We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic drinks in the ocean view bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Farol Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic drinks in the ocean view bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a beautiful little boutique hotel right beside the ocean (near the marina) in Cascais. We didn’t stay here and so cannot comment on the rooms. However, while walking by, my wife thought the property looked nice and so we thought we’d stop in for a drink. Little did we know that the drinks, view, and service would be so good that one drink would turn into many. :-) Our waiter/bartender, Riccardo, was the best part of the experience. He was extremely friendly, professional, efficient, and knowledgeable. The bar has a great gin and tonic menu with specialty gins, tonics, and extra ingredients. The beefeater 24 (Beefeater 24, 1724 tonic, fresh ginger, and honey) was delicious and refreshing, as was the Gin Mare with fever tree tonic, mint, and red currents (which Riccardo made off the menu). Also, upon learning that this was our first trip to Portugal and only our second night in the country, Riccardo made a special point of introducing us to some port wine styles and ages. We really had an unexpectedly fun and remarkable few hours at the Farol.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexArcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear TexArcanada,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your visit at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    198
    64
    29
    18
See reviews for
82
435
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
265 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I delayed few days to write this review as I did not want to add too much emotions regarding this terrible visit as my wife and I were very upset.
During our last visit to Portugal we ate at the restaurant of this hotel. From the restaurant and the pool area we could see the rooms, with nice terraces, facing the ocean that looked great and decided to stay one week end at this hotel in our next visit to Portugal.
So, we did and booked a room with an ocean view for 385€ per night, as we could not get a suite. We arrived on Friday a little after 2PM. Our room was not ready so we had lunch at the restaurant. Food was OK so as the service but champagne was warm.
After lunch we were taken to the BASEMENT to a very small room #104 facing some rocks where 30 m away there were some youngsters preparing a picnic. I rejected the room.
Tiago at the front desk said he was sorry but the only other room was on the 3rd floor. This one room 304 has a small window to the ocean. The room requires refurbishing has cheap furniture, cheap linings, terrible green décor. We also refused it. We came down saying that the room was not OK and not meeting the pictures on their site so, if not a good, clean and reasonably maintained ocean view room available we would leave.
Tiago was clear they would be charging me €770 anyway regardless if we would stay or not. Well, they did take a copy of my credit card and driving license on check in.

WE LEFT.
Needless to say that on such a sunny long week end in Cascais we could not find another hotel and were forced to drive back and stay in Lisbon. RUINED OUR WEEK END.

Credit card company was notified today by our company controller to refuse the €770 charge for the room already debited and of course accepted the €137 for the lunch charge.

WARNING: For what I have seen about 50% of the rooms in this hotel are in the basement or in level 3. The nice pictures on the site were taken on the new construction (presumably rooms starting with number 2, and do not reflect the reality of most of the rooms. If you do accept a basement room (starts with 1, and push -1 in the elevator), be prepared not only for a tiny room but with people staring at you from 30 m away and to have no privacy as adjacent rooms outside areas are simply divided by a small canvas.
On Monday Design Hotels where I made the booking sent me an email saying I would be contacted by the managing director in Portugal. Never happened.
Hotel is unsafe for children, especially if you stay in the basement rooms
I will keep tripadvisor posted on the development of this unfortunate event.

Room Tip: The only real ocean view rooms are on the first floor over the common areas. Reject the basement roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 47carlosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We just spent five nights at this amazing hotel. We first stayed in 2006 and again in 2007 and it had been on the to do list again for a while, so finally we got there this year!
We requested a room with terrace and sea view and it was just Wow! Calming white and grey decor, large bathroom, lovely terrace with a view overlooking the sea with just a small strip of garden separating the terrace from the rocks below and the soothing sound of the waves breaking.
The general areas of this hotel are where you will find the designer touches, around nearly every corner there is something quirky to catch the eye. I reckon these areas are re done regularly as in the 3 times we have been here colour schemes and artworks have been different.
The bar is a lovely relaxing and comfortable space, serving a mean gin & tonic, perfect for a pre and post dinner drink.
We had dinner at 'The Mix' Restaurant on 2 occasions, it would be at the higher end of the price scale for Cascais, but worth every cent. The food is just amazing, the views over the sea sublime and the addition of a glass partition since we last stayed makes it possible to sit right out on the edge of the terrace when the weather is a bit cool for eating outside.
The pool area is lovely, comfortable sun loungers, towel service, bar and snack service, sea views, cool tunes emanating from the speakers dotted around the garden, set at just the right volume to make it just background music and not belting out europop!
This is a very special hotel, definitely an adults only destination as I think children would find little to amuse here. It oozes cool, calm and sophistication and it is certainly my piece of heaven by the sea.
We will definitely be back for visit number 4 in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sukiWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you for the 4th time to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ericeira, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I atended a friend's wedding at this hotel and had a terrible experience. I couldn't bellieve the bad attitude of Tiago the event planner towards the groms requests... This supose to be a 5 star hotel where you pay good money, therefore you should be treated accordingly!! This is a hospitality not hostility service... you should hire staff that is up to a 5 star service, clearly Mr. Tiago is not up for it... he was very rude and not acomodating at all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Mr. Luis F,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding to your visit to our hotel. As soon as your feedback was received, the situation was immediately investigated within our team.
I have also spoken with the couple who got married in our hotel and they are extremely satisfied and gave us a wonderful feedback. I am proud to say that it has been a huge success, and I deeply regret that you as a guest do not feel the same.

Tiago, our Events Coordinator organizes several events, and the feedback is always highly positive, which makes us very proud of his work.

Hoping that your opinion of the Farol Hotel is not diminished, I would be very pleased to be given the opportunity to personally welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ana Maria Tavares
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights, just out of season, we arrived in the evening and were not that fond of our room as there was no terrace or balcony (I am a smoker). We were told that we could move in the morning, to leave our cases and they would do the rest - they did! No questions asked, I am sure we were given a better room too as we had sea view garden room!
The location is perfect, right on the waters edge, lots of space to hang out during the day by the pool, cool staff, all very friendly and accommodating.
The food is amazing, best breakfast in Europe so far! Sushi - perfect! Having such great restaurants, you would think the staff would not recommend places outside, but they do, and they know where to go!!
I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to chill for a few days!

Room Tip: The lower floors are good, the garden rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwalker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We are residents of Cascais and have been regularly taking our foreign visitors to the Farol Design Hotel for a coffee or a drink. The location on the water is absolutely stunning and it used to be a very special "5-star-place".
I never stayed as a guest overnight - therefore I cannot rate the rooms. But I´ve been to a wedding dinner, a few cocktail business events and - as mentioned above - quite regularly for coffee or a drink.
With great regret I have been observing over the past 2 years that the former standard and quality is deteriorating constantly. Yesterday I had a coffee again with 2 guests from Germany and that was definitely the last time!! These are some of the reasons:
- The staff is friendly but it usually takes a long time until you are being served. Last time I got my Espresso but the cake which I ordered at the same time was served about 10 minutes later without any explanation.
- The menu was in a condition as you would expect in a seedy pub: dirty, wrinkled and torn on some edges. My guests couldn´t believe it. They mentioned they felt like disinfecting their hands after having touched it.
- Next to our seat we found several shards of glass.
- The upholstery of the seating on the terrace was dripping - so we had wet trousers in the end. It obviously had soaked some of the rain the day before which means it is the wrong material.
- A few times we had a cocktail. Each time the Caipirinha was very bad (wrong mixture, no taste).
- At the business event we waited endlessly for the canapes. When they were eventually served they offered 2 small plates for about 60 people and then disappeared again for a long time (the quality of the canapes was excellent.). We asked several times for more but it took ages and again wasn´t enough. Quite a few people didn´t even manage to get a single canape. The atmosphere at the event was thus very bad.
- I have seen the staff eating behind the reception desk !!

There have been more examples but I don´t want to list them all. Don´t get me wrong: I am not one of these fussy persons who love to criticize all the time. But if it happens repeatedly and if you claim to be a very special place with a 5-star-ranking I think it should be mentioned. I have been working in the hospitality industry myself for 20 years - also for Lufthansa in the training section for the First Class service - so I know what I am talking about.

I still rate 2 stars for the beautiful location on the water, the view and the interior design in the restaurant and the bar. And I sincerely hope I´ll be able to rate again 5 stars in the future. In the meantime I will take my visitors the various other wonderful hotels in the Cascais area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SO2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your visit to our hotel. We have looked into every comment and have addressed your points one by one.

We have hosted several successful events in our hotel, therefore it is difficult to pinpoint the exact event, please let us know the exact day of the event you mention, so we can investigate the issues in more detail with our team.

We are very proud of our beautiful five star hotel, and of our team, we leave no stone unturned to ensure that we do all possible to meet our in house guests as well as outside guests expectations. We are sorry that we have in this instance failed to meet or even come close to your expectations.

We would be delighted to be given the opportunity to welcome you back again and assure you that we will strive to make your next visit to be a memorable one. Please be so kind to contact me on pa@farol.com.pt.

Kind regards,

Ana Maria Tavares
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is one hotel that put a Big tick mark to the following:
- Great Room
- Brilliant View
- Amazing location
- Great Service
- Manageable Budget

What more could I ask for! I was in this hotel for a week during a business trip recently and just happened to book it by chance, and boy was I impressed!

This hotel is a great recommendation from me for anyone visiting Lisbon/Sintra/Cascais region, and I am sure you will not be disappointed!

Try to get their sea facing balcony view rooms!

Room Tip: Try to get their sea facing balcony view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandrashekar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
3.9 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farol Hotel

Property: Farol Hotel
Address: Avenida Rei Humberto II de Italia 7, Cascais 2750-800, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#8 Business Hotel in Cascais
#11 Family Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Farol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planted on the edge of the rocks that rise out of the ocean, Farol Hotel is set in a mansion dating back to 1890, formerly owned by the Count of Cabral. In 2002 an extension was built, creating a superb innovative interface between the 19th century original building and the daring new contemporary structure extending over the rocks and offering superb views of the Atlantic and most picturesque sunsets.Unique in concept, the designer rooms originated from an invitation to select top Portuguese fashion designers to “dress a room”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farol Design Cascais
Hotel Farol Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing