We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 28 Sabores Do Mundo - CLOSED

28 Sabores Do Mundo
Price range: US$11 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
280 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a little gem - up a side street just off the main square. The owner and her son are such lovely friendly people. The rice balls and potato skins are amazing - even the aioli dip is gorgeous. The pork and the cod were both beautiful. Very different - lots of nice fresh flavors. The bill was under €50 for a first class eating experience. Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    2
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Gem: Good Food, Service, and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

After coming across this small restaurant on TA, six of us from our tour made a reservation. We all had a very wonderful experience! The food is excellent, each dish made from scratch and with care. Among our group we ordered soup, salad, cod with a cornmeal crust, monkfish and shrimp, several flan desserts as well as apple pie a la mode, coffee, and lots of wine. Our bill came to, with tip, about 15 Euros each. Our young server, Juan, was hospitable and first-rate, explaining the wines and dishes to us. At the end of the night we were the only patrons along with two men from Germany. Chef Paula came to our table to greet us and to check if we enjoyed our meal. The German men joined in our conversation and we all shared some nice moments. Eating at fine local restaurants and enjoying the local culture is one of the pleasures that I seek in traveling. In the end, I cannot say enough about this terrific place. If you want to seek out a wonderful dining experience with excellent food, excellent value, and excellent service, this restaurant is for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good cooking, very friendly, great value !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Good cooking in this intimate family restaurant - very friendly service - excellent value 3 course meal for my wife and I and 5 yr old son - came to roughly 60 euros (including a full bottle of very drinkable Alentejo wine - the bottle was empty !)
Will definitely return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank IrishguyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilhabela, SP
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Small and cozy with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is very small with a cozy atmosphere. They have a fixed price menu with portuguese cuisine options. I ordered baked sardines that was excelente and my boyfriend ordered codefish (Brás), it was good!
The location is quiet in a charming narrow street.
It's really a good choice value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WiestGabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Visited twice in October 2014, fabulous food at great prices probably the best restaurant we tried. The owner / Chef Paula runs a great place and personally comes out and chats to all her customers. Try the cabbage and sausage soup very traditional the Chicken coated in honey and stuffed with Moroccan spices and the Cod.

Highly recommend this little place hidden a few minutes from the main tourist traps, give it a try its worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HarpendenWrinklies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 28 Sabores Do Mundo also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing