We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good we went back for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
County Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good we went back for more!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Miragem is a great escape away from it all. My family stayed last year (2013) for a week. We had 3 teenagers and a 12 year old to keep happy and they absolutely loved it. The beach is right in front of the hotel and they had the freedom to ramble around the town which felt safe. ( they did not have any negative experiences out and about). We took the train to Lisbon another day for a flavour of city life. The train station is also very near be hotel and travels along the coastline.
Our rooms had a magnificent view of the sea and the food was delicious. The teenagers even got up for breakfast after being out late the night before...... That's says something! The Miragem has a terrific state of the art gym which the teenagers used some days. It is free for hotel guests. There are fitness classes of all types for those needing to let off that extra bit of energy built up from practicing "extreme relaxation all day" I went to a yoga class one day for a stretch which felt great. The infinity pool is on the 3rd floor and overlooks the sea. What I love about this was that you are not forfeiting the view of the ocean to have the comfort of the pool, with sun loungers, day beds and umbrellas. Staff at the pool are extremely helpful and will find you a lounger, provide fresh towels and are there all day if you need them.
This year (2014) my husband and I were celebrating our 25th Anniversary. We wanted to go somewhere convenient( from Cork) as we only had 3 nights without children! We searched online but kept coming back to "the Miragem". We were so glad we made the choice again as the Hotel standards and friendliness of the staff are hard to beat. We were greeted with a "congratulations on your wedding Anniversary", had champagne, port and chocolates in our room and extra touches like petals on the bed chocolates on the pillow just made it that little bit special. The room again had a balcony with a direct view of the ocean which was beautiful to sit on for a drink in the evening. Management and staff are all are professional and competent and go out of their way to make the stay an experience to remember. The the attention to detail in the open areas of the hotel is tasteful, lending a sense of luxury and calmness. There are all sorts of nice extras during the day (better to experience yourself as these nice touches make a difference). The hotel is Five Star.... but does not have the stuffiness that might be associated with this level. Instead it is friendly and open ....and special. The break away was short but very sweet and I left us wanting more again when leaving....I will have to come up with another excuse to return!
The hotel strives for excellence and in my opinion achieves it and goes beyond.

Room Tip: Sea views ..... Worth the extra as sea is so close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    191
    23
    14
    3
See reviews for
225
445
27
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for three nights in June/July 2014 with our two teenage sons. The Miragem is a spacious, modern hotel with beautiful views and very comfortable rooms with well equipped luxurious bathrooms. The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful, the pool is lovely but a bit cold. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice and was fresh and delicious. It's an easy 5-10 minute walk along the promenade into town where we ate each night. Our two sons loved the hotel and we visited the Moana surf school at Guincho beach with them where they had surfing and kite surfing lessons. It's easy and reasonably cheap to get taxis from outside the hotel. It was colder than I would have expected for June/July - I wished I had taken some warmer clothes for the evenings.

Room Tip: A room on the higher floors would probably be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anlaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed 6 nights in this hotel last summer and it was the perfect choice for us. We were upgraded on arrival and had a lovely room with a huge terrace (sunlougers would have been a great addition given size of terrace). The hotel is in a quiet part of town and you can walk under the underpass directly onto the promenade and from there wander into the centre of Cascais for restaurants etc. No issues in recommending this hotel at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BzandRh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

On arriving at the hotel we asked if we could have a sea view as we had not already booked one. We were told we had a sea view and a balcony with no extra charge. The rooms were amazing enormous bed and bathroom. Nothing is too much trouble the staff seem to know what you want before you do. Think I want a brolly and they fetch one, a cushion would be nice they are fetching you one. Waiters,cleaning staff, reception all can't do enough for you. Nice little touches like mini cocktails, nibbles round the pool free water and pastries in your room. Chocolates on your bed each evening. The food in the restaurants is very good plenty of choice and good quality pastries and cakes the best I have eaten anywhere only criticism is the food could have been a little hotter. Gourmet restaurant very good. We have stopped in 5star hotels in many countries but this is way ahead of anywhere else

Room Tip: A room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel deserves the 5 star review! Everything was perfect.

We took a taxi from Lisbon approx. 40 Euros although the train station is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel and costs about 1-2 euros.

Huge grand entrance on the ground floor, lovely staff.

We booked a deluxe room to guarantee a balcony and pool/sea view - this is worth it, we walked behind the hotel one day and would have hated a room not facing the sea.

Very spacious room - huge comfortable bed. Plenty storage - we had 2 full size suitcases and managed to empty our cases into the wardrobes/drawers.

Great selection of glasses for in room drinking :0)
Fully stocked mini bar with snacks, wine and champagne - expensive but most mini bars are.

Every day we had 3 different people in our room, the cleaner, the mini bar stocker and also someone dropping off a large bottle of water and 2 cakes - which was a nice touch. On the last day the water was replaced with a small bottle of port :0)
The room was also turned down at night.

Huge bathroom, 2 sinks, separate shower and bath and plenty of towels and toiletries replaced every day, although no conditioner.

Lovely private balcony with astro turf grass which was really comfortable, a small table and 2 chairs. The screens between the rooms are opaque so you can't see you neighbours. We had the sun first thing in the morning until about 7 at night - we never went to the pool because our balcony was good enough - the views were just breath taking to sit and enjoy with a glass of wine.

Breakfast was lovely - everything you need, hot & cold buffets with sparkling wine - always a bonus!

Staff were all really friendly, very relaxed feel to the hotel.

There is a supermarket (Jumbo) a 5 minute walk from the hotel that sells absolutely everything! If you are considering buying all your toiletries etc once you arrive this is the place.

We had a couples massage in the hotel, quite expensive but was well worth it. We had a Japanese massage for 1.5 hours and it was amazing! The spa are is very relaxed and clean, the indoor pool looked nice but I think there's quite a lot of exercise classes take place there.

We didn't eat in the restaurants in the hotel apart from room service.

Also free wifi throughout the hotel

Cascais itself is really nice, very easy to walk around and felt very safe. The hotel location means you can walk one way into Cascais or another into Estoril. We walked along the coast one morning to both. There are no annoying people trying to sell you things like we had a bit of in Lisbon. There are some lovely restaurants in Cascais (plenty Indians)

Would definitely return to this house if we were every to return to Cascais.

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelsrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
267 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Truly a 5 star hotel. Expensive vallet parking is optional (€19,20). Huge reception and common areas. Very friendly staff - all over. Nice pool area on the 3rd floor with beautiful views. Very good food on the terrace bar/restaurant, we had lunch there several times. Breakfast was super, never experienced such good service in a breakfast restaurant. Super location, with a 6-8 min walk to the city center. Indoor parking. Nothing to complain about...

Room Tip: We had room 567 - not a terrace and not a sea view, but a large room with separate lounge area and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JensPetterStrommen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had high hopes when booking the Miragem hotel and it surpassed all our expectations. To sum it up: great personnel, nice pool with more than enough sun beds, amazing breakfast, very well equipped gym with very able instructors and a wide variety of good lessons all free to join, location is ideal close to everything, rooms are very good and you feel spoiled in this hotel. Every request is taken care of immediately and nothing seems to much. And it looks way better than the pictures online!

All in all it couldn't have been better. Our kids, teenagers, loved the hotel as well.

Room Tip: choose a room with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jasper1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cascais Miragem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cascais Miragem

Property: Hotel Cascais Miragem
Address: Av. Marginal, 8554, Cascais 2754-536, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#1 Family Hotel in Cascais
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#2 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cascais Miragem 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the exclusive Estoril coast, the five star Hotel Cascais Miragem is set in a spectacular situation facing the Atlantic Ocean with views over the Marina of Cascais. The 192 elegantly decorated rooms and suites are spacious with all the modern comfort. Relax at the Cristovao Colombo Bar for a pre-dinner drink of Porto or Champagne before dining in the award winning Gourmet restaurant overlooking The Marina. Traditional Portuguese recipes with international influences create trans-ethnic cuisine prepared using only the finest ingredients. Located on the third floor the "infinity edge" of the swimming pool merges with the deep blue of the Atlantic Ocean. All guests have complementary access to the Health Club, Holmes Place, offering over 3000 square meter of cardiovascular and body building equipment studios with different classes and activities: heated pool with views over the ocean, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath and a service of personal trainers. The Holmes Place Spa at the Hotel opens the door to an intimate world dedicated to the restoration of strength, beauty and balance of the body, mind and soul. The Day Spa features 7 treatment rooms including an Oceanic Suite and a relaxing area with views over the Ocean. You can choose from the last generation of treatments, aesthetic & wellness products and Aromatherapy care. A place of Inspiration! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cascais Miragem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascais Miragem Hotel
Miragem Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing