We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eye Candy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Farol Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Eye Candy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous sea cliff views and outstanding hotel decor were enough to distract you from the topless ladies at the pool. The hotel is located on the beautiful ocean promenade with a bike path on one side and cliff trails in the other. We stayed for 3 nights in the two adjacent and connecting rooms on the first floor which had patios with a private diving platforms (we didn't dare) and a lovely seating area overlooking the cliffs. We had our 3 girls with us aged 7,6 and 4 and I was comfortable with them as the safe area was well defined. I don't think I would be as comfortable with a 2y old there. Our hallway had a door out to the pool area. The staff was helpful and spoke good English. The hotel had a laundry promo which we appreciated. The two negatives I must point out. We booked the hotel as a resort, meaning it wasn't just the room, but all the public areas that came with it. This included the restaurant terrace. On our second night (Monday!) the hotel rented out the entire restaurant terrace to a birthday party of about 40 guests. To be honest, we were promised the festivities would end at 11:30 and the music did stop then. Drunken guests migrated to the lobby and soon enough left the premises. And we did have a fantastic dinner at monte mar on the coast, so no harm was done to our vacation and we did have a fair warning about the party, so we could make alternative plans. But we were ticked the party took place at all. After all the area was promised to us - the guests. Trip advisor has many comments about this and the hotel keeps renting this area out. The second negative is the smoking policy. We like New York policy of no smoking in public places and understand that some European countries have different rules. However, smoking inside is mind boggling. Not only this made the bar and restaurant not accessible for us, I can not comprehend how with such emphasis on employee rights in Europe the hotel subjects its staff to working in such conditions. All other hotels we stayed at didn't allow any smoking inside.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Moni-Kuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    198
    64
    29
    18
See reviews for
82
435
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

If you want a beautiful sea view and are a fan of lounging by the pool with a gorgeous view this is the hotel for you. We had a great stay here. We had a lovely room with a sea view which was enough for as we spent most of our time at the pool or exploring. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Sometimes service could be very slow however but if on holiday this didn't matter much to us. Some of the food came out Luke warm however so just bear this in mind. But a great little sushi restaurant if you like sushi. Cocktails were also good and enjoy happy hour!

Be mindful of breakfast times. Used to other countries where if it says 10.30 it means really you can come down at that time and have plenty of time. This is not the case here. The girl told us on our first day at 10.20 that we had to be down at 10.00 to be able to order something. But we sorted this out.

The sea view rooms are worth the extra for def! But be mindful that they have an area where weddings/parties are celebrated quite often and it can be a bit noisy.

Otherwise it's in a great position and also only about 5 minutes to the marina and 10 into town where we went every night. Cascais is such a beautiful place so enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!


Kind regards,

Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The first thing to say is how great the staff here are. Welcoming, helpful and accommodating. But they are sadly let down by a sub-standard hotel that is style over substance.

When we arrived we were 'upgraded' to room 105. I can't help but feel cheated by it, as there's an obviously noisy restaurant above which kept us awake for hours with tables being moved and chairs being scraped. I'm sure we weren't the first to complain.

We asked to be moved and ended up on the third floor. Rooms are elegant, but badly designed with low beams and minuscule bathrooms, not to mention the very loud club next door disturbing us most nights and people next door chain smoking.

The other areas of the hotel were thankfully good - the outdoor pool and area is spacious and chilled. The restaurant and bar have good menus with friendly service, and wifi is free everywhere.

Unfortunately many (European) guests have a tendency to smoke everywhere without much consideration for others, something this and many other local restaurant and bars suffer from. A 'no smoking' area is desperately needed in this hotel to modernise it - just because you're outside doesn't mean you're not second hand smoking.

Most of all I was baffled how a 'design hotel' could be so badly designed - the main reception door is obscured so you have to go round the side, showers you can't stand up in, doors that are tricky to open, a sink that overshoots the water and rooms below a restaurant, are just a few things this hotel needs to
Look at.




  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthWestBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Didnt stay here but popped into the bar for coffees before heading home , hotel v nice clean and staff always helpful . Happy hour in the eve lovely over looking the sea althou I do like a big bigger pool . Would stay here if I couldn't get into our hotel .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cjknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your short experience at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!


Kind regards,

Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Having read reviews on here, I wondered if the sea view rooms really worth the extra cash (pretty much double) but I am so glad I didn't spend the extra. My room facing the street (203) was lovely, white wooden floor, blue décor and it had a huge balcony that was in the sun in the afternoon and evenings, unlike the rooms that faced the sea.

The pool area was very nice, with comfy sunbeds and cabanas (Brits, please don't bring your own towels - use the plush white ones provided! :) ). The pool water was at the glacial end of the scale, although useful for cooling down.

The staff were generally very hospitable; my friend sprained her foot out at a restaurant and they were running round after her with ice and someone (Joanna) even went to the pharmacy for her.

Couple of minor niggles, these days I expect water to be more available in the room and by the pool, it would cost little to provide filtered water rather than two tiny bottles in the mini bar. The choice of food at lunch was limited and the salads we ordered on day 1 for 16 euro were miniscule to say the least. Two prawns does not a portion make... That said the quality in the main restaurant was excellent; I can recommend the fish soup.

There is a marina with a shop close by for water (and ice lollies!), and the main town is 10 minutes walk away with a choice of many restaurants.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: As above, I don't see the need for a sea view room. However, I'm not sure I would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Nicola,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The garden rooms are smallish, but perfectly nice - would probably splash out on a sea view next time. Otherwise all fantastic. Friendly service, gorgeous views, v comfy sun loungers, great food, easy 10 min stroll into Cais Cais...didn't want to go home!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harefield England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Recently returned from a 10 night stay in this lovely hotel. The hotel is situated on a rocky outcrop facing the sea and next to the lighthouse and harbour. It is opposite a beautiful Palace and the bustling little town of Cascais is a five minute walk away.
We stayed in a garden room with it's own little terrace and garden with steps up to a small seating area where you could relax, sip a glass of wine and watch the waves crashing against the rocks below. The room was a good size, with a very comfortable bed and pristine white sheets that are changed as and when requested.The bathroom was fine, with a jacuzzi bath and over bath shower. Nice toiletries are provided. Just one little niggle (its a woman thing), the hairdryer was one of those old fashioned types attached to the wall with an extended hose and not very powerful. However, when I mentioned it to the concierge, I was provided with a modern more powerful dryer.
The decor throughout the hotel is stunning, very modern with quirky touches like the animal printed piano. The art on the walls is very appealing and there are wonderful sculptures dotted around the hotel and gardens. The gardens and the terraces leading to the pool area are nicely landscaped and the sun loungers and canopied sun beds looking out directly to the sea are very comfortable. There is a bar service and you can order reasonably priced snacks so it is very tempting to while away a whole day doing absolutely nothing at all.
Breakfast is standard continental buffet service although you can order pancakes and eggs etc to your own taste, although, while we were there, service could be a little slow at busy times, but not really a problem. All the staff are very helpful and accommodating and we would certainly stay there again.
This is not a conventional 5 star hotel, it is a boutique hotel that deserves 5 stars for its uniqueness, location, ambience, design and friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Room 101 is a garden room and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marynicholls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarolHotel, Gerente at Farol Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Farol Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to provide you with more special moments!

Kind regards,
Ana Maria Tavares,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
3.9 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farol Hotel

Property: Farol Hotel
Address: Avenida Rei Humberto II de Italia 7, Cascais 2750-800, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#8 Business Hotel in Cascais
#11 Family Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Farol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planted on the edge of the rocks that rise out of the ocean, Farol Hotel is set in a mansion dating back to 1890, formerly owned by the Count of Cabral. In 2002 an extension was built, creating a superb innovative interface between the 19th century original building and the daring new contemporary structure extending over the rocks and offering superb views of the Atlantic and most picturesque sunsets.Unique in concept, the designer rooms originated from an invitation to select top Portuguese fashion designers to “dress a room”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Farol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farol Design Cascais
Hotel Farol Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing