We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ocean views, clean, good food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Haleiwa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great ocean views, clean, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I am having a very romantic time here. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and the food is good. It has exceeded my expectations and I would enjoy staying here again. The beach is so nice, and it's a good spot for surfing and kitesurfing. It's just outside of Cascais so you feel like you're not in a crowded tourist destination. It's a great place and the staff is very friendly. I will recommend it to anyone coming to Portugal especially if you enjoy kitesurfing and surfing.

Room Tip: Pick a room upstairs with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    73
    39
    34
    54
See reviews for
51
133
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in Muchaxo hotel as we had a beautifull opportunity to see how our grandparents were welcome in resorts like this. I do not regret any cent and any minute for staying in this hotel. Steril hotels are boring and are all over the world. I really suggest this hotel for those who do not looking for impersonal environment and are ready for something different.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristineJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Nice staff and authentic design, but lack of maintanance will kill this hotel.
Breakfast is not very reach, but ok.

If you order ask for a new wing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Not a five star, but great. The view is absolutely beautiful, room and hotel well maintained. Not much on offer for breakfast, but edible. Only dissapointment, was the very limited Wi-fi (only available in ONE SMALL section of the hotel).

Overall, great place to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soraya013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

5 star -5 star shame as the veiws are amazing if you could see out of the windows and thats all thats good about the place very dark not been done up since the 60s/70s .Food poor

Room Tip: Choose a diffrent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevesw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cascais hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Ok I don't know where to start, 1st we couldn't find the hotel so we called the number of the hotel and a lady answered and told us to keep driving until we found a yellow building. Then she told us that the yellow building wasn't their hotel and that their hotel was the one next to it (not very helpful). They didn't even have an address. Then we finally found the hotel and drove into the parking lot and needed to find a spot. The man found us a spot but it was so small our car didn't fit. Then we went in and looked around. It was dingy and grungy (not a good 1st impression). Then we checked in and while we were checking in people were bringing their dogs into the hotel!!!!!!!!! Well, we finally went into the room and looked around and nearly screamed! The room was so dirty there was one very old window the you could see out of... we had a view of the parking lot. The other window was so high up and so dirty you could not see through it. The walls were not painted and the ceiling was so scary it looked like something was going to crawl out of it any second. Not to mention the floor it was so gritty that my I took off my flip flops and had to run bac to them the floor was too dirty. The t.v.s did not work. The beds didn't even look like they were good to sleep in. Well, its good we did our research because we knew this was the old wing. So, we went down and requested a room in the new wing. They put us in the new wing and we looked around, the room was fine. We had a view of the pool and beach. The pool looked nice so we got dressed for a swim. We tried to walk out and go swimming but we had to go down multiple staircases that looked like they were going to collaspe. Well long story short the pool was cold and dirty and the beach was rough and not family oriented. The hotel had lots of ants. The breakfast table had ants on it, the bar table had ants and even the rooms had ants crawling in the bathroom. The sound of waves kept us awake all night. So basically it was a waste of a day in Portugal. The place called themselves five star hotel. Muchaxo is totally overated, most definitely not a five star hotel. I am not making any of this up, the people who were working there tried but the day could not be saved. Too old and too much mold for this family to enjoy. Save yourself the stress and don't book this hotel.

Room Tip: don't stay here but if u have to, stay in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank touristsinportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

There's a 5 star sign outside of this hotel and for sure this hotel is not a 5 star.

Hotel location is just great if you want to see the area and enjoy beach as well as doing some sightseeing around. Definitely one should have a car for this hotel since it's quite far from the city though parking can be problematic during the weekend when there are lots of people coming to the beach.
Some of the hotel rooms have been renovated, once we could get over stink of paint and some unfinished carpenter job at the room, the room was clean and livable. Breakfast is simple, nothing special and hotel staff are helpful. But things are not perfect, once we arrived we've been given our room which was not ready yet , of course we needed to chase reception few time before it was made ready. Wifi only works in small area near reception by chance only ! Ambiance in this hotel is weird, you feel some sort of emptiness and lack of presence but who cares, once you step outside, you see mountains, ocean and waves !!

Room Tip: No safe at rooms, renovated rooms are clean but some unfinished job still. Wifi only works in small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueHedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.2 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Cidadela
Hotel Cidadela
#26 of 38 in Cascais
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.5 mi away
Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#15 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#13 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo

Property: Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo
Address: Estrada do Guincho | Cascais and Sintra Natural Park, Cascais 2750-642, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estalagem Muchaxo is on Guincho beach, located on Cascais and Sintra Natural Park. The Estalagem Muchaxo has over 60 years of history and occupies an 17th century fortress, defying the waves and winds of the Atlantic Ocean.In such an impressive natural scenery Estalagem Muchaxo provides an unique and personalized atmosphere with it´s authentic and traditional decoration.Its restaurant is one of the most known in the region due to its magnificent view over the ocean and its cuisine, specialized in Seafood and Shellfish.A unique atmosphere can be found at the bar, with its decoration, piano, fireplace and views of the sea. Guincho beach and its winds and waves make it ideal for enthusiasts of surfing and windsurfing. In fact this beach is known as one of the best windsurfing spots in Europe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Forte Muchaxo Hotel Cascais
Forte Hotel Cascais
Cascais Forte
Forte Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing