We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique design”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Farol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farol Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique design”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The lobby design in very contemporary with low sofas and a flat screen tv of a runway show looping 24/7. The staff was exceptionally helpful and the hotel is a short fabulous walk from the city center and marina. The sushi is some of the best I have ever had. I was disappointed by the rooms though. We had a corner room but the car lights from the road were annoying and the bed was not comfortable. If the weather had been a little warmer, the pool area among the rock wall on the ocean would have been a dramatic place to be. Breakfast buffet was included and a very nice offering of fruits, eggs, breads, etc, but the Nespresso coffee machine was an eyebrow raiser. Cascais is a fabulous little town with many exceptional restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Research your rooms because they very greatly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    205
    67
    29
    19
See reviews for
84
443
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Third time I stayed at the hotel over the last five years and feel that rooms are getting quite dated.
I had a standard room with a good bed but all the rest is unfortunately not quite up to a 5 star standard anymore. Even the breakfast was quite dull while I remembered it being outstanding a couple of years ago. Pool area, location and views are outstanding but after having stayed at other nearby hotels am starting to prefer those for higher comfort and style and just go there for some drinks - which is a pity !

Room Tip: best pool area and best view over the water but avoid standard room since they are not to the expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler_uk_german
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I just stayed at the Farol Design Hotel with my husband for our 1st anniversary.
We got married there a year ago and we went back this weekend.
We had the Ana Salazar suite which is in my opinion the best room in the hotel. Amazing sea view straight from your bed!

The hotel is quite small and the rooms are also not big at all. This one isn't either. The hotel's design rooms are quite different from each other. Last year before the wedding we got to see most of the suites and the thing is: I loved a few and hated some others. It's all about personal preference so just make sure you go with a room you love!
The Ana Salazar suite was my favorite!

The hotel staff is very helpful and they go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.
The bar is cool and the restaurant is great with its fusion style!

Breakfast was disappointing though: not at the 5 star level at all in terms of variety and I am pretty sure things have changed and not for the better since last year.
I believe such a beautiful hotel and a dining room with such a superb view deserved considerable improvement when it comes to breakfast.

Wifi is free but it is a bit complicated to access with frequent timeouts and the need to log in over and over again. But... there are better things to do when staying in such a beautiful location than surfing the web.

All in all the hotel is a little gem with some room for improvement in specific areas.

When it comes to location you cannot do any better in Cascais!

Room Tip: The Ana Salazar suite is the best room in the hotel. Don't hesitate if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanapecorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

When in Lisbon you'll most likely also go to Cascais - a beautiful little fishing village a short train ride north of Lisbon. When you have walked the small coupled streets, enjoyed the sea view, you're probably hungry.
So, instead of choosing one of the many (tourist) restaurants in the centre, take a short 10-15 minutes walk up hill to Capo do Inferno (devil's mouth) to the FAROL DESIGN HOTEL. Here you can enjoy not only a fantastic small design hotel (only 33 rooms), but also an incredible lunch. We had an executive lunch offer of 3 dishes with coffee and sweets for only $ 40. You have an astonishing view of the Atlantic far below. The servie matched the food as did the decoration of the restaurant - I'm sure Salvador Dali would have loved it - just take a look at the photos.
After our lunch we had a look at the hotel - we didn't stay there, we discovered it too late - but next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mogens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Lucrecia and Frederico got married at this hotel..........wow!The design and decor of this hotel is really something.....very modern and ultra chic. The 5 course meal we had was superb. The bedroom decor was completely white....strikingly different and fresh. The wedding ceremony took place at the cliff edge overlooking the sea, this was breathtaking

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucrecia1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

stay in one of the design rooms! although some are a bit small, these rooms are romantic and facing the sea, with an absolutely amazing view! I always love this hotel!
The restaurant is really good, and if you're up for sme sushi, just try it here!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanameg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and made use of different rooms each night since the hotel was not fully booked. Each room is designed by different Portuguese artists as the receptionist told us. We had a lovely see view and just enjoyed staying in our room. There's a nice pool on the terrace which we however didn't use since it was too cold. We enjoyed the hotel restaurant twice and were very satisfied. Yet, drinks a the hotel bar were a bit overpriced. The little village of Cascais is very nice and worth a visit. Taxi to/from Lisbon are not too expensive and the most convenient way to travel around.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam_Chris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
3.9 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farol Hotel

Property: Farol Hotel
Address: Avenida Rei Humberto II de Italia 7, Cascais 2750-800, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#8 Business Hotel in Cascais
#11 Family Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Farol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planted on the edge of the rocks that rise out of the ocean, Farol Hotel is set in a mansion dating back to 1890, formerly owned by the Count of Cabral. In 2002 an extension was built, creating a superb innovative interface between the 19th century original building and the daring new contemporary structure extending over the rocks and offering superb views of the Atlantic and most picturesque sunsets. Unique in concept, the designer rooms originated from an invitation to select top Portuguese fashion designers to "dress a room." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farol Design Cascais
Hotel Farol Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing