We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic location Hotel”
Review of Farol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farol Hotel
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Close to Cascais center this is a perfect lacation to enjoy the region and start many activities from. Mountain biking Sea kayak quad and buggy tours.
Just 8 kms from Guincho beach wich you can easily reach by the beatiful bike lane. many interesting spots on the way (rock formations caves fortresses museums and the mighty atlantic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuinchoAdventours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

I chose the restaurant in the hotel to celebrate my birthday because I am a huge sushi fan and there are no better sushi all over the world, than there. My expectations where not only met but far exceeded, as I tried the delicious scallops and absolutely unbelievable foie gras. I tried a lot in my life, have been all around the world, but The Mix Restaurant is for me now in top 5 restaurants on this planet. Service is excellent, you feel really welcomed and the view doesnt let you breathe calmly... really breath catching... Good job, Farol team, continue like that!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alina Ley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I especially liked the restaurant and the bar, and the fantastic view over the atlantic. There are few rooms that make us feel a design hotel, important to choose the right room. The staff is five star.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Xflatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Cascais has a number of comfortable and well-equipped hotels, but the Farol is unique. Located on the very edge of the Atlantic Ocean, alongside the iconic Santa Marta lighthouse, the Farol has an ambience and identity all of its own. It is centred around a late 19th century villa, originally built for an aristocratic Portugese family, with a bold, modernist extension. It is relatively small, with 33 rooms, each decorated individually. The hotel restaurant opens out onto a terrace, where you can enjoy the constantly changing sounds, sights and smells of the sea. In the grounds there are a sun terrace, saltwater pool and rock gardens. The overall effect is stunning.

The rooms are very comfortable (bathrobes and slippers are provided), the facilities are good, breakfasts offer a good range of fruit, pastries, cold meats and cooked options, and there is free wi-fi throughout. Hotel staff are friendly, responsive and helpful.

The hotel is only a short walk to the marina, local museums (including the Paula Rega Casa das Histórias), the park and the town centre. A walk in the opposite direction takes you to the spectacular Boca do Inferno (where the occultist Aleister Crowley once faked his own death by drowning) and along to the Casa da Guia, a pleasant, wooded clifftop enclave close to the Guia lighthouse.

We had a last-minute problem with our booking, which the hotel management pulled out the stops to solve, ensuring that we had a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday once we arrived. We have stayed at the Farol a number of times in the past, have already booked again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate-and-ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The place is extraordinary and the view to the sea is fantastic.
The hotel staff was very professional and warm.
The room was very good and although it is and old building the interior was well decorated and functional.

Room Tip: garden view is quiet and very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank ruivinhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Farol Design Hotel. We had a very nice time, as the location, views and overall experience are excellent. Staff were all extremely helpful and generally had excellent English which was a welcome surprise. The hotel is just a 10 minute stroll (and I mean stroll - could be quicker if necessary) from the town of Cascais which itself is lovely.
Upon arrival, check in was immediate and pain free, We were then given a guided tour of the hotel while our bags were taken to our room.
We spent nearly the entirety of our first day lazing by the pool, which was unusual for us both, but it was so lovely. We ordered drinks and snacks while we read and generally lounged and were extremely relaxed and well taken care of.
The only reasons I cannot give the full 5 points are that the Farol markets itself as a 5* design hotel and I have a few issues with this. While excellent over all, and there were some things that let it down. As other guests had noted, the bathrooms let the place down. Mostly the hotel looks almost brand new, however the bathrooms are notably dated. Also, hair dryers (built in to said bathroom) are abysmal, which would be such an easy thing to get right.
Also, we ate at the hotel five times (mostly lunch, but with one dinner in The Mix) and I have to say I was a bit disappointed with the food overall. Obviously it wasn't terrible as otherwise we wouldn't have continued to eat there, but it was mostly out of convenience (ie we didn't wish to leave the pool!). The selection was a bit lacking and I bit disappointing for a 5* hotel. Also, when we dined in the restaurant, we noticed that some items from the bar menu we're also on the restaurant menu which was also a bit limiting. My main peeve was that we were charged €8 essentially for a slice of bread each with some olive oil for dipping. As is standard in Portugal, some cheese was brought to the table, but we didn't touch it, but by virtue of having the bread, apparently that meant we were charged for the lot! A minor detail admittedly, but on principle, it didn't leave a good impression. Breakfast, which was included in our rate, again was mostly fine, but without being 5*. For example, I was served a waffles that were rock hard on one occasion, and there was not enough selection for those staying more than a couple of nights not to get bored with what was on offer.
Over all, we would definitely stay here again, but would not bother having dinner in the restaurant as there is better food in the town for a more reasonable price. Aside from the food, the hotel was otherwise lovely, and staff could not have been nicer so I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We didnt pay the extra for the sea views, but our room was lovely nonetheless (although not very &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at this boutique hotel for a a short visit. Its a wonderful and relaxing place. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. The location is breathtaking. Everything about this place is perfection. I will be going back again. Enjoy your visit too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMJ1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,246 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
562 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farol Hotel

Address: Avenida Rei Humberto II de Italia 7, Cascais 2750-800, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#8 Business Hotel in Cascais
#11 Family Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £113 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Farol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the absolute waterfront of Cascais’s dramatic Atlantic coastline, Farol Hotel reflects the unique charm of the township. Delightful old-world houses and cobbled streets frame a graceful bay on Portugal’s spectacular Estoril Coast to tell the story of a bygone era. The capital, Lisbon and the international airport are an easy 35-minute drive along excellent roads. A local train also runs between the city and Cascais. Lisbon is served by full service and budget airlines from all the major European hubs, which include Frankfurt, Paris, London and Zurich plus Stockholm, and Moscow. Arrive fuss-free and in style at Lisbon International Airport with a pre-arranged Farol Hotel limousine to meet you and transfer the short scenic trip to Cascais. As a proud member of prestigious Design Hotels, Farol Hotel is a wonderfully eclectic composition of adventurous architecture that embraces a remodeled 19th century private mansion that was once owned by the Count of Cabral, together with unique contemporary additions. The result is an inspire union of the old and the new. The Farol Hotel has a non-smoking policy in all its areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Farol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farol Design Cascais
Hotel Farol Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing