We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Cant They All be like this”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apeadeiro

Apeadeiro
Ranked #44 of 529 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Why Cant They All be like this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Perhaps not the most eye catching or appealing façade on the planet but once you have the food in front of you, it doesn't matter in the least.

Hidden away from the main tourist centre of Cascais this place serves up amazing food at the right price, that's a proper meal including starters, desert and wine for much the same the flaccid tasteless cheese covered pizzas you will find in the main drag. Plus the selection of wine is of a quality usually not seen in all but the snazziest places.

Staff are very friendly and a whole experience is was a pleasure.
Should my travels take me back to neck of the woods ,, I will be dropping in for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gcadogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    56
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great grilled fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

In my opinion, this is the best restaurant in the area to eat grilled fish. From sardines to sea-bass, first quality ocean fish simply grilled and accompanied with vegetables.
Friendly staff, good prices. Very good.

Helpful?
Thank Cecco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This restaurant is away from the tourist traps of the water front of Cascais. The staff made us welcome even though we arrived late for lunch. One of the staff showed us the fresh fish and made recommendations. We had cuttle fish. My partner had it with 'paint' ink. Both kinds were delicious. The dishes were accompanied by potatoes and onions. You do not need anything else.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We really liked that it was away from the main bustle of old town Cascais, so parking was easy and free. We went on a Tuesday and it was at least half full of portugese locals (aoways a good sign). The house white was really good and we enjoyed all the fish and seafood dishes, particularly the baby squid and the grilled cuttlefish. I disliked the bacalau and octupus dish but my husband loved it. I think I'd forgotten how strong the taste of re-hydrated salt cod is. The only thing off-putting was that a football match was on throughout but this is not unusual in non-touristy places. Very good value at 46 euros for 3 main course size dishes + 1 litre wine. The baby potatoes in their skins were delicious but don't expect a lot of other veg / salad unless ordered separately. Closed Mondays.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Portuguese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Real Portuguese restaurant. Not posh but really good food and value for money. Recommend the Iberian Black Pork.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wiganduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apeadeiro also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Apeadeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing