be sure to insist on a spacious room; some of the twins/doubles are more su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SineadDublinIreland7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed here for four nights in June 2011 and had a very enjoyable time. The hotel is located a few kms from Cascais town, and a couple of hundred metres from the sea. There is a busy road at the front of the hotel, which seems to be part of the local cycling and jogging route, given the amount of locals indulging in these pastimes here. Once inside the hotel, the road is not visible nor audible due to the lie of the land and the layout of the hotel. The coastline at the front of the hotel consists entirely of steep and rugged cliffs so it is not possible to access the sea directly here. Still, it makes for a pleasant evening walk.
If you want to go to the beach, then it is necessary to go into Cascais itself. It is rather a long walk, especially with children, so a better option is a taxi (about EUR4 into Cascais from the hotel). There is a local bus passing the front of the hotel into Cascais but nobody seemed sure of the timetable.
The hotel itself was impeccable. The room was clean, spacious and airy. Our room was located in the block away from the main hotel, reception, restaurant, etc. and was very quiet. The view from our balcony was not great- the back yard- but other rooms have a garden view or sea view, for which you need to pay extra. We had dinner here every evening except one and enjoyed our meal each time. I am vegetarian and in this case the choice is somewhat limited but adequate for a short stay. The prices are excellent compared to restaurants of a similar standard in town. The restaurant has lovely views overlooking the Atlantic. What can be better than enjoying a great meal and a bottle of the local red whilst admiring a sunset over the Atlantic! There is even cheesey live music here occasionally.
We really enjoyed relaxing by the pool here. There is a pleasant, leafy garden adjoining the pool area so you can just lounge about here if you don't want to be right next to the pool. There is also a lovely shady area near the garden and pool where they serve drinks and snacks.
The staff in the hotel were enormously friendly and conscientious. No complaints here.
The hotel operates a limousine pick-up service at the airport for which they charged EUR60, one-way. Given that this is about a 60 min drive, that there can be long queues for taxis at the airport, that public transport out to here would be very difficult indeed, I think that this is a good option to take. In fact we had a luxury limousine to ourselves and a wonderful old man driving us, who was more than willing to give us a running commentary on all the sights as we passed by Lisbon on the road out to Cascais.
I can find no criticism of this hotel except that I don't really believe that it deserves five stars. For that you do normally need a bit more than what they offer here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011


The official star system for hotels has always been something of an anachronism. It seems to be a system whereby you tot up the number of features regardless of quality. Please be assured there is no way this hotel deserves 5 stars, especially when you consider the generally high standard of hotels in Portugal.
The word that keeps occurring to me is "amateurish" . It is almost as if someone with no experience of running a hotel has decided to do so and thinks a few trendy features is all it takes, eg a nespresso machine.
Any of the shortcomings individually don't seem much but cumulatively they add up to a vastly overpriced poor experience. Some examples : the shower head by the swimming pool being so encrusted with green growth that it is probably a health risk - the tray underneath by the way matches it; the slight smell of drains mentioned by others, remains- at least in my room; Smart leather wastepaper baskets in room cheapened by black plastic sacks; Paper napkins (in a 5 star hotel!!); 9 euros per day if you want wireless Internet - double that if you want a fast connection; Staff friendly but most take little pride in their appearance - not helped by the male uniforms which you would normally find a dentist wearing (what's that about?), 3 star breakfast buffet, no turn down service .... The list goes on and on. Good points - the bed was reasonably comfortable - that's it ...
This hotel should be 3 star and charge accordingly. As a regular visitor to Portugal I can tell you that you can get far better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank never2late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My two friends and I recently traveled to Cascais and wanted to treat ourselves to a great boutique hotel. This is fantastic. It feels like a spa-- chill, relaxed. A lovely welcome, friendly staff and well decorated. My only complaint (and honestly, it would probably keep me from coming back) it is the outrageous daily prices they charge for internet. I frequently travel all over the world and in this day free WiFi is a given. We had just come from a 50euro/night guesthouse in Ericeira where it was free. They do have a free 'business center' with one computer, but who wants to wait in a dripping bathing suit while someone finishes up checking their email? The fee is in poor taste for such a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whitecheddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
2 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
2.1 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
595 reviews
1.9 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
564 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel

Address: Estrada do Guincho, Cascais 2750-642, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#8 Family Hotel in Cascais
#13 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £91 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding breathtaking views to the Atlantic Ocean and surrounded by pinetrees, Senhora da Guia is a 5 star charming boutique hotel offering a relaxed and a very comfortable ambiance amidst nature on the Lisbon Coast. For more than thirty years Senhora da Guia is synonymous with great accommodation, attentive service and delicious food.Senhora da Guia is conveniently located in between the many delights of Cascais and the beauty of the Guincho beaches. Our guests appreciate the perfect setting for relaxation right on the doorstep of the Atlantic Ocean, with a neighboring golf course and the picturesque town of Sintra a short drive awayEach of the three buildings making up Senhora da Guia is charming in its own right. The main building in subdued, sun-kissed orange hosts our reception, lobby, restaurant, spa and several of our rooms and suites. The adjoining building in a warm shade of yellow is surrounded by pine trees, with all the rooms overlooking a lush green lawn with palm trees. The third, terra cotta colored part of the hotel is built around a courtyard with a delightful little fountain. The ambience is incredibly warm and welcoming! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senhora Da Guia Hotel Cascais
Senhora Da Guia Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing