We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool pirtuguese pastry.”
Review of Bijou de Cascais

Bijou de Cascais
Ranked #1 of 5 Bakeries in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$14
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Oldest pastry/coffee shop in the Centre of Cascais. The only one with its own factory on-site, serving the freshest bread and cakes.
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

On sunny days its very good to eat outside. Lots of music around. The cakes are excelent. With a nice milk or juice.. Dlicious.
The food is ok. Not a place for fish. Very relaxing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank artcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroC8, Proprietário at Bijou de Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2015

Thank you for comment,
We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Bijou de Cascais
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 133 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Great for a coffee, beer & local Nata tart ...... and a spot of people watching. We didn't sample anything more substantial but noticed locals were calling to take away pastries

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We went to the Bijou for lunch and sat outside in the Square. There was only one waiter serving 12 tables and he could not cope with the number of customers, our drinks were served promptly but we had to ask for a menu which took a long time to arrive. We then had a long wait before we caught his eye to order food. My wife's sandwich came a few minutes later but I must have waited 25 minutes for my meal. The food was OK but we could not face the wait for ordering coffee and a pastry. Service seemed slicker inside the cafe. The only plus point was the value for money.

Thank PartTimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroC8, Gerente at Bijou de Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you very much for your visit. Thank you for letting us know you found the service a bit slow. We're looking into it and how we can improve our service to clients. Glad you liked the food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Visited a few times with my wife and daughter during August 2013 after reading reviews on here. Was surprised to find it to be pretty average despite sampling a range of drinks and food. The first time we sat outside in the square and had a few drinks and some pastries, the other times got items to take away.

The seating in the square isn't particularly relaxing given the noise, smoke, bustle of passing people etc and the pastries, while quite nice and of reasonable quality, aren't anything out of this world.

Perhaps we visited at the wrong times when they had less fresh stock but I wonder whether this place is a little overhyped and/or people who are reviewing it have rarely had really good quality cafe fare?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nooooddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroC8, Gerente at Bijou de Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to write a comment. We appreciate all the feedback from clients - it's the only way we can improve. We're sorry you haven't enjoyed it much, but we will continue to make changes and adapt our products to please as many clients as possible. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A nice little cafe in the square in Cascais. Service is always friendly be it for a drink, a cake, or a snack.
Plenty of choice of cakes. But the Portuguese tarts 'Natas' are wonderful here.
We have been to Cascais 4 times, and always visit this cafe each time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bijou de Cascais also viewed

 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Bijou de Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing