We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked a Bed and Breakfast package for 4 days in Cascais. Hotel is beatiful and the Staff so friendly and helpful. Breakfast is fab but the coffee is terrible! Lunch in the restaurant was ok but very expensive. Fab restaurants around Cascais. Hotel full of art works. Enjoyed our stay here

Room Tip: When booking a balcony room you must state 'sea view' or you could be looking onto a carpark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyWestGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear SunnyWestGalway,

Thank you for your candid feedback about our Hotel and for given us the pleasure to stay with us during your holidays! Our Pousada is really amazing not only for its history but also for the architectural modernism. As for the coffee, this information has been passed to the upper management and next time you visit us, we will be worthy of a 5 stars rate!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

we booked a suite for the 4 of us, 2 adults with 2 kids, the room was pretty, the highlight is the breakfats you can request to your room, really tasty and well served,
The hotel restaurante is not that good but in Cascais you can eat very well so it was not a problema. The pool is quite small so if you go in winter time you will not have space to rest, only 2 beds in the indoor part..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna_Koltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Joanna_Koltan,

We are all glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing our Hotel to spend your family holidays and thank you for your 5 stars review! The breakfasts are really great, with a lovely sea view and if combined with the confort of your room, is certainly and truly delightful! Regarding the pool.. good news are coming soon and I'm sure you will enjoy it, so we will be anxiously to surprise you and your lovely family next time you visit us!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

What a marvellous setting , room was very spacious , lots of drawer and wardrobe space , also kept very clean . The breakfasts are good though the coffee and tea could be improved. The sun terrace is good and the pool area is kept well . The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would not say it's the best place for recommend for a long stay , 4 days about right

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaynor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Gaynor H,

You cannot imagine how happy we all are with your 5 star rate! Our Hotel is indeed unique not only in terms of its architecture but also its location, comfort and service as you mentioned. Thank you also for your notes about the coffee and tea, your comments were already passed to upper management so that on your next visit you can notice the overall improvement. We truly wish that you will give us the honour to welcome you back and for a longer period for you to have time to explore not only the beauty of ​​Cascais but also its surroundings such as Cabo da Roca, Estoril, Sintra, ... and, of course, enjoy all the best that our Hotel has to offer you!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very nice hotel in a rather marvellous area. My wife and I were there for a week and I would say if you are staying longer then look for something more "holiday like" as the hotel is quite Corporate (late June) with conferences and events ongoing. Whilst the public spaces are filled with interesting art work and designer furniture there is no actual bar or coffee shop in the hotel apart from the restaurant at the opposite end of the hotel.. Don't let this put anyone off they are minor observations and the location is excellent adjacent the marina and old town

Try lunch in the little restaurant in the cove near the hotel (Esplanada Santa Maria). Lovely BBQ fish and meat with a reasonable house white at €6 a bottle (no its not a mistake!). Hire or get a free bike and cycle to Guincho Beach (30-40 mins) on cycle paths along Atlantic Highway.... fantastic! Walk around back streets of old town near hotel .... lots of little restaurants/bars hidden away. This is quite an upmarket area so pack some nice clothes with you or you will feel out of place!

Cascais is a perfect location if you want history, sophistication, gastronomy, beach, surf, sailing and city (Lisbon). Not many places in Europe can offer this!

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have views or outside areas... try and get one if possible others were facing onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maor1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear maor1502,

Thank you very much for your comment and for giving us the pleasure of your stay. We were happy to know that you also enjoyed our Cidadela Art District since we are the only Hotel in Europe to have one! Your description of Cascais was perfect - a magic villa that offers such a variety of activities, restaurant choices and much more! We do had some events in house during your stay, but ALL our Guests are important to us, so we apologize if you didn't felt it. Give us the pleasure of welcome you back and we will make sure to provide you a memorable stay!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is an amazing Hotel, fronting the Marina in Cascais, the centre and Bay just a 5 minute walk away. I have no hesitation in recommending this Restored Fortress for its stunning design and quiet ambiance,the delightful guestrooms, and superior beds. Well worth having a room with a balcony. The Restaurant looked onto the sea, and had an outdoor balcony The Breakfast was excellent, a great choice too. The Restaurant was open all day until 7 pm. which was fine. This was a disappointment to us, no Evening dining in the Hotel!
. In the Square the Hotel did have a Tapas Restaurant, However there were many good Restaurants nearby , especially along the cobbled streets opposite the Forte. Finally all the Staff were most helpful,& considerate, Cascais itself is very pretty and surrounding coast to Sintra well worth a visit, A lovely Hotel. Emily 746

Room Tip: room with a balcony looking onto garden ,upstairs near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Emily746,

Thank you so much for your candid feedback and for sharing it! It is always wonderful to know that our Guests leave us with the best memories! Our Hotel within the Citadel Fortress is really amazing and the combination between historic but also modern architecture, associated to its design, creates a contrast between 'worlds' that complement each other perfectly. Regarding the Restaurant, the one that you mentioned as being in the Main Square belongs to the Hotel and is one of our recommendations for a good meal with us, hope that you try it on your next stay. Greetings from all the team!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had the good fortune to end our self drive tour of Portugal with a final night stay at the Pousada Cascais. In an old fortress fronting the marina, the structure has been renovated to a quality that is comparable to the top hotels in the Far East. The room is huge and very modern. The sitting room at the entrance, is separated from the bedroom, by a very large bathroom This beautiful small apartment overlooks the marina. The staff were both courteous and efficient and parking was not a problem. We did not enjoy either Lisbon or Sintra hotels as much and with the knowledge we now have, we would make Cascais the center of operations and travel to the other two locations. The distance to the airport is the same for Lisbon and Cascais so that removes another issue. The center of Cascais is well supplied with eating places and bars and one feels more at ease strolling at night here than in Lisbon. Pickpockets seem to prefer Lisbon.

Room Tip: Ask for Ist Floor overlooking marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giovanni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear giovanni s,

We loved your comment that perfectly described our Hotel, thank you for taking time to review our property and for sharing it. I am glad to hear that we will be your top choice when you visit Cascais. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Ill be brief but i found this place very over rated. It looks stunning on the approach shining bright white in the sunshine and indeed visually stunning inside too. But it really is a question of design over all else prerequisite in a 5 star hotel - comfort, great views, great facilities and so on. Our suite in the basement although pretty impressive (old powder stores?) had one small velux type window looking into the sky and some nonsensical poem left about staring into the sky - presumably to make up for the lack of sea view? It was claustrophobic and i would not have liked to stay there on my own.

Food was not great, swimming pool tiny and semi inside, next to dining room.

But ,most of all nothing seems to be comfortable. The bar was huge (visually stunning again) but service poor, and chairs uncomfortable, the sofas in our suite not comfortable either. To be fair the bed was very comfortable.

Maybe the rooms upstairs overlooking the sea/marina might be better - certainly lighter.. But i think the are some fundamental flaws in this place..maybe have a look round, some lunch.

Room Tip: Not a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Jessica C,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our upper management. We will soon have a new outdoor pool and we would also like you to try another room, since we do have 8 different typologies, so it would be an honour if you could give us the pleasure of welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,251 reviews
1 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#16 of 39 in Cascais
729 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Address: Avenida D. Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range: £90 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Cidadela Cascais – Pousada & Art District is a 5-star hotel located in Cascais. It is part of the Pestana Collection Hotels and one of the first hotels in Europe to have an Art District on site. This historic hotel is surrounded by studios, galleries, and museums with views of the sea and the Cascais marina. It is located 3 minutes on foot from the beach and 5 minutes on foot from the town centre. It is very close to various beaches, including the surfers' paradise, Guincho beach, parks, museums, shopping centres and the Casino do Estoril. Take a dip at the indoor swimming pool with views of the marina or the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by the Fortaleza gardens. Discover Déjà Lu, our charity bookstore, our Spa and the state of the art gym. For your enjoyment, we offer two restaurants and a bar. From the rooms with incredible views of the marina to the rooms located in more historic areas of the fort, spark your curiosity and choose one of the many Author's rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing