We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cascais Miragem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Paradice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2007

Absolutely stunning hotel, room was spotless and very well equipped, bathroom even had sea view, we stayed on the top floor and our balcony was massive plenty of room to sunbathe.
Although there is some demolishing work going on to the property next door it never was a problem as it seamed to be screened off, would certaily recommend this hotel but discounts are available so ask first,

  • Liked — Spectacular view, cleanliness, size of room, staff
  • Disliked — I did not manage to stay long enough!!!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank treble1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    185
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
222
433
27
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2007

If you are considering visiting Cascais/Estoril you can not do any better than this hotel as it is excellent in every way.

The rooms are massive and the bathrooms wonderful. The staff can not do enough for you and it is kept spotless. Free internet access, great pool area, fantastic views and luxurious surroundings.

Only negative I would say (and it is a very minor negative) is that if you have children over 7 there is very little for them to do. A pool table or table tennis for the children/teenagers would be a good idea. There is a play room but it is really for much younger children.

Bar prices are too expensive as well, so best to eat and take drinks at a local bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ShineLikeDiamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2007

We stayed in the Miragem for 12 nights in July 2007.
Pluses: This is a beautiful hotel. No expense has been spared in the construction of the building, and the public rooms are stunning. The staff were faultless, from the desk to the pool. The restaurant is amazing, though very pricey, but worth it for a special night. Great pool area and plenty of beds. Cascais itself is also a plus, and a great place to visit. Good restaurants (we particularly liked the Indian 'Masala' on the main street Rua Frederico, and especially the Italian place a bit further on the left with the window open to the street (this is a great place to eat). Another plus is the train to Lisbon, which takes 30 minutes from Cascais or Monte Estoril, both stations a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. Lisbon is a wonderful city. We took a taxi to Sintra. We intended to hire a car, but the taxis are cheap, and Portuguese drivers are crazy. Don't go to Sintra on a Monday, as we did, because it's shut.
Minuses: Unfortunately the hotel is next door to the biggest demolition site on the coast. They have to knock down an enormous apartment block (brick by brick with a pneumatic drill)and then they are going to build another enormous building. One Thursday the noise started at 8.30 am and continued virtually uninterrupted until 7 pm. It is very intrusive. We raised the issue with several members of staff and were told that it was worth the inconvenience as the new building would be beautiful - no doubt it will, but this is no place to take a holiday while the demolition and building is going on.
I note the management's comments that the noise is not audible inside the hotel. This is true, and is no doubt intended to reassure the conference crowd which makes up a large proportion of the hotel's business. However, it is no consolation to the people sitting by the pool.
Verdict: We would definitely return to this hotel, but not until the demolition and building work next door has been completed.

  • Liked — Class rooms and very good staff
  • Disliked — The building site next door
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2007

The Miragem in Cascais is great for a relaxed pool side break. Its very grand and ornate, the bathroom particularly so. Located a bit out of Cascais (nearer to Monte Estoril), it has few facilities other than the pool and currently the hotel next door is being demolished, so you may suffer from the noise and some views will be affected.

The breakfast is superb, cleanliness great and the poolside bean bags are a great idea.

  • Liked — The sea view, the chocolates! and the breakfast
  • Disliked — No tea and coffee making facilties, no sports facilities
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Beebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

Second visit to the Miragem. Booked a delux room but were given a standard room on arrival. Took twenty four hours and had to unpack and pack twice before we were given the room I had paid for! nevertheless every thing else about htis hotel is really great. The japanese selection on Saturday was amazing. The staff were very helpful and courteus. Pool was lovely and very clean. Our room ( when we eventually got it ) was great. Will go back as soon as we get a chance.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dubgirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cascais Miragem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cascais Miragem

Property: Hotel Cascais Miragem
Address: Av. Marginal, 8554, Cascais 2754-536, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cascais
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#2 Business Hotel in Cascais
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cascais Miragem 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the exclusive Estoril coast, the five star Hotel Cascais Miragem is set in a spectacular situation facing the Atlantic Ocean with views over the Marina of Cascais. The 192 elegantly decorated rooms and suites are spacious with all the modern comfort. Relax at the Cristovao Colombo Bar for a pre-dinner drink of Porto or Champagne before dining in the award winning Gourmet restaurant overlooking The Marina. Traditional Portuguese recipes with international influences create trans-ethnic cuisine prepared using only the finest ingredients. Located on the third floor the "infinity edge" of the swimming pool merges with the deep blue of the Atlantic Ocean. All guests have complementary access to the Health Club, Holmes Place, offering over 3000 square meter of cardiovascular and body building equipment studios with different classes and activities: heated pool with views over the ocean, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath and a service of personal trainers. The Holmes Place Spa at the Hotel opens the door to an intimate world dedicated to the restoration of strength, beauty and balance of the body, mind and soul. The Day Spa features 7 treatment rooms including an Oceanic Suite and a relaxing area with views over the Ocean. You can choose from the last generation of treatments, aesthetic & wellness products and Aromatherapy care. A place of Inspiration! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cascais Miragem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascais Miragem Hotel
Miragem Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing