We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising”
Review of Albergaria Valbom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergaria Valbom
Ranked #37 of 42 Cascais B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very disappointed with this has to be a 1 star hotel which we booked through Agoda.
The Agoda website stated that it provided, “unrivalled services and amenities,” and to “Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Hotel Valbom,” yet the rooms did not have a TV, fridge, tea and coffee making or anything other than a bathroom, toilet and beds. The Wi-Fi did not work on the first day and evening and is available only in the lobby, and the airconditioner did not work the first evening because it was not on at the mains but the night manager did not know how to switch it on, he offered for us to change rooms at 10.30pm.
The hotel, which did not even have a sign, is old and worn, it was noted that the fire extinguisher on the wall was out of gas pressure and there are no smoke detectors. The view from our room was terrible.
It was our last two days of a 6 weeks trip and we wanted our last days to be better for good memories but this was not to be and we wanted to move out for the last night and pay more for a better hotel, however the manager, although appearing apologetic said he would have to still charge us for the second night even though he admitted the website information was not correct, he maintained that the information was written by booking.com, and said the owner was not contactable.
Position and cleanliness were the only redeeming factors, (but all previous hotels were clean).
Not recommended, even at a better price.

Room Tip: Don't even try
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swannies_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

I generally liked to stay here. The check in was allright, elevator worked, A/C is old, but worked well, the location is EXCELLENT. Few steps from the trainstation and the busstation (located in front of the trainstation under (basement of) the full glass shopping center). Small negatives are: no view from the window, red Leatherette furnitures (back to the 70's?), but it was ok for 35 euro in Cascais.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyarstomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I recently visited this hotel with a view to arranging a group stay. Having visited many hotels in Cascais/Estoril, I was shocked! Especially when I later looked at their website, and did not recognise any of the photographs as being the hotel I had just visited. There are several reviewers photos on this site which give a more accurate depiction of what to expect. If looking for something more of the standard of a backpackers hostel, then this is it. Unfortunately the prices do not reflect the actual standard.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
5  Thank kaylin0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The present owners of this EX-hotel has placed the pics of the previous luxury at booking.com. Reality is awful. There is even no name of Albergaria Valbom at that building. Inside it looks like Young Pioneer camp in USSR or even worse. Old worn furniture, lamps without bulbs AND two separate taps (for cold and hot water) in the bath-room! I could not imagine that such rooms and service can be offered in Europe. And they still have a piece of paper at the door with "epitaph" that IT IS a 4**** Hotel! I think that it is some sort of illegal practice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katekiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

dirty bathroom, black mildew on all silicon joints
very old fashion hotel
no TV
needs a big refreshment

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

The hotel was clean and neat. The location is great! Just in the center of cascais.. 3min walking to shops, mall, beach and train station. It has a very small parking lot (so you might be lucky cause it's crazy to park in the city center!). The negative points: double rooms have 2 beds and not 1 doubled bed. It's a noisy during the night (some fans on the back of the hotel)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diana09brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

This hotel is the worst ive stayed at i would have left but had no option. most lights in my room did not work, furniture all chipped, stain on bed covers, electric sockets hanging out of walls, and floor carpets may have walked out on their own.

breakfast was basic but good and lounge is nice. They adverise wifi but you cant get it in rooms and you have to sit at a certain place in the lounge to use it you have to pay for it.

They have obviously re-furbished the lounge to give a good impression and for the internet pictures but the rooms bear no resemblance to the pictures.

The rooms need completely re-furbished to reach a basic standard

3  Thank redy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.3 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.6 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#6 of 17 in Estoril
481 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria Valbom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria Valbom

Address: Avenida Valbom 14, Cascais 2750-508, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergaria Valbom 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Albergaria Valbom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Valbom Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing