We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet family complex with good facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Bicuda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Bicuda Resort
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Quiet family complex with good facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Vila Bicuda is a mix of privately owned and hotel run villas. We've just returned from a week in a privately owned villa, so can only comment on location and general surroundings of the complex, which we found to be clean and well kept.

There 24 hour security and a pool attendant on duty. There are two pools, but we only used the one nearest our villa as there were always plenty of sun loungers. The swimming pool itself has a large paddling area which was perfect for our children aged 6 and 4. There are changing rooms and toilets by the pool and you can buy ice creams there.

The supermarket is well stocked, if a little expensive, and is open until 8pm. The nearest Lidl supermarket is a good 15 minute walk away. There is also a cash machine on site.

There is a restaurant, small cafe and a wine bar which has outdoor seating. We ate lunch at the cafe and it was more than adequate. We didn't use the wine bar, but it looked quite pleasant. We also ate in the restaurant and had a very pleasant (but on the expensive side) meal, with great service although we were one of only two families there that night!

The playground is not much to write home about - but it kept the kids happy for a bit.

LOCATION: Vila Bicuda is quite a way from Cascais town centre. We travelled without a car but regularly used the hourly bus service which stops outside the complex. The price did vary depending on the driver - sometimes we were charged for the children, but mostly we weren't. A single journey was EURO 2.20 per person. A taxi was just as cheap for the 4 of us at around EURO 6-7. The bus also goes to Guincho Beach.

We did look at booking through the hotel to be nearer the pool, but it worked out more expensive than booking privately and it appeared the hotel wanted to charge lots of extras. All in all, a pleasant place to stay, but do think carefully about the location. For us it was fine without a car, but there is not much within walking distance and a car may be more suitable for some!

Room Tip: Hotel owned villa's over look the pool, but privately owned villa's may offer better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank neilbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita M, Manager at Vila Bicuda Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,
We thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Vila Bicuda.
However, we would like to draw your attention to the fact that it is absolutely forbidden, by the portuguese law, to rent private houses for short periods in the same condominium where a resort is located.
We count on your understanding and we look forward to welcome you at the Vila Bicuda Resort in a near future.
Kind regards,
Rita Alves Martins
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    88
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
115
75
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We have just returned from a week at this self catering resort and despite the weather being a bit on the chilly side (the pool was freeeeezing) we had a fantastic week. My wife, 8yr old son and I had a two bed villa with a terrace overlooking the pool, very clean, modern and considerably spacious (plus a bathroom each!) The in-laws had a studio which was so spacious but located closer to reception / the commercial area. This resort is so suitable for families, it may be remote (taxi into Cascais around 5 Euros) but it has a very well stocked supermarket and an absolute superb bakery / cafe, our son loved his daily cake trip ! The wine bar / restaurant is really nice and very reasonable. The staff on site were so helpful, good English and excellent restaurant recommendations. Only negatives being the stairs in the villas can be quite dangerous, our son banged his head on the ground floor just as we departed plus no wifi in the villas (even if you pay) and with iPhones, iPads etc these days I think this is essential. Strongly recommend, Cascais and the surrounding area is beautiful, you must go to Guincho Beach !

Room Tip: Families of 3/4, go for the two storey villas over looking the pool, guaranteed sun late afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom single story villa and it was very spacious and comfortable for 2 people. The kitchen has all the bit required (oven, hob, microwave, kettle and coffe perculator).Lots of facilities on site (great bakery, mini-supermarket, 2 restaurants, laundry, free wi-fi in reception, swimming pool.) An ideal place for a couple, or a family, who want a change from hotel-style accommodation and appreciate having a bit more space and independance. Hire car is a definite advantage, but you can walk down to the coast in about 30 minutes. Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_McCNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed rooms villa with swimming pool view. You have everything in the kitchen. We cooked the dinner and breakfast. A very good place for family and friends. Easyly drive to Lisboa, Sintra, and roca. A little far from the Cascais center, only by taxi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Blue Mountains, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed at Vila Bicuda for 3 nights in February, 2013. We found the units to be very spacious and clean and, as it was February, did not worry about the pool, etc., as we were gone most of the day. We had a car rental, which I would think would be essential, and we drove everywhere - up to Sintra, over to Estoril, Guincha beach. We had been travelling for 6 weeks so it was a relief to come back to such a spacious place where we could just relax and 'do our own thing' without having to worry about being in a traditional hotel. The staff were helpful, the laundry service very accommodating to give me one day service and people seemed to be enjoying the coffee shop and other amenities. I would recommend this complex to anyone who wants to use it as a base from which to see the area, or just to relax with their family.

Room Tip: If you get one of the end units you will have a bit more privacy than if you are in a middle one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aileen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed in Vila Bicuda last week - as all previous reviews state, villas are clean, spacious & well equiped - central reception area with great bakery/coffee shop, a great buzz morning & evening in plaza, well stocked supermarket - excellent value all close at 7!
Onsite restaurant, had great grilled prawns starter but overall v. disappointing but then I wasn't big fan of portugese food I'm afraid.
Wifi & DVD player extras...
Rental car a must to get around... staff friendly... very quiet in Oct, which was perfect however figure our 3 yr old would have loved same age company! Perfect for family vacation... patio within feet of the swimming pool area...
Would def go back if it wasn't for service at Lisbon airport, over an hour to check in & then rush to get to our gate!
Highly recommend visit to Pena Castle in Sintra (DRIVE DO NOT WALK) & Oceanarium in Lisbon, fabulous... Overall a relaxing week was had...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHQ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

An awesome resort that caters for all. We stayed in T0 which was still huge for just two of us. The bathrooms could do with some upgrading, but overall pleasant and clean! The coffee shop served awesome portuguese goodies, so that was a nice start to the day. Being slightly far from the city, we called on taxis daily to take us to town. They came almost immediately and the cost was minimal. I wish i could've stayed longer to enjoy the salon and boutique offerings. We did send some clothes for laundry, this gets done off site, so took longer than would have been expected. The clothes returned unironed. Not a big issue, just a communication error. Otherwise the reception was well run, very organised and always helpful. The resort is huge, and the map not that easy to read, great if you can spend a week there!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pipsa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Bicuda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Bicuda Resort

Property: Vila Bicuda Resort
Address: Rua dos Faisoes, Cascais 2750-689, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cascais
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Bicuda Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An election place. Exclusive location between Cascais Center and Guincho Beach, the ideal location for rest or action. Located right in the heart of Sintra Cascais Natural Park, a sense of calm can be felt at Vila Bicuda, blended with golf, tennis, horse riding and water sports such as sailing, surfing, windsurfing and kitesurfing. Nearby Estoril, Sintra and Lisbon, you are surrounded by numerous exciting things to do like shopping, casino, culture, castles, white sandy beaches and tasteful gastronomy. With all the comfort. Luxury villas in a superb resort in Cascais. Fully equipped with ar conditioning, cable tv, free wifi, kitchen and terraces. You will find the following conveniences: 2 swimming pools with landscaped gardens, cafeteria and bakery with terrace, restaurant, supermarket,laundry service, hairdresser and children playground. 24 Studios | 15 One Bedroom Villas | 19 One Bedroom Villas Duplex | 12 Two Bedroom Villas | 9 Three Bedroom Villas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Bicuda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Bicuda Cascais
Vila Bicuda Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing