We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eurocamp were dreadful! Full of ants, rude and unhelpful!!!”
Review of Orbitur Guincho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orbitur Guincho
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here for a week in April 2014. 2 adults and 3 children. The park itself was not too bad, but could do with some work. The problem we had was the rep! Our van was not ready when we arrived, and we had to wait a further 2 hours. Then we were put in a different van, (first one smelt of gas and the rep did not know why). The van seemed ok on the surface of it and the staff at the park itself were lovely! We found that our van was over ran with ants! I mean all over the kitchen in the kids beds, (matress and linen!). We asked for a raid spray and the rep brought it round and sprayed it once. We told him we had more ants now in both bedrooms and instead of being offered another van we were told to just complain! The sofa bed was broken and we were unable to put it up in order for 2 of the children to sleep on it. The smell of the ant spray was over powering in the bedrooms and still no help from the rep who went out of his way to avoid us! The state of the place was beyond filthy under the sofa and matresses, (we had to lift them to spray), and despite complaining we were told to just complain to Eurocamp and avoided by the rep. The rep who incidentally seemed to have time to chat to everyone but could tell no-one where anything was and at the first sign of problems could never be found!

We made the best of our holiday and the staff at Orbitur themselves were lovely.

I think the brochure should say a car is necessary as most people had car hire and cabs were costing a fortune, as only 4 passengers can be taken in a cab.

When we returned we complained to Eurocamp, who replied that we had broken the pull out bed, and that we were offered another van! The sofa bed was broken when we were moved in and we tried to fix it! Never were we offered any help or other accommodation but instead was avoided! They have never replied and have been chased for replies but still no response. We have travelled with Eurocamp before so was gutted by this treatment!

On the upside what has come out of this is that if you book directly with Orbitur themselves, (they are the place that Eurocamp use in Portugal), you can save yourself about £1000! The staff who work for Orbitur are really helpful too!

So on the up we now book direct with Orbitur, get excellent service and save a grand. Would advise anyone to do the same!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank midnightdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I'm a walking traveler. I'm stay 1 night and I paied 16 euros for 1 tent,1 person. 2 euros for dog and the market has not food for dog, the only vegetables available is poteto and the are not also fruit. The most near market is far 3km and the centre of town is really far. The quality of bathromm is bad. Very very expensive for this service.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

place with a very nice room with lots of space clean showers shadow pool very spacious restaurant with fantastic staff very helpful paula mornings and evenings super sipatica claudia with a lot of patience for children always smiling ... there was no vegetarian food list promptly received several options to eat ... Marguerite was very helpful ... congratulations to the whole team that works hard to be that well attended ... but Marguerite, paula, and claudia were perfect for me feel welcome. I hope to return next year

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antje b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We staed just for one day, but got a lot of fun - the camin site is very nice, clean, lovely houses, live music at the evening, staff with a good humour and uber nice breakfast. Our shower head was broken in the house and the ocean is pretty far away to walk, but it did not got in the way to enjoy everything.

Room Tip: Mosquitos in the summer, be ready
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmorFati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Very welcoming camp site with lots of space to camp. Place and toilets are clean. Hot showers.
Restaurant is worth a visit during your stay.
Beautiful pool area with kids pool. People are very friendly and helpful. Great location for surf and windsurf (watch the currents) and to explore nearby Sintra and Lisbon.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank McFunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have just returned form Guincho where we stayed in one of the Eurocamp cabins. The camping site does not have direct access to the beach - the site is surrounded by high barbed wire fences and there are extensive dunes which stretch to the water. It is extremely rough there anyway when you do get to the beach. The pool is one of the cleanest pools I have ever seen = really lovely. Beyond htat, there is not that much to do compared to other camping resorts I have been to in Europe. Eurocamp has installed way too many cabins way too close together so you can hear everything in the cabins around you. Two of them abutt each other and this posed a real problem for us - as the next door people sat outside till very late and drank and talked and smoked. It was very unpleasant. The Eurocamp cabins in turn have a very ordinary location compared to other cabins at the park with no shade at all near them. It would be much more appealing to camp there or to stay in one of hte Orbitur Cabins, which are better spaced out = but may not be as well kitted out. If you are travelling through with a camper or a tent I suspect this would be a great camping ground but if like us you wish to have a place with heaps of things for the kids to do and lots of places to walk to and a great beach to walk to, this is not the place for you. But it is close to gorgeous Sintra, and to Lisbon and the town of Cascais at Easter break was truly gorgeous.

Room Tip: Look at the Orbitur accommodation options as well as the Eurocamp ones before you decide where to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTMSydneyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This only gets three stars as it didn't match up to previous visits, they have installed (in my opinion) too many eurocamp static homes, there's far less space for motorhomes.

This site takes ACSI cards and you can also get discounts with the Orbitor card.
Electric supply is ample.
Toilet blocks are clean, the ladies cleaning them are there on various times in the day even in the winter months that we visited, but some are closed so check before setting up.

We found a spot near to where we'd stayed before but it's limited for caravans etc now.
There's plenty of shade if you are there in the hotter months.

The WiFi is in the restaurant/shop area, they do have a room just outside this that you can use the WiFi also, but in colder days it's cold, we found there was no heating in there at all while we were there.

I have to add here that Claudia working in the restaurant area was just great, she was attentive, helpful and a good cook :-)

Unfortunately one of her colleagues cooked for my parents and my father fell ill, and this was after sending the food back because it wasn't cooked correctly. I think the restaurant doesn't get enough visitors in the winter months.

But as for Claudia she came over and played with our little girl when it wasn't too busy and looked after all her visitors very well. Many thanks Claudia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moojw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
833 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
571 reviews
1.5 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#4 of 39 in Cascais
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Vila Bicuda Resort
Vila Bicuda Resort
#14 of 39 in Cascais
267 reviews
4.4 mi away
Blue Boutique Hostel & Suites
2.8 mi away
Lac Hostel
Lac Hostel
#15 of 47 in Cascais
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orbitur Guincho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orbitur Guincho

Address: Estrada Nacional 247 6 | Lugar de Areia, Cascais 2750-053, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Cascais
Price Range: £18 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orbitur Guincho 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, PitchUp, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orbitur Guincho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Obitur-Guincho Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing