We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and warm short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful and warm short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We loved this hotel. Stayed as a family with our two adult children (22& 19). Setting is inside a historic fort, and the architecture is amazing. The rooms are very modern but beautifully and sympathetically embedded into the structure of the fort.
The location is in the heart of Cascais which as a destination offered far more en we remembered from our last visit about 17 years ago.
Staff were very helpful and warm, we all felt very looked after. There is a lovely pool technically indoor but completely opened onto a terrace, but our favorite place to sunbathe was the sun deck which had incredible views out to sea over the marina.
During our stay we were challenged to do the ALS ice bucket challenge. The staff sorted everything out and we were able to complete it the the historic court yard of the hotel.

Thank you for a lovely break we hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with balcony which we thought was absolutely gorgeous and very near the breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Colette E,

Thank you so much for your candid feedback and for giving us the honour to host you after your first visit to Cascais, seventeen years ago. It was a pleasure having you with us and to know that we've exceeded your expectations was the cherry on the top of the cake, and we are the ones who thank you for being the 'background' of your ALS Ice Bucket Challenge, it was a joy to assist and participate. We'll be anxiously waiting to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    303
    100
    39
    21
See reviews for
213
608
23
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. Rooms were large and cleaned twice a day. Breakfast was perfect, but sometimes had to wait for a table.
The swimming pool was right next to the restaurant and did not have enough sunbeds. There was a roof terrace but it was very exposed and very windy. Kept running out of towels. The new pool...due to open in 3 weeks will make this hotel a fabulous 5* retreat!
The Palace next door was a real find...the tour is a must and the beautiful bar (with THE best views of Cascais) is a wonderful place to end the night.
There was a music festival on in Cascais while we stayed and the music and atmosphere made it very enjoyable especially the trip to get fresh churros most evenings.
Shame there was no free parking at the hotel, as it cost €20 a day to park.
The restaurants and bars in Cascais are plentiful and there was something to suit every pocket. Dom Perdo was a real find serving local, fresh, rustic dishes. Best fish stew ever! But the green hut in the park was lovely for a coffee and pastry or sandwich too.
The lovely park opposite the hotel did free bike rentals and there is a brand new cycle track to Gauchino Beach (40 minute cycle) was a great place to watch the surfers!
Getting the train to Esterill was very enjoyable and if you carry onto to Lisbon there is loads to see and do, including a trip on the trams!

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms overlooking the courtyard. A huge double for us and a twin for our children. The wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Su A,

What a 'wonderful' review, thank you for sharing your stay with us and for being your elected Hotel during your stay in Cascais! Our new outdoor swimming pool will indeed be another plus and we look forward to welcome you again so you can have the chance to enjoy the new relaxing area!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Built into a coastal fort that includes the presidents summer palace, museum and arts centre. We opted for a basic room but it was large and finished to a high standard with a large bath room. The walls were so thick that it made the room quirt and cool so we hardly used the air con.

The breakfast was a high quality buffet type but the room was frequently very busy. The courtyard restaurant was good quality and value especially the tapas and as with the rest of the hotel the staff were friendly and helpful.

Cascais, especially within 10 mins walk has good beaches and at least 40 restaurants that do great seafood, there are free museums and a good coastal walks both north and south.

Lisbon only 40 mins away on a punctual, cheap train.

In the UK we don't see much of Portugals wine but I can highly recommend the reds even the house wines were of good quality.

Our 10 day summer holiday was very enjoyable, we did have to buy a cheap kettle for the essential early morning tea!

Room Tip: The basic rooms are ok, I don't think many of the rooms have a good view it's just not that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Tony K,

You cannot imagine how glad we are to be described as a ‘Distinctive Hotel’... it is due to special Guests like you, thank you so much for your kind comments and for your ‘traveler's tips’ that will surely be most helpful! We feel honored for having being your ‘home’ in Cascais during your holidays in Portugal and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

The highlights were definitely the architecture and the breakfast. We got quite a good deal, however I imagine you might be a bit disappointed at full price. Our room looked onto the courtyard and there wasn't much light and it was quite a walk from the breakfast room. We ate at the restaurant one evening and it was good food, however the service wasn't fabulous. Despite all these things the breakfast was amazing and particularly special if you could get a table on the terrace. It is in a good location for getting into Lisbon and the village itself has some good restaurants. Try to get up early to take advantage of the free bicycles available on the cycle path along the coast.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Harriet C,

Thank you for spending your time to write about your experience with us! We were sorry to know that there were aspects that you liked least but we were happy that you enjoyed the overall service. We'll be waiting for a next visit so we can be worthy of your 5 stars rate!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Room 400 is a nice Appartement with balcony to the pool and enough space, for € 150,-.
Room 410 is just a double bed and very very small, also the bathroom was not so clean, window out to the street. For € 120,- i expect more.

The staff was very friendly and nice, the pool ok to relax and a good choice for those who do not like full beaches and the cold atlantic.

You go just 10 minutes to the centre.
And it was very nice that we could put our lagguge after check out in their luggage room.

Room Tip: Room 400 is big and very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PurpleVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Ok, we had arrived from the wild beauty of Sagres, and the truly exquisite, and superbly managed Pousada there. Cascais is billed as a step up, a five star dream. Eh.....no. They had allocated the kids a room at the back of the hotel, us, a room with, quote, courtyard view. Problem was, the backyard had the double bed, the courtyard, the two singles. So, the kids got the view, we got the bedlam of a first floor, facing the back, and the delivery entrance. At over 200 euro a night, not quite magic. Breakfast was a floor show, with a variety of stuffy, pompous types, bedecked in the white Pousada robes, all vying for the best table. Hilarious, and if you want coffee, bring your own. A long wait for your cup...the over styled bathroom, is particularly un user friendly, with a frankly ridiculous shower arrangement. Sorry, wild horses and all that.......

Room Tip: Stay away from anything beginning with 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Steve C,

Thank you for your candid feedback. We are very disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please email us with a phone number or email address so our Hotel Manager can discuss your issues personally.

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Wonderful Pousada...old on the outside and new on the inside. We stayed for 3 nights in a Junior Suite. Very spacious, modern and minimalist.

Staff were charming and helpful.

There is a pool put it is quite small and right next to the breakfast room. You might want to leave your morning swim until after breakfast service has finished!

It is only a 5 minute walk into the centre and a 10/15 minute walk to the train station.

We will definitely stay again and would happily recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldCourthouseGallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Mozartonholiday,

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to the pool, I'm pleased to inform you that we are currently undergoing renovations and that we will have another pool, an outdoor one by the end of this month. You must come back and visit us soon to check out our renovations!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Property: Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing