We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stunning place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
bexhill on sea
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“stunning place”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

from the moment we arrived to leaving we were treated as if we were special guests. the experience was first class. the staff are all very friendly and very attentive and do everything they can to make your stay a memorable one. the hotel is in a great position in Cascais overlooking the marina and the rooms are of a generous size. the food is to die for at breakfast and if what you want is not there ask politely for it and if possible it will be provided. we really cannot thank the staff in all areas enough, they make the staying here worth while and I hope the management realise what an asset they are. we will be back next year.

p.s. one very minor minus was the tea provided. very weak. please can you arrange for some English tea and decaf tea as well?

Room Tip: superior rooms with balcony are good value. also suggest you use the aerobus from Lisbon airport to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear suspad,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff and I am glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    315
    101
    43
    22
See reviews for
218
627
23
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned from an enjoyable 8 night stay at this lovely hotel. I would recommend Cascais and preferred this end of the town near the marina. The hotel is a converted fort plus extension with many different types of rooms and suites. Very different ,very interesting and tastefully done. A peaceful location but near to public beaches, marina, restaurants and the centre of the town and not too far from the railway station for trips to Lisbon.
The staff cannot do enough for you and are welcoming, friendly, polite and helpful.
There was a slight problem with the window and it was sorted within hours.
The breakfast is superb although I would be happier if the cooked meats were on a chilled counter and the tea was stronger.
The room was lovely, clean and a reasonable size with good air conditioning which was certainly needed as the temperatures were 35+degrees outside.
During the week that we stayed there were celebrations and festivals on 3 days in Cascais with processions, brass bands, vintage car rallies, dancing and singing. Very colourful and very enjoyable. The local people were only too happy to explain the traditions and are very friendly. Celebrations did go on until very late or early the next morning and although good sound proofing in the rooms, some music did get through. On all other nights a very peaceful sleep with no noise at all. We also loved the bathroom as it also had a bidet.
Only slight negatives - it would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the small handles of the wardrobes are quite awkward to open.
We had booked through a third party and ended up with a standard room when we thought we had booked a superior room but am taking that up with the third party, and to be honest, I liked the position of our room overlooking a quiet courtyard and garden which meant I could leave the windows open at night with no noise. Others in the hotel mentioned noise at night from the Marina bars (this was during the World Cup!!)
Would definitely recommend and hope to go back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireNotwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was the first time we stayed in a Pousada and we loved it, staying for 3 nights. The rooms are very modern and clean. Our room overlooked the courtyard which was very peaceful. We also enjoyed the various art pieces placed in the various lobbies and hallways. The location is also great, giving good access to the town and the marina. The staff were very helpful and willing to make reservations, call cabs and give directions to different sight seeing places. Day trips from here are easy given the access to buses and trains. If you are looking for a unique and relaxing place to stay, make this the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over the last weekend and would definitely stay again and again and again. It's quite a large hotel that projects a unique and peaceful boutique style with an aesthetic experience which is outstanding. The tapas menu in the hotel restaurant was superb. We ate there 4 times during our stay (2 lunches and 2 dinners). It was so good that when we went out restaurant trawling in Cascais everywhere else paled in comparison and seemed expensive on a cost versus quality basis. There was one restaurant exception though, the rather fabulous Hemingway in the marina where the cocktails, food, wine and service are exceptional. Its only a stones throw from the hotel through the marina escape passage. We booked a junior suite and stayed on marina side level 0 deep in the fortress wall. We had a cannon hole type window with steps up to it to see the view. It was 35 degrees celsius outside for the whole weekend and we didn't even need to use the air con. People staying in the 2nd floor rooms with panoramic marina and sea views would have been frying with air con on max (not to mention being constantly disturbed by every guest in the hotel walking past to breakfast, pool and bar). Our room was very very quiet, huge, cool and wine cave like with a vaulted ceiling and multiple levels. The art gallery corridors were inspiring and the outdoor spaces pleasant and plentiful. The heated pool had a retractable wall of glass which made it indoor-outdoor and was sheltered from the blazing sun. The pool was essential as you would catch hyperthermia in the sea. The breakfast buffet spread was very good (although the coffee could have been better). The staff were very friendly, helpful and service was very good. A comment to non Portuguese speaking critics though - it's easy to underestimate how much is lost in translation for speakers of English as a second language. Have also found service in Portugal to be slower in general than other countries in Europe so reset expectations and you'll enjoy.

Room Tip: If it's hot forget the sea view and go for a cooler room. Marina facing rooms experience the Sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Circe_Sorrento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Very cool hotel good location nice view very yong staff but attentive , but is not a luxury hotel and has a poor pool. But we enjoy staying in Cascais and the location is very nice it is a historic place that is recovered not long time ago

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtonjonh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit. Last time we booked a sea view room and had one that had a tiny window. Nice and spacious but not possible to watch the world go by. This time we booked a room with a balcony but not a sea view. We were lucky to have one of the rooms that overlooked the car park. Might sound strange to rate that view, but you could see the sea and lighthouse and we had sun in the afternoon. The balcony was very spacious and private. It was quiet most of the time too, despite us leaving the door open at night. Just one night of disco music from near the lighthouse.

We were also very close to the pool. We had some very hot weather while we were there so it was good to cool off. We also appreciated the fact that the pool was mostly in shade, so you really could cool off.

The hotel conversion has been done very well. The whole place has a nice feel about it. So why not a score of excellent? Well, the coffee at breakfast tasted stewed and they were not great at topping up toiletries. We had a glut of shampoo but no shower gel at one point. Then finally no option for late check-out. We understood that maybe all rooms were booked, but normally better hotels provide one room where guests can change and freshen up if they have a later flight. Dragging a change of clothes and toiletries to the loo just wasn't right.

We'd still go back as the location is great and it is a good hotel for chilling out in. But it doesn't quite deserve an excellent status.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hove123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is undoubtedly a lovely hotel and the conversion of the fort is nothing short of stunning in places. But our overall experience didn't quite live up to the hotel's amazing facade due to some annoyances which cropped up during our stay.

We preferred tea over coffee with breakfast in the morning. Tea was much more difficult to obtain than coffee. Service was often slow and sometimes we were ignored completely, even after we had placed an order for tea. The quality of the ingredients was excellent but there was a distinct lack of choice of hot breakfast items.

We suffered some noise and disturbance in our first room allocation (which was a real shame as it was actually a slight upgrade on what we booked). Our terrace overlooked an exterior staircase where people tended to congregate and our main door was by the entrance to the breakfast restaurant. After being a bit too British about it for a few days we asked to be moved. We were moved when requested but were then put in a room with faulty air conditioning. This meant we had to be moved again and it wasted some of our valuable holiday time. No real apology for the inconvenience which left us feeling a bit undervalued as guests.

A conference was taking place for the first few days of our stay, this seemed to consume most of the hotel's resources and we felt unable to use the facilities as much as we would have liked (e.g. go for a drink in the hotel bar).

Thankfully some of the service we received was excellent (one night the barman made me an excellent Singapore Sling despite never having made one before) and most of the staff are friendly and helpful. The location is great and just a short walk from the centre of Cascais. As mentioned previously architecturally it's fascinating and there's lots of areas to explore within the hotel grounds. It's just a shame that some elements of our stay overshadowed this somewhat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Property: Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing