We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nice Way Cascais Hostel and Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend for a few days as a base to go surfing. Great location (try the brilliant little fish restaurant out the back too), cool relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, lovely outdoor space. Room was clean and the shared bathrooms were ok.

Only criticisms were it was a bit noisy in middle of the night (people getting back v late/early from Lisbon slamming doors) and the staff weren't fully co-ordinated (the surf guiding we'd been promised by one had been forgotten and took some discussion - but was provided and David the surf instructor is a v nice guy)

Pros definitely outweigh cons at the price. Would recommend staying here

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Carlyboy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais Hostel and Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Dear Carly,


Thanks for your review. Your opinion/review is important for us in order to improve our service.

The situation with the surf instructor was punctual. As you can imagine we always try to avoid these unpleasant situations. We sorry that this happen with you.


We hope to see you another time,

The Nice Way Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Loved my stay at nice way Cascais it had everything I wanted a cute, relaxed and friendly vibe that was close to the beach and only half an hour on train from Lisbon. Great staff and service!!! Thank you I will be back one day hopefully :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais Hostel and Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Dear dshoban,

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again another time.


Best Regards,

Nice Way Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

As many of the reviews have stated, Nice Way's location is in a really charming section of the old town just blocks away from the sea. The building and outdoor garden are impressive and the communal kitchen is a great place for preparing meals. If you are a light sleeper, the double rooms may not be your best bet. There are light timers in the hallway so each time someone comes in or goes to the wc, the light clicks on. Unfortunately, there are windows above the doors to the hallway so the room floods with light each and every time. But its such a fun place with really nice hosts, so I would recommend getting ear plugs and an eye mask and going for it!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank simpson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais Hostel and Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for you review. Your opinion is important in order to improve our service.

We understand your point about the space between the door and the floor and we are currently trying to fix the space left.

We hope to see you another time.

Nice Way Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very good place to stay.
Quiet, relaxing place and absolutly beautiful old portuguese building.
The only thing they could add is more electricity plugs. but for me I could handle it! ;)
I will come back for sure.

Room Tip: Choose the 24!! you will see why ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais Hostel and Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Dear Pedro,

Thanks for your review. Your opinion is important for us in order to improve our service.

The electricity plugs are hidden under the beds, inside of the locks. Sometimes we forgot to tell our guests, so we apologize for not tell you about the plugs.

We hope to see you another time.


Nice Way Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed in a 8 female room for 2 nights. Quiet place, very good located, near downtown and beaches. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast. There wasn't air conditioning in our room, so it was a bit suffocating in those hot summer nights.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_Moledo_ES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais Hostel and Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Hello Ana,

Thanks you for your review. Your opinion is important for us in order to improve our service.

We hope to see you another time.


Nice Way Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Allround nice hostel on a good location in Cascais. The staff is very friendly and levels with the guests; we aso went a night out with some staffmember, which was very nice! The rooms and hallways can get a bit sandy at times, and the beds were allright, nothing special. There is also a garden, which is always a plus!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais Hostel and Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Lars,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is important to us to improve our service.

We are glad that you had fun in our hostel.

we hope to see you another time,

Nice Way Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed in a private double room. This hostel is good if you are staying in a dorm, not if you are looking to get a good nights sleep in your own room. For the price of a private room you might as well go to a real hotel. The hostel is an in old house so it is very noisy when people are walking around and closing doors. Beds were a bit uncomfortable. Now the good parts: excellent location in town and minutes from the beach and center. The hostel has a cool outdoor patio for chilling and a bar. The staff was great and they even organized a barbecue one night for all the guests.
If you are looking for a beach hostel with a chill vibe and a young international crowd, then this is it. If you are a couple looking for some beach peace and quiet, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldSpinTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais Hostel and Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is important ti us in order to improve our service.

We understand that during the night the noise of the doors and the key system could be a little bit annoying but we at the moment we silent the key system and we are figuring out a way to avoid the noise with the doors. Besides this, we're are glad that you had fun in Cascais.


We hope to see you another time,

Nice Way Cascais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.5 mi away
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#5 of 17 in Estoril
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
835 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clube Do Lago
Clube Do Lago
#9 of 17 in Estoril
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Way Cascais Hostel and Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Way Cascais Hostel and Surf Camp

Address: Rua Conde Ferreira 117, Cascais 2750-346, Portugal (Formerly Nice Way Cascais)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Cascais
Price Range: £14 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and live an unforgettable experience in Nice Way Cascais - Hostel & Surf Camp. We are so different in more ways than one... 1- We are locals! The Nice Way Team is from Cascais, live in Cascais and is in love with Cascais and we would like to share our passion with our guests. It's the best place to eat amazing seafood, watch an incredible sunset and have a once in a lifetime experience. 2- We are truly a Surf Camp! You will receive surf lessons whatever level you are, all the equipment is included, certified teachers will guide you and transportation to the beaches is provided. An experience full of fun in one of Cascais' beach where we surf all year round with waves for all levels. 3- We are located in the center of Cascais! The hostel is located in a historic house, surrounded by beautiful gardens and only 5 minutes walk to the main beach, restaurants and night life. The train station is 10 minutes walking distance away which will take you straight to Lisbon city center. 4- We have a hostel that we are proud of! With shared spaces that have been given a lot of love and attention, enjoy the comforts of home; from relaxing in our living room, to cooking in the kitchen. Enjoy a meal in the dinning room or in our surf garden with a bar where the 'magic' happens. WiFi and breakfast is free! 5- We love to share...stories, spaces, moments and experiences! For this we have created various activities like the famous Nice Way BBQ, Yoga, group games and relaxed nights with the company of some cocktails from the bar. Note: Some of the activities are seasonal. 6- We are a hostel, not a hotel! This means that we like to receive guests like we are welcoming new and old friends and we want Nice Way to be a home for all who are visiting us. Our rules are like those from a house where a big family lives and this is how we like to live. There is so much more to discover but the rest you'll have to discover for yourself. We can't wait to meet and receive you with open arms!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Nice Way Cascais Hostel and Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing