We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Likely, not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VillaCascais Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 39 Cascais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Likely, not 5 star”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed six nights there. The hotel is divided in two buildings. We stayed at Estalagem Villa Albatroz that is closer to the Cascais Citadel. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, you have free toiletries, the staff is great and the service is fabulous but overall the hotel lacks many things. It's expensive. Very. Then it's old and needs to be taken care of and renovated. Bathrooms and windows look old. The breakfast is very basic. Think twice when selecting a place to stay in Cascais. And the most important thing, probably, this building doesn't have a Wi-Fi connection! It's 2013, isn't it? Internet is available for free in the 2nd building that is 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Try to climb higher. The 3rd floor has good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arazinkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    36
    12
    2
    8
See reviews for
16
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mjcon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location by the sea. We had room 5, which is very small but has a good view and a big bathroom. Unfortunately it is directly above the restaurant, and so it's noisy and smelly until quite late. It didn't help that the staff we clattering about and singing after hours, and then it all starts up again as they prepare breakfast. The breakfast was OK and the reception staff were very pleasant. People in rooms on higher floors had fewer noise problems, so we were just unlucky.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 or any at the front above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This originally a house but refurbish become a boutique villa. We had a room in the corner and it was facing the beach, very nice. The location very perfect and the room was pretty with Portuguese tiles. The bad thing was about the Wifi since we had to go to the main hotel for connection, many guests has complained about this but no change so far

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvy P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
242 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not to be confused with its sister hotel the Albatross, which is of a completely different standard and quality.

Our room had a very aspect overlooking the bay and was light and airy. The bathroom was a fully tiled one in Portuguese fashion, but that was done many years ago. Really an update is now needed.

The receptionist who met us was exceptionally friendly and helpful. He offered to park our car, as space in the car park at the front was limited.

Wifi was not available or working, so we went to the sister hotel, the Albatroz, to use theirs. In fact we stayed to have dinner there, which was excellent and wished we had booked in there.

Breakfast at the Villa Alb in the morning was poor. Croissants were good, but not much else. Only a buffet seemed available and it was tired.

Next time, we will try the sister hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

What a great find. This charming boutique villa hotel was a perfect retreat from wind ravaged golf courses our group of eight played. Extremely helpful. Positively welcoming. Delightful, thoughtful and considerate service. They even tolerated our late night terrace singing! Staff constantly smiled and exuded warmth becoming of a super little hotel. Particular mention must be made of Mr Joao Monteiru our receptionist who left an indelible mark on our tour with a depth of kindness and consideration one all to rarely sees at 5 star hotels. If you're in Cascais then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cards68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

My wife and I keep comming back to this nice hotel almost every year for the last seven years.
It is a very cozy place in a very good location. It has very few rooms all decorated wit taste. In terms of
room views, sho shoul clarify at the time of booking what you are being offered. The location is very good, however there is no parking on the premises, and the centric location makes parking your car a bit complicated. The staff does it's best
to helpyou solve the problem. Having said this, I firmly believe this hotel does not deserve the five star rating it has.
I agree with someone giving it a three and a half stars. Finally I do recommend it.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jose Manuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Couple, 56 and 61, visited 15 - 18 May 2013, approximately £98 B&B per night.

For those wishing to escape the anonymous hotel blocks of Lisbon, some 40 minutes away by frequent suburban train there is lovely Cascais and the Villa Albatroz. It is a 6 minute stroll from the (terminus) train station, but not to be confused with the Hotel Albatroz, which is its posher and more expensive nearby sister. The Villa enjoys a prominent position above a sandy beach and is central for all of Cascais' shops and restaurants.. It has loads of character and the room came with a sea view, but without a balcony. It had a fine large bathroom and the bed was large and comfortable. Some of the decor and paintwork had minor chips and bashes, and maybe this should have been better for a 4-star rating. However, this was our only small niggle - ah, plus the switch for the hair dryer which was impossible to locate, requiring some help from the ever-willing staff to find - otherwise we were very happy bunnies. The breakfast was a bit minimalist, consisting of choice of two cereals (but no cold milk?), breads, meat and cheese, coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit. Some tepid scrambled eggs and bacon appeared occasionally, but not really enough for all the guests. By way of compensation, the dining area had lovely views across the small bay, and the staff were - to a person - friendly and helpful. We ate in the Villa on one of the nights, and the food was very good, though from a fairly limited pizza and pasta style menu. It was noticeable that many of the dinner guests were Portuguese, and it was packed, so we guessed that this was a good commendation. The table service was superb, and the wine reasonably priced (£10 for a waited bottle of Dao). Cascais has a good selection of bars and restaurants and is neat and tidy (little of the graffiti that blights Lisbon), and felt safe to walk about in. We would definitely come here again, and would recommend staying in Cascais and the Villa Albatroz as a great way of sightseeing in Lisbon, but with a coastal-holiday feel to a short break.
Three travel tips -
(1) get the Lisbon Card at the TI booth at the airport. It cost 39 Euros each for a 72 hour pass and paid for three return rail journeys to Cascais, tubes, trams, and discounted bus journeys, and an estimated saving of 16 Euros in entrance charges.
(2) give the Botanic Gardens at Belem a miss, as it is a rip-off, even at a 2 Euros entrance charge. Groomed near the ticket office, it gradually decays into absolute ruination the further into it you go - it is enough to make nature-lovers weep!
(3) watch out for pickpockets in the old trams especially (full of tourist rich-pickings), but otherwise enjoy lovely Lisbon!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view. Our room 9 had a view of the sea, but backwards towards Estoril, but there are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collidug134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.5 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#12 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VillaCascais Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VillaCascais Guesthouse

Property: VillaCascais Guesthouse
Address: Rua Fernandes Thomas 1, Cascais 2750-342, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — VillaCascais Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique villa in the centre of a special village. Once an aristocratic residence of the 19th century, today a small luxury guesthouse with 11 luxurious rooms located on the Bay of Cascais, in the historical centre and next to the Fisherman's Beach. VillaCascais is where you can enjoy the magic of Cascais, the small houses, narrow alleyways, cobblestone pavements, the smell of the sea and the faded lights... everything that characterizes this village. This charming guesthouse offers elegant accommodation, with a mix of modern and vintage decor. VillaCascais features fine outdoor dining providing guests with stunning views of the bay and the village. The restaurant - Reserva by Olivier - has strong Portuguese influences, based on the best quality national ingredients. An expansive drink by the glass wine list, carefully hand-picked, gives it its distinctive character. Transfers from and to the Lisbon airport can be arranged on request. The Cascais Train Station is a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your VillaCascais Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Albatroz Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing