We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!”
Review of Pergola House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pergola House
Ranked #2 of 42 Cascais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

So impressed by everything at Pergola House! The staff was so helpful and accommodating - thanks Angela! The room was lovely, the breakfast was delightful, and the location was right in the center of the excitement! We knew we picked a great spot when passers-by were snapping photos of the gorgeous property. We highly recommend Pergola House to anyone traveling to Cascais! Thanks again for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pamperd-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your nice review about Pergola House.
We all hope you will be back shortly.
Best regards,
Patricia Gonçaves, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Pergola House is a real good option for a stay in Cascais. Every room is different and has its own character (which of cause also means some rooms are bigger some smaller). Clean location with very friendly staff in the centre of Cascais, however parking could be a bit a pain.
All in all nothing to complain, we enjoyed our time in Cascais.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ThoRa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guests,
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Pergola House. The staff and myself send you our best regards, Patricia Gonçalves, general manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Have just returned from a 3 night break at this lovely guest house. On arrival we were greeted at the door, having walked up through the beautiful garden. Our room and the bathroom on the second floor were spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic with a plenty of choice. The beach is only a few minutes walk away and the hotel gave us beach towels to use (no charge). Everything is within easy reach of the hotel - restaurants, shops, beach, taxis. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, and remembered each morning how I take my tea! Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suz123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying at Pergola House and for sharing your experience.
We all hope to welcome you in the near future.
Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Have just returned from 3 nights in this lovely house with 2 friends. We were visiting another friend who lives nearby who was having a birthday celebration. The house is simply beautiful, it is like staying in a private house with the perfect hosts. Rooms are a good size, with a good bathroom. Breakfast can be taken in the pretty garden and the service is excellent and very friendly. Ana, Sofia , Paula and Angela could not be more friendly and the glass of port at 6pm each evening is a welcome treat. Perfect location to reach the shops, restaurants and beach. Boutique botel is a much better description , than B&B , this does not do the place justice. We shall return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dobsy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your wonderful review about Pergola House.
We are all very proud of our work and it is always a pleasure to have guests that enjoy and share their experience.
Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have just returned from 4 nights here. Having visited Cascais last year we spotted this lovely building and promised ourselves that we would stay here next time. We were not disappointed. The hotel is charming, comfortable and welcoming (complimentary Port wine on arrival). The staff are kind and helpful. The rooms are beautifully furnished in traditional furniture and the place was spotless. Breakfast is a buffet choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, cheese, ham, cooked sausage, bacon, scrambled egg, choice of breads, croissant, little cakes, jams, juice. There is no parking at the hotel, but we used the underground car park just up the road for 10 Euros for 24 hrs and it was a small price to pay for the excellent location and atmosphere of Pergola House. No tea or coffee making in rooms but you can ask for a choice of teas and other drinks (including alcohol) at a very reasonable price and it will be brought to your room or you can enjoy it in the beautiful garden. We stayed in room 15 Azul with balcony overlooking the garden. Great shower, comfy beds. No tv in rooms but that didn't bother us. There is a lovely lounge where you can watch tv if you want to.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms overlooking the garden are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martaine, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to welcome you at Pergola House. Thank you for sharing your nice review with everyone.
The staff and myself wish you all the best.
Regards,
Patricia Gonçalves.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed in Pergola House after booking some disastrous accommodation in Lisbon, and we were so relieved when we arrived and saw what a gorgeous building it was. We were greeted by the delightful Sofia who told us the hotel has been family run since its beginning (and it shows.) After check in, Sofia helped us up to our room with our bags and then invited us to have a welcome port down on the front porch. The room itself was small but tastefully decorated, with lovely soft linen, a comfortable bed and great water pressure in the shower. The breakfast was good and served by Sofia's cousin Ana who was a lovely host also. The hotel location is perfect…being directly opposite an excellent ice-cream place, Santini, close to beaches, bars restaurants and less than two minutes walk to the train station. All in all I would definitely recommend staying here if you like good hospitality and a smaller character filled hotel. It's probably not for someone who prefers very modern large hotels. One thing is for sure, nothing is a problem for these hosts, which is a breath of fresh air particularly in a high tourist zone. I'm so glad we chose to stay here.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room in the hotel, which was fine for us. If you were staying longer I would ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martaine, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to welcome you at Pergola House. Thank you for sharing your nice review with everyone.
The staff and myself wish you all the best.
Regards,
Patricia Gonçalves.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The staff are lovely and try to be very helpful.

Walked in strong smell of cleaning materials, which was not I required as just had bit of Asthma about 1 hour earlier. Taken to the bedroom which was even worse as the carpets had just been washed, plus two air fresheners completing the chemical warfare! They turned on the air con on for the room (no controls in the room, nor a fridge or TV despite room being very large). My partner was very worried (due how bad my asthma was getting) about the fact the telephone in the room did not work a member of staff came up and said it would be difficult to sort out as the headboard would need moving and it only must have happen, which I don't believe as this was the excuse straightaway without thinking time and under the circumstances should have been sorted that afternoon. Asked several times for extra pillows before they arrived (3hours+). not a very good nights sleep woke three times due the fumes despite having window open directly next to me and the air con running.

They need to invest as the cracks are showing, I have not a problem with old world charm/ character but it should not be used as excuse for not correcting failings and bringing up to standard for the price.

the fruit and fruit juice were the best bits of the breakfast

Room Tip: book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank single-dad-glos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We are sorry that you had a bad experience at Pergola House.
Maybe you should have asked about our services and facilities before booking.
As a Bed and Breakfast we can not offer the same services as a high standard hotel, like you have compared our guest house at the moment of the check-in.
I must say that it was really difficult to keep you satisfied during the whole stay despite the efforts made.
I went myself to your room to fix the telephone problem and feel sorry that it was not posible at that time.
The pillows were given to you just after check-in by me and not 3 hours later.
We are happy when guests share their positive or negative opinions about Pergola House, and we are always trying to improve.
Best regards,
Patricia Gonçalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.6 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 39 in Cascais
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#12 of 39 in Cascais
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola House

Address: Avenida Valbom 13, Cascais 2750-508, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range: £71 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pergola House, a Mediterranean style Mansion, with its elegant white marble floors and staircases, 10 bedrooms with "bas relief" stucco ceilings and beautiful garden, is located in the very heart of Cascais. This superb house has always belonged to the same family for over a century and its beautiful facade adorned with ancient hand painted tiles has been the delight of both amateur and professional photographers. Enjoy the buffet breakfast outside in the colourful garden in summer or inside with the sound of classic music. Port wine served everyday at 6 pm. Tea service in the afternoon. Special appetizers and wines from 6-8 pm. Daily diner buffet available. Air-conditioned and central heating. Wireless internet in all the rooms. Good tips for restaurants and museums.Pick-up from Lisbon airport available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pergola House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Pergola Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing