We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy a Fortress.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fancy a Fortress.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is an amazing Hotel, fronting the Marina in Cascais, the centre and Bay just a 5 minute walk away. I have no hesitation in recommending this Restored Fortress for its stunning design and quiet ambiance,the delightful guestrooms, and superior beds. Well worth having a room with a balcony. The Restaurant looked onto the sea, and had an outdoor balcony The Breakfast was excellent, a great choice too. The Restaurant was open all day until 7 pm. which was fine. This was a disappointment to us, no Evening dining in the Hotel!
. In the Square the Hotel did have a Tapas Restaurant, However there were many good Restaurants nearby , especially along the cobbled streets opposite the Forte. Finally all the Staff were most helpful,& considerate, Cascais itself is very pretty and surrounding coast to Sintra well worth a visit, A lovely Hotel. Emily 746

Room Tip: room with a balcony looking onto garden ,upstairs near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Emily746,

Thank you so much for your candid feedback and for sharing it! It is always wonderful to know that our Guests leave us with the best memories! Our Hotel within the Citadel Fortress is really amazing and the combination between historic but also modern architecture, associated to its design, creates a contrast between 'worlds' that complement each other perfectly. Regarding the Restaurant, the one that you mentioned as being in the Main Square belongs to the Hotel and is one of our recommendations for a good meal with us, hope that you try it on your next stay. Greetings from all the team!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    315
    101
    43
    22
See reviews for
218
628
23
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had the good fortune to end our self drive tour of Portugal with a final night stay at the Pousada Cascais. In an old fortress fronting the marina, the structure has been renovated to a quality that is comparable to the top hotels in the Far East. The room is huge and very modern. The sitting room at the entrance, is separated from the bedroom, by a very large bathroom This beautiful small apartment overlooks the marina. The staff were both courteous and efficient and parking was not a problem. We did not enjoy either Lisbon or Sintra hotels as much and with the knowledge we now have, we would make Cascais the center of operations and travel to the other two locations. The distance to the airport is the same for Lisbon and Cascais so that removes another issue. The center of Cascais is well supplied with eating places and bars and one feels more at ease strolling at night here than in Lisbon. Pickpockets seem to prefer Lisbon.

Room Tip: Ask for Ist Floor overlooking marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giovanni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear giovanni s,

We loved your comment that perfectly described our Hotel, thank you for taking time to review our property and for sharing it. I am glad to hear that we will be your top choice when you visit Cascais. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Ill be brief but i found this place very over rated. It looks stunning on the approach shining bright white in the sunshine and indeed visually stunning inside too. But it really is a question of design over all else prerequisite in a 5 star hotel - comfort, great views, great facilities and so on. Our suite in the basement although pretty impressive (old powder stores?) had one small velux type window looking into the sky and some nonsensical poem left about staring into the sky - presumably to make up for the lack of sea view? It was claustrophobic and i would not have liked to stay there on my own.

Food was not great, swimming pool tiny and semi inside, next to dining room.

But ,most of all nothing seems to be comfortable. The bar was huge (visually stunning again) but service poor, and chairs uncomfortable, the sofas in our suite not comfortable either. To be fair the bed was very comfortable.

Maybe the rooms upstairs overlooking the sea/marina might be better - certainly lighter.. But i think the are some fundamental flaws in this place..maybe have a look round, some lunch.

Room Tip: Not a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jessica C,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our upper management. We will soon have a new outdoor pool and we would also like you to try another room, since we do have 8 different typologies, so it would be an honour if you could give us the pleasure of welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Wonderful hotel with great location! Restoran with great view, and tasty breakfasts. Room service - 2 or 3 times per day. Rooms are quite big. I was injoyed my stay. Comfortable beds. Nothing to add!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_Gerasimova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Anna_Gerasimova,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us! Thank you for sharing such detailed and positive feedback. We will be anxiously waiting to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexhill on sea
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

from the moment we arrived to leaving we were treated as if we were special guests. the experience was first class. the staff are all very friendly and very attentive and do everything they can to make your stay a memorable one. the hotel is in a great position in Cascais overlooking the marina and the rooms are of a generous size. the food is to die for at breakfast and if what you want is not there ask politely for it and if possible it will be provided. we really cannot thank the staff in all areas enough, they make the staying here worth while and I hope the management realise what an asset they are. we will be back next year.

p.s. one very minor minus was the tea provided. very weak. please can you arrange for some English tea and decaf tea as well?

Room Tip: superior rooms with balcony are good value. also suggest you use the aerobus from Lisbon airport to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear suspad,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff and I am glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned from an enjoyable 8 night stay at this lovely hotel. I would recommend Cascais and preferred this end of the town near the marina. The hotel is a converted fort plus extension with many different types of rooms and suites. Very different ,very interesting and tastefully done. A peaceful location but near to public beaches, marina, restaurants and the centre of the town and not too far from the railway station for trips to Lisbon.
The staff cannot do enough for you and are welcoming, friendly, polite and helpful.
There was a slight problem with the window and it was sorted within hours.
The breakfast is superb although I would be happier if the cooked meats were on a chilled counter and the tea was stronger.
The room was lovely, clean and a reasonable size with good air conditioning which was certainly needed as the temperatures were 35+degrees outside.
During the week that we stayed there were celebrations and festivals on 3 days in Cascais with processions, brass bands, vintage car rallies, dancing and singing. Very colourful and very enjoyable. The local people were only too happy to explain the traditions and are very friendly. Celebrations did go on until very late or early the next morning and although good sound proofing in the rooms, some music did get through. On all other nights a very peaceful sleep with no noise at all. We also loved the bathroom as it also had a bidet.
Only slight negatives - it would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room and the small handles of the wardrobes are quite awkward to open.
We had booked through a third party and ended up with a standard room when we thought we had booked a superior room but am taking that up with the third party, and to be honest, I liked the position of our room overlooking a quiet courtyard and garden which meant I could leave the windows open at night with no noise. Others in the hotel mentioned noise at night from the Marina bars (this was during the World Cup!!)
Would definitely recommend and hope to go back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireNotwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was the first time we stayed in a Pousada and we loved it, staying for 3 nights. The rooms are very modern and clean. Our room overlooked the courtyard which was very peaceful. We also enjoyed the various art pieces placed in the various lobbies and hallways. The location is also great, giving good access to the town and the marina. The staff were very helpful and willing to make reservations, call cabs and give directions to different sight seeing places. Day trips from here are easy given the access to buses and trains. If you are looking for a unique and relaxing place to stay, make this the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Property: Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing