We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,603)
Filter reviews
1,603 results
Traveller rating
938
437
141
56
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
938
437
141
56
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the marina within the walls old fortress citadel walls historic setting taberna da indoor pool rooms are modern unique hotel breakfast restaurant sun deck small window superior room breakfast room stayed longer lovely town excellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 1,603 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Fantastic hotel. One of the best we've stayed in. The position inside the Citadella is great because it's so central. The whole art centre is interesting and the art inside the hotel is wonderful, particularly the flight of swallows in the lobby. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jenniferangelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear Ms. jenniferangelam,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and to know that you wish to return to our Hotel.
We look forward to welcome you in a very near future.
Best Regards
Joana Soeiro
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Its location and modern infrastructure are top level.
We would have stayed longer if possible, but personal affairs intervened. We gladly recommend the hotel as a ideal starting point for visits to the many interesting places nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 680franst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odete F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear 680franst,
The Pestana Cidadela Cascais would like to thank you for your excellent review.
We would also like to say that your most kind words gaves us a great feeling of happiness and proud.
We are all very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the stay with us and we look forward to welcome you once again.
Best regards,
Joana Soeiro
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

My husband and I stayed at Pestana Cidadela Cascais whilst on our honeymoon in Portugal. It was also my Birthday during our stay. We would like to thank every member of staff at this exquisite hotel for making us feel so special and welcome! The service was exceptional, the grounds were impeccable, the location was perfect, and the facilities were excellent. We have already recommended Pestana Cidadela Cascais to friends and family! Words cannot express how much we enjoyed ourselves. Thank you so much for making our stay so magical! We look forward to staying at our new favourite hotel again soon! Muito obrigada!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank genevievedacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanaSoeiro, General Manager at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Mrs. Costa,

Thank you again for choosing us for your honeymoon stay and for sharing your experience online.
Achieving guests expectation is our daily mission.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay at Pestana Cidadela Cascais.
With my best regards

Joana Soeiro
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

A superb hotel in a superb location . Service at all levels was excellent . Not really child or disabled friendly but it is difficult given that the hotel was once a fortress. Certainly an experience and one we were pleased to experience

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank merfyn_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanaSoeiro, General Manager at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Mr Thomas
Thank you very much for sharing your experience online. We appreciate your comments but also your recognition and understanding regarding the building adaptation. Being a 17th century building gives as a unique identity.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Joana Soeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

For me a 5 star hotel means comfort and anticipation of my needs and I'm afraid this hotel, although aesthetically pleasing, did not deliver.

The good points.... Gorgeous adaption of old fort. We really loved the older features that we discovered as we found our way around, especially discovering the exit to the marina.

Everywhere looks stunning but there is a large element of style over function. Seating everywhere was very stylish but upright and uncomfortable.

Breakfast restaurant and staff were exceptional. Fabulous coffee and poached eggs to order on the balcony overlooking the marina were a highlight. Just watch out for the seagulls.....they like bacon sandwiches!

The bad....
On checking in we our party of three adults spent the first night of a 7 night stay in a superior balcony room. The room looked fabulous but ....The bed was so hard & uncomfortable I slept on the sofa. the clothes storage space for 3 adults was 2 drawers and 45cm of hanging space with 10 hangers. Just about Ok for a weekend but not for 7 nights for 3 people. To be fair when I spoke to reception in the morning, we were shown another room with double the clothes storage space and additional mattress toppers which proved very comfortable.

We asked for Our dinner reservations to be made at multiple restaurants a week before our arrival. These were confirmed but on arriving at our first restaurant we discovered all the reservations had been made for two, not three. So on our first night we ended up at the local curry house........ Not quite our idea of a Portuguese holiday. All the reservations were subsequently altered for us, but having carefully researched and planned our itinerary we perhaps should have just booked everything ourselves.

The bar lacks atmosphere and Service. We sat in there on two separate occassions and no on came to ask if we'd like drink. Rather like a soulless waiting room.

The pool areas were lacking.... Benches without mattresses - we saw several people taking cushions from their rooms to try to get comfortable. I personally used around 3 towels layered up to try to make up for the lack of a mattress. No drinks service. Indoor pool had been designed with an opening roof but it was never opened, and didn't look like it had been for a year or two. Outdoor pool tiny and freezing.

In our other stays at "leading hotels of the world" we have been treated with premium brand toiletries such as l'occitane, Molton brown and bulgari but pestana own brand was another disappointment here.

It Could have been fabulous but too many niggles, mistakes and discomforts to recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teamfordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanaSoeiro, General Manager at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Guests,
The Pestana Cidadela Cascais takes this opportunity to thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your family holiday.
Your opinion is very important for us and we feel very sorry to hear that we did not manage to meet your expectations totally. Your detailed comments regarding all of the facilities will be properly considered.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,

Joana Soeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews