We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, calm and sophisticated with fantastic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Farol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farol Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cool, calm and sophisticated with fantastic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Farol Design Hotel for 7 nights in August/September 2010. We had requested a transfer from the Airport and a sea-view room. Our transfer was waiting for us as we arrived (even though our flight was delayed), with a clear sign with our name printed on it. They were quick to take our luggage and overall we were very impressed from the start.

Once we arrived at the hotel, we were told that there was a wedding that evening (we arrived on a Saturday), which was unfortunate as we were looking forward to dining in the Mix Restaurant. Due to the wedding, we were unable to use the restaurant or the outside bar for the duration of our first evening. There is a bar inside, but who in their right minds would want to miss the ocean view?! I have to say that the wedding was not overly noisy and we managed to get a very decent nights' sleep, but I do wish that they had told us before we booked (which was only a couple of weeks before we arrived).

Our room (105) was in the new part of the Hotel, and although marketed as a Sea View room, had a very average view. There is a small patio terrace which gets very sunny from around 11am, but there were huge Aloe Vera plants just outside, obscuring the view. We often used the terrace to read our books or surf the internet (which is very expensive in my opinion - €50 for 7 days, or €3 per hour/€2 per half hour). The room itself was clean, but the minimalist design and impersonal touches made it unfriendly and cold. The whole room was white, with red accents. The floor was whitewashed, but had several dirty marks and chips in it, which made it feel cheap. I didn't want to walk on it barefoot and needless to say, we didn't spend much time there.

The views from the pool, restaurant and bar were magnificent. There was constant ambient music playing in all outside areas, which added to the relaxed vibe. The music was not loud enough to be heard in our room, even with the door open.

The drinks at the bar were good - not great. They were too expensive, and comparable to London (more Mayfair than Leicester Square) prices. Their Mojito was €10, but as they kept running out of Mint, we never managed to taste one! The bar food was average and expensive, and the seating area not very comfortable.

The Restaurant was excellent. The food was pricey, but worth every penny, We had dinner there twice and lunch once. Each meal is very heavy, and the chef likes to include a couple of amuse-bouche before the starter and dessert. Each dish was fantastic, and the Sushi is to-die-for. We had the Lamb Shank and Black Pork which were both excellent, but only one pudding was worth having twice - the Mango Cheesecake.

The waiting staff and housekeeping staff were all polite and courteous. Service was swift but not overbearing at the restaurant. The design aspect of the hotel was interesting, but I didn't "get" it. The fusion between the french styled furniture and modern European art just didn't work for me. Some of the art on the walls were, to put it bluntly, hideous.

This hotel is perfect for a relaxing time by the pool, watching the boats go by, and listening to the crash of the waves on the rocks below.

If you get bored of the Hotel/restaurant, turn left out of the hotel, and after a 10 minute stroll, there is a fantastic Seafood restaurant called "Mar Do Inferno", just outside the Boca Do Inferno. The Seafood platter is full of gigantic prawns, sea bream, sea bass and mussels. You may need to book in advance, as it is always busy at dinner time.

Turn right out of the hotel, and you will find your self at the Marina, where I recommend Skipper - a small pub/restaurant serving good wholesome meals and cheap drinks. Oh, and there are some nice little boats too!

Carry on past the Marina, into Cascais, where there are some other nice restaurants and shops. We highly recommend the Palm Tree Restaurant in the main square, where we sampled great Portuguese Steak and Seafood.

Cascais is lovely, and we would be happy to stay at the Farol Design Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    205
    67
    29
    19
See reviews for
84
443
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

The best thing about this hotel is without a doubt it's location. Beautiful setting and veiws but only a ten minute walk to Cascais town. The staff are very polite and friendly and the food in the Restaurant is quite good if you like the "Nouveau Cuisine" type of food. The Pool and sunloungers were good and the music was quite relaxing. The sun is there from dawn till dusk. The "Design Rooms" are not particularly large and the decor is very minimalistic and stark but the small terrace had lovely veiws of the ocean. The service was ok. I wasn't very keen on the outside hard plastic seating in the bar and the restaurant......I realise it's the design look but it's not very comfortable to sit on, probably
ok for teenagers and children. All in all quite a good hotel just personal taste.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieFx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

I can't understand why this hotel isn't higher in the Trip Advisor ratings for Cascais because everything about it is amazing! I saw other reviews of other places and there were reviews of having to cross a busy highway... NO thanks!

Farol Design Hotel is right by the water so you couldn't get much closer if you wanted to. The gentle sound of waves crashing against the rocks was a delight, especially to wake up to in the morning and dreamy loungy balaeric music playing in the background meant it was very easy to drift off into a relaxed bliss!

But yes, as some other reviews have mentioned, the restaurant is stunning. Interesting modern European fusion I guess would be the best way to describe it but the view from the balcony is something else, a lovely way to start the day! Breakfast was also great with freshly cooked omelettes, eggs and pancakes on offer as well as the usual array of fruits, breads, sweets etc..

The service was also very smooth, especially the service at the pool bar.

Overall, this place is a stunning place where attention to detail and service is sublime. Being only a short 10 minute stroll into the centre of town, the Farol Design Hotel is a n absolute gem.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottyr1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

This hotel is divided in 2 areas: the designers hall and the old hall.
I stayed one night in a suite at the old area. Great big room, perfect perfect perfect bed :D, a charming balcony with sea and pool view. Black and white decoration with, a very soft carpet, and a beautiful bathroom.
The staff was really friendly, especially the waiter that served us at the restaurant hotel. Five stars just for him!
The pool with sea water was really great, with lots of big white beds spread around it to chill out. I recommend the bar by the pool, for a cocktail at the sunset.

But, the top of this hotel is the restaurant!
Very dramatic decoration!
Amazing food, with a touch of fusion, a feast for your eyes, excellent wine choice, an extra appetizers and desserts with the compliments of the chef. And at the end, the bill wasn't that expensive!

This five star stay, had only one down: They have to change the bathtub in our suite, because of the little holes in it, probably caused by the heavy shower falling into the tub.

I really recommend this hotel, and Cascais, a little gem where you can truly chill out... and dream.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anavieira03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

chic, modern with a great setting on the rocks, service was ok but not brilliant, food was again ok but not brilliant but the relaxed feel and great location did make up for these shortfalls. the designer room was ok not very large but suited its purpose. a pleasant 10 minute walk into town where you are spoilt for choice when it comes for something to eat. yes i would go back

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

This place is every bit as good as it looks on its website.

Located by an old lighthouse and only 10 mins walk from the centre of Cas Cais this place definitely met our expectations. The hotel is decorated in a "boutique" style and has a different decor for each room, no doubt a nightmare for housekeeping!

The staff and ambience at the hotel were both excellent. The breakfast and service were also top notch. There were a number of photo shoots at the hotel whilst we there, this speaks volumes about the location, setting and style of the hotel. It is very hard to find a fault with the Farol Design Hotel.

By the way, there is a smashing sea food restaurant along the coast from the hotel. Take a left when you leave the hotel and walk for about 10 mins to get there. Everything is priced by the KG so it may be tricky to work out. I had Sea Bass and it cost around €16.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPORIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

The reviews posted below are true. This hotel is perfect for a couple of days away!
Most relaxed hotel ever. Beautiful scenery. Great interior design.
We took a designroom, with oceanview. This comes with a teracce and is worth the extra buck.
Beds are good. Good bathroom. Swiming pool nice. Relaxed atmosphere. Not much children around.
So no complaints at all. Perfect hotel to combine with a couple of days in the beautifull city of Lisbon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaaaJaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
3.9 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farol Hotel

Property: Farol Hotel
Address: Avenida Rei Humberto II de Italia 7, Cascais 2750-800, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#8 Business Hotel in Cascais
#11 Family Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Farol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planted on the edge of the rocks that rise out of the ocean, Farol Hotel is set in a mansion dating back to 1890, formerly owned by the Count of Cabral. In 2002 an extension was built, creating a superb innovative interface between the 19th century original building and the daring new contemporary structure extending over the rocks and offering superb views of the Atlantic and most picturesque sunsets. Unique in concept, the designer rooms originated from an invitation to select top Portuguese fashion designers to "dress a room." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farol Design Cascais
Hotel Farol Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing