We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to get sleep, don't go here.”
Review of Nice Way Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nice Way Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“If you want to get sleep, don't go here.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hostel has a young atmosphere with a strong party/drinking culture and is very fun for those who are travelling or wanting this experience :)

However, if you are wanting some sleep after long days, then this is not the place to be with the bar and people right under bedroom windows, people loud at 3-4am and not much consideration for those in the dorms.

We recommend eye shades and ear plugs haha.

The beds are uncomfortable, there is 1 fridge housing a hostel of 40 peoples food, the place smelt musty, and the bathrooms were almost always unclean and out of toilet paper.

The staff however are friendly and do well to accommodate with how busy the place is.

Room Tip: Definitely chose a private room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Dear Daniella,

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is important to us in order to improve our service and to make everyone comfortable in our hostel.

If we were in your position we wouldn't like to wake up in the middle of the night with noise from the garden or inside of our dorm. Not everyone understand the "basic rules" of sleeping in a shared room. About the bar, is created with the propose to meet another travelers, to shared your experiences and who knows, the beginning of new friendships. We close the bar and stop the music at midnight and also we try that everyone go out from the garden to continue the night in order to avoid the noise for the guests who want to sleep. We sorry for this (bad) experience that you had during your staying with us.

Sometimes the common areas, especially the shared bathrooms, could seem a little bit dirty but we can assure that all the areas in our hostel are clean everyday and more than once. In the future we will pay more attention in order to avoid this situations.


We hope to see you another time,

Nice Way Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    27
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
6
33
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My friend and I had a great stay at Nice Way, it was exactly what we were looking for on our holiday. The staff were all very friendly and kept the hostel clean, there's a lovely outdoor area where you can relax and it was in good location. We had a surfing lesson with the Cascais Surf School which was also a lot of fun!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Dear Pip,

Thanks for your review.

Are you missing the evenings with your friends in our garden after a day of surf?

We hope to see you another time,

Nice Way Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in this hostel in Cascais located in an excellent position to reach both the beaches and the city center. 
Staff is very friendly and the structure is very accurate. 
very cozy common room, garden with bar where you can drink a beer in the evening ,have breakfast or spend some time relaxing. Our room looks very accurate in details (we loved the choice of furnishings), although no hangers or supports for arranging our personal items and this makes it less functional. 
Bath and shower shared with the other rooms of the plan. 
Here we present the first fault of the hostel. 
The bathroom almost always dirty and more than once without toilet paper (it seems that in the 3 days of our stay, nobody clean and no one checked that everything was in place). 
Maybe it's guest's fault  but I also believe that it is the responsibility of the staff make sure that the situation does not degenerate. 
I would like to speak well of the breakfast but I can not do it, for 3 days bread (good) and jam(bad), coffee (not bad), juice(bad). 
The city is very pretty so within 3 days we walked a lot to the discovery of the nearby beaches advantage of free bike provided by the municipality. 
So, in the evening we were very tired and this has allowed us tobe able to sleep in spite of the chaos caused by the guests "well-behaved" ... and here I must say that the staff would have to guarantee apleasant stay for all guests. 
Unfortunately it does not happen and I do not think of much to ask if I demand silence at 4am. 
For these reasons, I believe that if I return to Cascais, it will be not in this hostel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Fishbrain78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review.

Your opinion is important to us in order to improve our service and to make everyone comfortable in our hostel. We understand that sometimes the shared bathrooms could be a little bit dirty but we can assure that they are clean everyday and more than once and also we put paper everyday as well. We will pay more attention to the bathrooms after the surf lessons/showers.

If we were in your position we wouldn't like to wake up in the middle of the night with noise from the garden or inside of the house. Not everyone understand the "basic rules" of sleeping in a shared house. We have a bar that closes at midnight (the music as well). Also, we try that everyone go out from the garden to continue the night in order to avoid the noise for the guests who want to sleep. We apologize for this (bad) experience that you had during your staying with us.

We hope to see you another time,


Best Regards,

Nice Way Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Nice way cascais made me feel like i was home, it was filled with great people from all over the world! The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the kitchen aswell, it had a great outdoor place where everyone could be in the evenings aswell as in daytime. The hostell arranged dinner nights and great surfing lessons! I will come back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Dear Jesper,


Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you next summer for more BBQ nights ;)


Nice Way Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend for a few days as a base to go surfing. Great location (try the brilliant little fish restaurant out the back too), cool relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, lovely outdoor space. Room was clean and the shared bathrooms were ok.

Only criticisms were it was a bit noisy in middle of the night (people getting back v late/early from Lisbon slamming doors) and the staff weren't fully co-ordinated (the surf guiding we'd been promised by one had been forgotten and took some discussion - but was provided and David the surf instructor is a v nice guy)

Pros definitely outweigh cons at the price. Would recommend staying here

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carlyboy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Dear Carly,


Thanks for your review. Your opinion/review is important for us in order to improve our service.

The situation with the surf instructor was punctual. As you can imagine we always try to avoid these unpleasant situations. We sorry that this happen with you.


We hope to see you another time,

The Nice Way Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Loved my stay at nice way Cascais it had everything I wanted a cute, relaxed and friendly vibe that was close to the beach and only half an hour on train from Lisbon. Great staff and service!!! Thank you I will be back one day hopefully :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Dear dshoban,

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again another time.


Best Regards,

Nice Way Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham, al
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

As many of the reviews have stated, Nice Way's location is in a really charming section of the old town just blocks away from the sea. The building and outdoor garden are impressive and the communal kitchen is a great place for preparing meals. If you are a light sleeper, the double rooms may not be your best bet. There are light timers in the hallway so each time someone comes in or goes to the wc, the light clicks on. Unfortunately, there are windows above the doors to the hallway so the room floods with light each and every time. But its such a fun place with really nice hosts, so I would recommend getting ear plugs and an eye mask and going for it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank simpson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica A, Recepcionist at Nice Way Cascais, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for you review. Your opinion is important in order to improve our service.

We understand your point about the space between the door and the floor and we are currently trying to fix the space left.

We hope to see you another time.

Nice Way Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
986 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#12 of 39 in Cascais
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Way Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Way Cascais

Property: Nice Way Cascais
Address: Rua Conde Ferreira 117, Cascais 2750-346, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and live an unforgettable experience in Nice Way Cascais - Hostel & Surf Camp. We are so different in more ways than one... 1- We are locals! The Nice Way Team is from Cascais, live in Cascais and is in love with Cascais and we would like to share our passion with our guests. It's the best place to eat amazing seafood, watch an incredible sunset and have a once in a lifetime experience. 2- We are truly a Surf Camp! You will receive surf lessons whatever level you are, all the equipment is included, certified teachers will guide you and transportation to the beaches is provided. An experience full of fun in one of Cascais' beach where we surf all year round with waves for all levels. 3- We are located in the center of Cascais! The hostel is located in a historic house, surrounded by beautiful gardens and only 5 minutes walk to the main beach, restaurants and night life. The train station is 10 minutes walking distance away which will take you straight to Lisbon city center. 4- We have a hostel that we are proud of! With shared spaces that have been given a lot of love and attention, enjoy the comforts of home; from relaxing in our living room, to cooking in the kitchen. Enjoy a meal in the dinning room or in our surf garden with a bar where the 'magic' happens. WiFi and breakfast is free! 5- We love to share...stories, spaces, moments and experiences! For this we have created various activities like the famous Nice Way BBQ, Yoga, group games and relaxed nights with the company of some cocktails from the bar. Note: Some of the activities are seasonal. 6- We are a hostel, not a hotel! This means that we like to receive guests like we are welcoming new and old friends and we want Nice Way to be a home for all who are visiting us. Our rules are like those from a house where a big family lives and this is how we like to live. There is so much more to discover but the rest you'll have to discover for yourself. We can't wait to meet and receive you with open arms!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Nice Way Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing