We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Yuma, AZ
Level Contributor
223 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“First rate!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights after three days in Lisbon. While here we planned on visiting Cascais and Sintra. The Pousada exceeded our expectations. It is a lovely resort hotel with everything one might want. Beautiful location by the sea and close to Sintra and Estoril. Room was large, modern, and comfortable. The Pousada arranged a private driver to take us on a day trip to Sintra. Our driver's name was Cassanova and he was superb. Staff was superior in every way. Great bar, lounge, and restaurant. Highly recommend this Pousada.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dnreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear dnreed,

'First rate!' What more can we ask? Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to share it! We'll be waiting for another chance to "WOW" you the next time you visit Cascais!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    315
    101
    43
    22
See reviews for
218
627
23
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for an anniversary on a recommendation from a friend who visited in euro 2004.
Staff upgraded us for free to a suite have us a chocolate cake with congratulations in Portuguese and a bottle of cava all complimentary.
Great hotel for couples of mid twenties and older

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhartles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Rhartles,

Thank you so much for your feedback and review and also for choosing us to celebrate such an important date! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon for another special occasion, we'll be happy to be part of it!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

the hotel room was very big and modern, they upgraded us to a junior suite for free. The cleanliness was perfect. The staff was very nice and helpfull, they helped us a lot. The breakfast was a big buffet with a large variety of foods. the swiming pool, the sauna, the turkish bath and the gym were perfect.

Room Tip: if you travel with family choose the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_viajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Michael_viajes,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review. Please come back soon and allow us to, once again, exceed your expectations!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The hotel is built inside of an old Portuguese coastal fort that now overlooks a modern marina. Our room had a Marina view and the balcony for our room was an old cannon emplacement that was probably 10 ft thick. Great for a 3-5 day stay to see the various historical sites in the area.

Room Tip: Book a bike and ride the coast bike path
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallas214too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Dallas214too,

'Fantastic', 'Amazing'... what more can we ask for? Thank you for the kind words and for taking your time to leave us your review. Next time you visit Cascais don't forget us, we'll be very proud and glad to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The standard in this hotel is very good with high quality rooms, beds showers etc. The location is also excellent as it is down by the marina and only a short walk to the town but is not noisy. The staff are top notch as they are professional and genuinely friendly. They made the stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wf_duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear wf_duke,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such positive review. You cannot imagine how happy we were with your lovely words about our Pousada, staff and service. Please be back soon, it will be an honour to welcome you again!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night, for our first visit to Cascais. We had a junior suite. The room was perfect, decoration simple, modern, comfortable, big room, with separate living area and dressing room. The window overloaded the marina. Great place, but please remember it is a converted forte/military castle so the windows are small, and you may only see the outside castle wall. But that is also part of the charm.
The room had a very big bed, two plasma tvs, free wi-fi, mini bar, robes, sofas. Big bathroom, simply spotless. The hotel is in a great part of Cascais, with easy private access to the Marina.
The service and staff, could not be better, always helpful and alert for all you needs.
Breakfast was one of the best I haver had, and I enjoy hotel breakfasts. The fresh fruit was perfect!
Swimming pool was really nice and indoors. The view of the restaurant, pool and balcony was great.
Only three warnings, there is no free parking, although there is plenty of parking around. The pool and the restaurant area is small for the size of the hotel, in December there were not many people so all was perfect with plenty do space.
It is simply beautiful!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CSNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear CSNunes,

We agree: “Could not be better!” such detailed and positive feedback, thank you so much for the friendly words and for giving us the pleasure to have you with us! We'll be waiting for a next visit so we can exceed even more and once again your expectations!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel is fabulous. Location is very good, views are marvellous.
Bit late cleaning.
Quite a labyrinth, but that is only exciting.
We enjoyed, especially when the temperatures were in late september around 30 - 35.

Room Tip: We had a court view, guess a seaview is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PasiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear PasiT,

We are so glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay and that you were able to appreciate the views and the incredible location of our Pousada. We hope you enjoyed all that Cascais has to offer and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Portugal!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Property: Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing