We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in an historic fort! - super location & great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 10 January 2014

When I last visited Cascais about 10 years ago the Fort was still a military base, but now it’s turned into a wonderful hotel with some new buildings and adaption of existing buildings. The whole hotel as well as other buildings are built within the outer walls of the 15th century Fortaleza, called Cidadela de Cascais. Apart from the hotel there is still the president’s palace inside the walls of the Fortaleza as well as some boutique shops surrounding the main courtyard.

This Pousada emanates a feeling of luxury and space. It combines old & new architecture. Arriving through the gateway in the walls of Fort is an impressive making experience - with the view across the large Portuguese cobbled courtyard to the white walled facade of the Pousada.
The restaurant looks out over the sea, as does the indoor swimming pool. We visited in the winter but I understand the glass doors along the whole of one side of the swimming pool open up onto a large wooden veranda where you can sunbathe or take drinks or eat a meal from the restaurant.

We were very impressed with the buildings, the pool, our room and the service. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing that lets this hotel down is the bar, which is rather large and cavernous and set down a flight of steps in a kind of sub-basement off of the reception. We didn't use it and weren't that particular worried about using it. The key place to be is in the restaurant overlooking the yacht harbour and the sea. There is also a restaurant in the main courtyard, which is very pleasant.

The nice thing about this hotel is that is only a short walk down into the lovely town of Cascais, with its little shops, streets, bars & restaurants. We went for a relaxing break over New Year and although the weather wasn't very good we had a superb time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool and with a sea view
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbertVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear AlbertVictor,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a positive review! It was fabulous to see our Pousada through your eyes! We are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that we met your expectations. We also thank you for addressing the area you wish to see improved, and your comments were already forwarded to upper management. We'll be waiting to welcome you back real soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Cidadela Cascais
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights after three days in Lisbon. While here we planned on visiting Cascais and Sintra. The Pousada exceeded our expectations. It is a lovely resort hotel with everything one might want. Beautiful location by the sea and close to Sintra and Estoril. Room was large, modern, and comfortable. The Pousada arranged a private driver to take us on a day trip to Sintra. Our driver's name was Cassanova and he was superb. Staff was superior in every way. Great bar, lounge, and restaurant. Highly recommend this Pousada.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank dnreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear dnreed,

'First rate!' What more can we ask? Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to share it! We'll be waiting for another chance to "WOW" you the next time you visit Cascais!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for an anniversary on a recommendation from a friend who visited in euro 2004.
Staff upgraded us for free to a suite have us a chocolate cake with congratulations in Portuguese and a bottle of cava all complimentary.
Great hotel for couples of mid twenties and older

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhartles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Rhartles,

Thank you so much for your feedback and review and also for choosing us to celebrate such an important date! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon for another special occasion, we'll be happy to be part of it!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

the hotel room was very big and modern, they upgraded us to a junior suite for free. The cleanliness was perfect. The staff was very nice and helpfull, they helped us a lot. The breakfast was a big buffet with a large variety of foods. the swiming pool, the sauna, the turkish bath and the gym were perfect.

Room Tip: if you travel with family choose the junior suite
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael_viajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Michael_viajes,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review. Please come back soon and allow us to, once again, exceed your expectations!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The hotel is built inside of an old Portuguese coastal fort that now overlooks a modern marina. Our room had a Marina view and the balcony for our room was an old cannon emplacement that was probably 10 ft thick. Great for a 3-5 day stay to see the various historical sites in the area.

Room Tip: Book a bike and ride the coast bike path
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dallas214too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Dallas214too,

'Fantastic', 'Amazing'... what more can we ask for? Thank you for the kind words and for taking your time to leave us your review. Next time you visit Cascais don't forget us, we'll be very proud and glad to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The standard in this hotel is very good with high quality rooms, beds showers etc. The location is also excellent as it is down by the marina and only a short walk to the town but is not noisy. The staff are top notch as they are professional and genuinely friendly. They made the stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wf_duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear wf_duke,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such positive review. You cannot imagine how happy we were with your lovely words about our Pousada, staff and service. Please be back soon, it will be an honour to welcome you again!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed only one night, for our first visit to Cascais. We had a junior suite. The room was perfect, decoration simple, modern, comfortable, big room, with separate living area and dressing room. The window overloaded the marina. Great place, but please remember it is a converted forte/military castle so the windows are small, and you may only see the outside castle wall. But that is also part of the charm.
The room had a very big bed, two plasma tvs, free wi-fi, mini bar, robes, sofas. Big bathroom, simply spotless. The hotel is in a great part of Cascais, with easy private access to the Marina.
The service and staff, could not be better, always helpful and alert for all you needs.
Breakfast was one of the best I haver had, and I enjoy hotel breakfasts. The fresh fruit was perfect!
Swimming pool was really nice and indoors. The view of the restaurant, pool and balcony was great.
Only three warnings, there is no free parking, although there is plenty of parking around. The pool and the restaurant area is small for the size of the hotel, in December there were not many people so all was perfect with plenty do space.
It is simply beautiful!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CSNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear CSNunes,

We agree: “Could not be better!” such detailed and positive feedback, thank you so much for the friendly words and for giving us the pleasure to have you with us! We'll be waiting for a next visit so we can exceed even more and once again your expectations!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
569 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Address: Avenida D. Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range: £108 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Cidadela Cascais – Pousada & Art District is a 5-star hotel located in Cascais. It is part of the Pestana Collection Hotels and one of the first hotels in Europe to have an Art District on site. This historic hotel is surrounded by studios, galleries, and museums with views of the sea and the Cascais marina. It is located 3 minutes on foot from the beach and 5 minutes on foot from the town centre. It is very close to various beaches, including the surfers' paradise, Guincho beach, parks, museums, shopping centres and the Casino do Estoril. Take a dip at the indoor swimming pool with views of the marina or the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by the Fortaleza gardens. Discover Déjà Lu, our charity bookstore, our Spa and the state of the art gym. For your enjoyment, we offer two restaurants and a bar. From the rooms with incredible views of the marina to the rooms located in more historic areas of the fort, spark your curiosity and choose one of the many Author's rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing