We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Farol Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Baia(Cascais)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveller rating
489
241
83
33
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
489
241
83
33
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssushion the rocksdesign hoteldesigner roommix restaurantpool areastunning locationnespresso machinepillow menusea viewoverlooking the waterpool servicelong weekendocean frontboca do infernopublic areasshort stroll
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 866 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Recently returned from a 10 night stay in this lovely hotel. The hotel is situated on a rocky outcrop facing the sea and next to the lighthouse and harbour. It is opposite a beautiful Palace and the bustling little town of Cascais is a five minute walk away.
We stayed in a garden room with it's own little terrace and garden with steps up to a small seating area where you could relax, sip a glass of wine and watch the waves crashing against the rocks below. The room was a good size, with a very comfortable bed and pristine white sheets that are changed as and when requested.The bathroom was fine, with a jacuzzi bath and over bath shower. Nice toiletries are provided. Just one little niggle (its a woman thing), the hairdryer was one of those old fashioned types attached to the wall with an extended hose and not very powerful. However, when I mentioned it to the concierge, I was provided with a modern more powerful dryer.
The decor throughout the hotel is stunning, very modern with quirky touches like the animal printed piano. The art on the walls is very appealing and there are wonderful sculptures dotted around the hotel and gardens. The gardens and the terraces leading to the pool area are nicely landscaped and the sun loungers and canopied sun beds looking out directly to the sea are very comfortable. There is a bar service and you can order reasonably priced snacks so it is very tempting to while away a whole day doing absolutely nothing at all.
Breakfast is standard continental buffet service although you can order pancakes and eggs etc to your own taste, although, while we were there, service could be a little slow at busy times, but not really a problem. All the staff are very helpful and accommodating and we would certainly stay there again.
This is not a conventional 5 star hotel, it is a boutique hotel that deserves 5 stars for its uniqueness, location, ambience, design and friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Room 101 is a garden room and very quiet
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marynicholls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Called in for a quiet pre dinner drink. We found the staff unhelpful and some down right rude. We have been staying in various hotels in Lisbon area where the staff have been first class and very friendly but certainly not here.
The views from the hotel are fantastic and the location superb. Such a shame about the unpleasant staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iantulloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Mr. Ian Tulloch,

I am very surprised and disappointed with the incident that you describe with regards to our staff. We are proud of our service and we have taken these comments very seriously. We assure that we would like to investigate further, but to do so we would need your collaboration on what day and time you visited our property.

We sincerely regret that we have not met with your expectations and would like to invite you back to our hotel soon.

Please contact me on pa@farol.com.pt so that we may have the opportunity to prove you that this was an isolated incident.

Kind regards,

Ana Maria Tavares
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Walked past this lovely hotel and went in for lunch. The staff was incredibly friendly, from front desk to dining, the place was truly beautiful, elegant, charming. Did not stay there so can't comment on the rooms, etc. but our lunch was exceptional from start to finish. Food, service and setting was beyond compare. It was really, really expensive ($70 US a person for a nice lunch, without drinks!) but so perfect it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelandAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your visit to Farol Hotel and your experience at the The Mix restaurant.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Although I didn't actually stay at this beautiful little hotel I did have a complete showround of the rooms and facilities and was very impressed.
We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant overlooking the sea - it was absolutely lovely, I could not fault anything - the best meal I had while in Portugal! The presentation and service were superb - this is the first time ever I have felt that I would take a picture of the food I was about to eat!
The bedrooms that I saw were lovely - very clean and comfortable and totally in keeping with the surroundings - very fresh and white with the most amazing views.
I can't wait to go back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your experience at the The Mix restaurant and visit to Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our expectations were more than met when we stayed at Farol Design Hotel, from the introduction to our Arkadia interior designed room with corner aspect to the Atlantic, the incredible terraces for relaxing,the bar, restaurants...the whole laid back modern and contemporary soft feel made it feel like an extension of home...with "family and guest's around for drinks"...it was that kind of relaxation, restful to in the extreme..but any quality of hotel is only as good as its staff...and every single one..from Pedro on the front desk to the young cabana lad who was experiencing his first day...just totally different class!..

Room Tip: The rear sea views although offering a fantastic sea aspect will also allow visitors to view them from the terraces..so privacy 'may' be compromised...our designer room was on the front and side..totally private..and with next to no traffic very very quiet
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews