We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrible old hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel probably had a great time back in 1960's but it has not been renovated since.

It is old - dirty and not corresponding with advertizing.

The pool is not clean.

Wifi is only available in two squaremeters in the receptionarea - no internet in the rooms.

Breakfast is horrible and not fresh.

The staff is out of service and lacks confidence and politeness.

The Price of the room seems reasonable in advertizing but it is much to High conpared to what you get.

The only positive thing to say is that the surrounding Beach area is superp.

Our recommandation is to stay away.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clauslj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    73
    39
    34
    54
See reviews for
51
133
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

If you want a 5 start hotel that looks the same as every other 5 star hotel all over the world then this is to for you. But if you want to old world charm, yes and that does include an element of things not being perfect, then Muchaxo is wonderful. We had a room with a sea view. The pool and the beach are one minute away.

The Muchaxo has its own style. It's like stepping back in time 30 years. A good place to disconnect. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

I am not a surfer but there were lots of surfers around so if that is your thing, you could do worse than book in here. The hotel is about a 5 minute drive from Cascais where you have al the pubs, shops and restaurants that you could want.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view. It really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyTraveller093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We are just back from this hotel after a 2 week stay, the staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is 9km from Caiscais which is a dis-advantage as you need to get a taxi at night to get back to the hotel. The rooms were very basic and need an update. The food was lovely but there is no place to sit out to eat. The pool area is lovely but not safe for small kids as there are too many steps to get down to it. There is a bus stop outside the door which is helpful but does not make up for the distance. Overall, I would say that once you get used to the decor the place has alot to offer as it is right on a very windy beach with lovely views -either hire a car or budget €10 a night to get a taxi. Tony and the staff made up for everything as after the first night it was like we were with people that we felt we knew for a long time.

Room Tip: We did not request a sea view but got one, ask for one when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineRafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. Our room faced the pool and was very clean and comfortable. We got to listen to the waves and enjoy the wind coming off of the ocean. All of the staff here is so friendly and treat you like one of the family. The manager, all of the front desk, the housekeeping staff, the servers and bartenders- so friendly, professional, and helpful. It's a short bus ride or taxi (about 7euro) to Cascais, which is lovely. But we spent most of our time at the hotel and Guincho Beach, which was awesome for some surf. The beach is huge and amazing, beautiful mornings and sunsets and there is a bar/restaurant tucked in the point at the far end. Basically a relaxing beachy place and a quick ride into town when you want more variety. We enjoyed breakfast while watching the ocean and having a drink in the lounge in the evening. Fantastic location, wonderful people, couldn't ask for more. We really enjoyed Portugal and this place and will put it on our short list to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JustineVMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moormerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Friendly staff, renovated rooms in the upper level, a stunning location and retro charm make this hotel worth a visit.

Room Tip: Upper level seaside rooms are renovated and have a stunning view. No balcony though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guincho, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

What a wonderful surprise. This hotel and its new renovations are a pleasure to find on such a beautiful beach. The staff and the accommodations are first rate and we have had an excellent experience here. Don't miss the restaurant, the cappuccinos and the views. All together a great value and a winner for us!

Room Tip: The views overlooking the pool and sunset were perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haleiwa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I am having a very romantic time here. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and the food is good. It has exceeded my expectations and I would enjoy staying here again. The beach is so nice, and it's a good spot for surfing and kitesurfing. It's just outside of Cascais so you feel like you're not in a crowded tourist destination. It's a great place and the staff is very friendly. I will recommend it to anyone coming to Portugal especially if you enjoy kitesurfing and surfing.

Room Tip: Pick a room upstairs with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.2 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Cidadela
Hotel Cidadela
#26 of 38 in Cascais
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.5 mi away
Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#4 of 17 in Estoril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#16 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#13 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo

Property: Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo
Address: Estrada do Guincho | Cascais and Sintra Natural Park, Cascais 2750-642, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estalagem Muchaxo is on Guincho beach, located on Cascais and Sintra Natural Park. The Estalagem Muchaxo has over 60 years of history and occupies an 17th century fortress, defying the waves and winds of the Atlantic Ocean.In such an impressive natural scenery Estalagem Muchaxo provides an unique and personalized atmosphere with it´s authentic and traditional decoration.Its restaurant is one of the most known in the region due to its magnificent view over the ocean and its cuisine, specialized in Seafood and Shellfish.A unique atmosphere can be found at the bar, with its decoration, piano, fireplace and views of the sea. Guincho beach and its winds and waves make it ideal for enthusiasts of surfing and windsurfing. In fact this beach is known as one of the best windsurfing spots in Europe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estalagem do Forte Muchaxo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Forte Muchaxo Hotel Cascais
Forte Hotel Cascais
Cascais Forte
Forte Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing