We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I agree with the two previous reviews. We stayed 9 days and loved it. The spa, pools,staff and restaurant were excellent. There are at least three other restaurants within walking distance(20 mins) so if you need a change, there are alternatives. THe town is a 40 min walk but taxis are only about 5 euro each way. Try and get a room with a balcony and avoid the rooms in the southern annex ( kitchen side). On the one side there is the kitchen vent,on the other is a barking dog belonging to the neighbours so the hotel can't do much about it.

The fish dishes are worth the visit!

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    93
    26
    16
    11
See reviews for
64
177
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel in June 13 for one week. The hotel is lovely, quiet and relaxing. The spa facilities are very good. Used indoor pool, sauna and steam room and all very clean and well maintained. Had a massage while there and availability was no problem, staff couldn't have been more helpful.
The room was clean, robes in room and balcony with table and chairs outside. Would definitely recommend a hire car if you are staying here as it is a little bit far from the main town of Cascais where restaurants and shops are. There is also beaches further along coast and Sintra town centre which is a must see, you can get tour buses at hotel however we felt they were a bit pricey.
Pool area had sufficient sunbeds available and bar there. No loud music which was a bonus, very calm atmosphere.
The only reason I did not rate this hotel as a 5 was I felt the buffet breakfast did not have enough variety and the poolside bar menu was a tad boring and a bit pricey and I also felt that the carpark had not enough spaces and no clearly marked lines and our hire car was bashed in there. I do not blame the hotel for some idiot bumping our car of course however, the hotel should have defined space to stop people randomly parking all over the place. These very minor faults aside we had a wonderful stay here and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing, calm vacation. If you are looking for loud music and party atmosphere then do not stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room as on occasion people bang their doors going into room and we had doors on eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have just spent a week at this hotel and loved it! We received a warm welcome, our room was lovely and the hotel was spotlessly clean. During our stay we ate one meal in the Hotel restaurant. The restaurant food was very good indeed and the prices were comparable with other good restaurants in Cascais. On this basis our meal seemed good value. We also ate a couple of meals from the pool-side grill menu - and I enjoyed one of the best club sandwiches I have eaten. The staff were fantastic - really friendly and very helpful.

The pool was excellent and there were more than enough comfortable loungers. The pool is close to the coast road - it is not that busy and certainly not constant, but being Portugal, noisy speeding cars as well as motorcycles that appear to lack working exhaust pipes are inevitable. At the time of our stay the road seemed fairly quiet at night so it did not affect the enjoyment of our balcony or disturb our sleep

The hotel also has a very nice lounge area and a Spa (which we did not use).

It is a bit out of town so is ideal for someone with a hired car, but less than 10 minutes away (towards Cascais) you can pick up the Casbus which, for 85 cents, will take you into Cascais and it runs every ten minutes or so. A taxi is about five Euros each way.

The restaurant opposite the Senhora da Guia is also well worth a visit but you may have to book (always a good sign).

I can't really comment on the cost of the rooms as we booked this as part of a package with flights and airport pick up,

Our thanks to the staff of the Senhora da Guia for helping to make this a great holiday.

Room Tip: A balcony with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We ate here but didn't stay overnight. We were considering the hotel as a location for our upcoming wedding. The food is OK (nothing particularly special but decently cooked) and the wine selection fair. The view of the ocean is over a main road but is pretty from the restaurant (which has ceiling to floor glass windows). Most of the rooms were at least partially looking over the car park but some did have OK views of the sea. However, what made us decide that we wouldn't hold the wedding there wasn't just that we couldn't seem to get their events organiser to answer our questions or talk to us about the wedding we wanted rather than the one she thought we should have, it was the fact that she invited us to look around a room occupied by guests. Wanting to show us the bedrooms so that we could choose where to house our own guests, she took us about and showed us an example of each room type. Apparently all of the suites were booked so she actually listened at all of the doors and, when she found one that was empty at that moment, she opened the door and invited us in so that we could look at the balcony. It wasn't until we were in the room that we noticed the bottle of champagne on the chest of drawers and the open suitcase on the floor. I would be livid beyond all belief if I'd paid for a hotel room and then found out that the staff had allowed strangers to enter it without my knowledge or permission whilst I was out. Suffice to say, we won't be returning to stay there and we certainly won't marry there. The strange thing is that apparently the same group that owns this rather indifferent hotel also owns the Farol down the road which we simply adore and recommend to all of our friend. It's really odd because they couldn't be less alike.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLisbonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

This a excellent Hotel
Recently renovated. The room are very well decorated, the Exterior Pool is a must and the staff ia very well trained! Surely the place to be in Cascais!
Recommend a day in the new Spa.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joao P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at the Senhora after two fabulous nights 6 km away at the hotel Fortaleza do Guincho, to which we then returned. The Senhora looks like a hotel, the reception staff were very helpful and even changed our sea-view room - the connecting door to an adjacent room was not sound-proofed enough. But the hotel lacks charm, it is missing the ingredient of a proper hotel where the ambience, the breakfast, the other staff are there to provide a proper experience. It was all very sterile, no cheer. Breakfast after the Fortaleza was mediocre and there was no helpful smile from the sombre staff - made worse by the fact there is an self-playing piano that the waiter programmed to play the first 15 seconds of every song in its repertoire. We were there for New Year and what a sad New Year dinner it was with no joy or celebration. The owner may not come from the hotel business as this looked like an investment exercise, not a hospitality place where repeat business should be the goal. The other reviews looked fabulous so maybe its a question of my experience as a traveller.

Room Tip: Room No 214 with a sea view is probably the best as it is very large and has an excellent bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fliegenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Warm staff; We stayed on a spacious room with a pleasant balcony and sea view; Very clean and homie
Just 5 minutes away from fantastic restaurants and 5 minutes from Cascais
Very nice stay!
I strongly recomend for turists with their own car or a rental car

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brunopcorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel

Property: Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada do Guincho, Cascais 2750-642, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#12 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#13 Family Hotel in Cascais
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding breathtaking views to the Atlantic Ocean and surrounded by pinetrees, Senhora da Guia is a 5 star charming boutique hotel offering a relaxed and a very comfortable ambiance amidst nature on the Lisbon Coast. For more than thirty years Senhora da Guia is synonymous with great accommodation, attentive service and delicious food.Senhora da Guia is conveniently located in between the many delights of Cascais and the beauty of the Guincho beaches. Our guests appreciate the perfect setting for relaxation right on the doorstep of the Atlantic Ocean, with a neighboring golf course and the picturesque town of Sintra a short drive awayEach of the three buildings making up Senhora da Guia is charming in its own right. The main building in subdued, sun-kissed orange hosts our reception, lobby, restaurant, spa and several of our rooms and suites. The adjoining building in a warm shade of yellow is surrounded by pine trees, with all the rooms overlooking a lush green lawn with palm trees. The third, terra cotta colored part of the hotel is built around a courtyard with a delightful little fountain. The ambience is incredibly warm and welcoming! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senhora Da Guia Hotel Cascais
Senhora Da Guia Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing