We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful Hotel! Service is exceptional. All speak English and are extremely friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Hotel is beautiful. Position was good. Breakfast is good as well as room service. Highly recommend for a pleasant stay.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank LizelNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear LizelNic,

"Highly recommend for a pleasant stay." Wow! What more can we ask for? Thank you so much for sharing your experience in our Hotel! We were all delighted with your kind words and for describing so well our service and facilities. We'll be anxiously waiting to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

I love the look of the hotel, the designer have dome a magnificent job of carving out a hotel from the old cidadela, the square in front of the hotel is a spectacular view.

But the inside is a rabbit warren without a real sense of place, there in a small inside pool that is at best OK, and you have every chance of being mugged by a seagull by the bar.

I am sure many will like this hotel but its just not for me

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank IanWhiteUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear IanWhiteUK,

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Please note that this information has been passed on to our management staff. In few weeks we will have a new outdoor swimming pool and our only wish is that you give us the honour to welcome you back on a return visit to Cascais so we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Brilliant location in the small town of Cascais. We had a Junior suite which was absolutely lovely, it was HUGE!!!

The roof terrace is a lovely little sun trap with a pool. Towels are supplied for the pool area.

The breakfast area is up on the terrace with great views over the marina.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Carly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Carly L,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our Hotel, location and facilities. On your next stay you will enjoy even more since we are now building an outdoor swimming pool that I bet you will love, so... we all hope to welcome you back to the hotel real soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This Pousada is a perfect place to stay. The staff are so very friendly and helpful with all the politeness which is so typical of the Portuguese people.
The location is excellent overlooking the ocean and marina. Breakfast was delicious and taken on the terrace looking out over the marina. A beautiful historic site which has been carefully and lovingly refurbished to a wonderful hotel. Our room was exceptionally comfortable and large and we were welcomed with a chilled bottle of bubbly and strawberries and dipping chocolate in the room. The cleanliness of the Pousada is outstanding and the restaurant in the courtyard is a gem - delicious food in peaceful and relaxing surroundings. We will definitely return to this amazing Pousada. Thank you to all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear mosephine,

Thank you so much for such kind words and wonderful and also detailed feedback. Thank you also for sharing it! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will be sure to let our staff know how much of an impact they made on your experience. We are all anxiously waiting to welcome you back soon, we will be pleased to be your choice hotel in Cascais!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a relatively new pousada with an interesting blend of new interior and old building. The location is excellent, short walk into town and yet in a quiet zone. We booked a room with balcony but initially were shown one with a fully enclosed patio with no view of anything. We asked to be moved and were immediately shown an alternative which was satisfactory. The desk clerk and the doorman were very friendly and accommodating. Parking is an unexpected and disappointing 20 euros per day in a public lot close by, there is no on site facility or accommodation on the price. The all day restaurant was in a good location with sea views. By and large the staff were most pleasant and the food was generally good. The main restaurant is in another building on site and the one meal we had there was excellent. The pool is indoor/outdoor and the surrounds to sun bathe etc are quite small.A room with sea view is recommended .

Room Tip: sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank maurice1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear maurice1939,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that few things did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our management. Soon we will have another outdoor swimming pool with plenty of space to enjoy the view and sun. We do hope you give us another chance as we will look forward to hear your feedback about the new pool.

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lovely atmosphere and design, the poolarea is great for lazy days in the sun. Nice and quiet with great surroundings. The breakfast is awesome as well as the service! We had a funky smell in our bathroom after showering though... The restaurant in the patio has lovely portuguise tapas, try them out!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ElinmedE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear ElinmedE,

What a great review, thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel! I will be sure to let our staff know that they made such an impact during your stay. We do hope to have you back on your next trip to Cascais!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is definitely over rated. Well the location is not bad and the building of the hotel looks stylish but ..There is no parking provided so you have to park your car or at the payed parking which costs at least 20€ per day or find free parking on the street if you are lucky
The bathroom in our room was not clean properly.In the corners was all dirt and mold.
At the breakfast coffee is horrible and in the buffet are flies sitting on the food.
In case of any need from housekeeping there is a risk you never get what you ask.
We stayed in the ,,artistic'
room. At 4 o'clock in the morning the plate with the information about the artist decorated our room feld down making us scared.
The only we liked in the hotel is friendly and helpful reception.
Thank you!
Over all the hotel does not coast money in the price list.Actually the room and service do not deserve more then 3 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marishkam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear marishkam75,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are imperative to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Please accept our truly apologies for the things that you least enjoyed. Our only wish is that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations and welcome you in the near future!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 40 in Cascais
840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 40 in Cascais
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 40 in Cascais
1,260 reviews
1 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#15 of 40 in Cascais
750 reviews
1 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range: £86 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Cidadela Cascais – Pousada & Art District is a 5-star hotel located in Cascais. It is part of the Pestana Collection Hotels and one of the first hotels in Europe to have an Art District on site. This historic hotel is surrounded by studios, galleries, and museums with views of the sea and the Cascais marina. It is located 3 minutes on foot from the beach and 5 minutes on foot from the town centre. It is very close to various beaches, including the surfers' paradise, Guincho beach, parks, museums, shopping centres and the Casino do Estoril. Take a dip at the indoor swimming pool with views of the marina or the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by the Fortaleza gardens. Discover Déjà Lu, our charity bookstore, our Spa and the state of the art gym. For your enjoyment, we offer two restaurants and a bar. From the rooms with incredible views of the marina to the rooms located in more historic areas of the fort, spark your curiosity and choose one of the many Author's rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing