We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning B&B”
Review of Pergola House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pergola House
Ranked #2 of 39 Cascais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning B&B”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Pergola House is nestled among several modern stores and restaurants and is in a wonderful location in Cascais. It is very close to the beach, restaurants/shops and the train station. Seeing Pergola House for the first time took our breath away. The gardens are so beautiful and the house itself is so quaint and charming that people walking by would stop and stare through the gates! Having breakfast and complimentary afternoon port outside in the garden was very lovely and gave us a chance to chat with other visitors to Cascais. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vitaly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review about Pergola House. It is a pleasure to know that you really enjoyed your stay. The staff and myself wish you a Happy New Year and we hope you visit us shortly. Best regards, Patricia, General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    50
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
177
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

To stay at the Casa da Pergola is to step back in time. The large bedrooms and public rooms all have great character and charm. The staff are relaxed and friendly, and they treat you as guests. Everywhere in the town of Cascais (railway station, carpark, beach, shops and restaurants) is only a few minutes from the hotel. Lisbon is 45 minutes away on a comfortable train that costs 4 euros return.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to share how much you have enjoyed your stay at Pergola House. We all wish a Happy New Year. Best regards, Patricia Gonçalves, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed in Pergola House during a short Golf-break, together with friends. The location is great, with many shops and restaurants nearby. The rooms are nicely decorated and so is the whole property. The finishing touch is the free glass of port in the afternoon!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HeleenSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your review about Pergola House. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We all wish you a Merry Christmas. Patricia Gonçalves, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The place is so beautiful, both inside and especially outside, that it was completely delightful.
Great location, quiet but near the center of town. Also the service was friendly and helpful. The chef even made a special meal for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guests,
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Pergola House. The staff and myself send you our best regards, Patricia Gonçalves, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Pergola House turned out to be one of the nicer looking B&B in which we have stayed. It is centrally located in Cascais, a very attractive resort area. You can travel there by train from Lisbon, but having a car makes it easier to visit other areas nearby, such as Sintra. There is adequate public parking very near the Pergola House that is reasonably priced.
The grounds and front landscaping is beautifully done as is the outside of the house.
The inside of the house is equally as well done as the outside with a very inviting entry and breakfast area on the groung floor.
The staff are very helpfull and very accommodating. Sofia, who we believe is the manager there is certainly one of a kind, terribly polite and helpful to the point where you feel more comfortable there than you do in your own home.
We did not get to see all the rooms, but the one in which we stayed, "Roses" was comfortable, and well furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom more than adequate.
They served a wonderful breakfast that inccuded plenty of fresh fruit and breads as well as eggs, bacon and quite a few other items. The only thing that can use improvement is the coffee they serve, which is actually almost thicker and stronger that turkish coffee.
We enjoyed our stay at the Pergola House so much that we plan to visit again soon and we also plan to recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Any room with the view of the view in the front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We appreciate that you shared your experience at Pergola House. We wish you all the best, Patricia Gonçalves, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was our second stay at Pergola House which well of our previous stay.
Our first visit resulted from seeing the Beautiful façade of the house and the interior during a stay at a local hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the bedrooms are well furnished and
the beds are comfortable.The breakfast could be improved upon with more fruit and more variety.The port served in the garden around 6pm is a nice idea as is the glass of port before bedtime in the Beautiful lounge room. we hope to stay again in the near future.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front with a Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bernard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Pergola House for your recent stay. The staff and myself wish you all the best and we hope you stay with us in the near future. Best regards, Patricia Gonçalves, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Selected this B&B following the good reviews and was not disappointed. Beautiful building, very friendly staff. Convenient location. Was offered port wine in the garden upon arrival. Also breakfast in the garden was very nice. Room was cosy with comfortable bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank silenzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice review and for staying at Pergola House. It was a pleasure to accommodate you. We all hope you come back in the near future. Best regards, Patricia Gonçalves, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.7 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola House

Property: Pergola House
Address: Avenida Valbom 13, Cascais 2750-508, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pergola House, a Mediterranean style Mansion, with its elegant white marble floors and staircases, 10 bedrooms with "bas relief" stucco ceilings and beautiful garden, is located in the very heart of Cascais. This superb house has always belonged to the same family for over a century and its beautiful facade adorned with ancient hand painted tiles has been the delight of both amateur and professional photographers. Enjoy the buffet breakfast outside in the colourful garden in summer or inside with the sound of classic music. Port wine served everyday at 6 pm. Tea service in the afternoon. Special appetizers and wines from 6-8 pm. Daily diner buffet available. Air-conditioned and central heating. Wireless internet in all the rooms. Good tips for restaurants and museums.Pick-up from Lisbon airport available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pergola House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Pergola Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing