We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speachless”
Review of Hotel da Vila

Hotel da Vila
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel da Vila
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Speachless”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I just don't have the words to explain my feelings. I stayed for 2 weeks and i just loved it. If a had more money for my vacation i would have stayed more time. The service is great, it is clean, everyone is very friendly and it has an amazing location. I stayed in the 3rd floor and i loved the view. Just amazing...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
22
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Pros: Reasonably priced, especiallyconsidering location. It is centrally located, hotel rooms are clean and well kept. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Cons: Next to an "after hours discoteque" so the constant muffled sounds of the "thump thump thump" of bass can be heard from just about past mid-nite until 5-6 in the am. Persons who are lighter sleepers may want to get a room numbered ending in 04 or higher to better your chances of distancing youself from the discoteque.

Room Tip: Light sleepers...go for rooms ending in o4 or higher to distance yourself from the discoteque that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I was planning on staying in this hotel for four nights, but having survived one totally sleepless night, I checked out immediately the following morning. It is located adjacent a night club with thumping beat-noise and street-rowdies until 5.00am - even after a visit from the police. The hotel itself had dirty floors and windows, the sound insulation non-existant, my own single room was far too small for comfort and the shower water did not drain away but overflowed into the bathroom floor, and the breakfast was overcharged and completely insufficient. My advice - keep away from this tatty dump!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cascais hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We just showed up in Cascais without a reservation and asked for a recommendation at the Turismo. I was a little concerned when I read a couple of the bad reviews in TA but we were quite pleased with the room. It was not very big (or expensive) but was clean and comfortable. We could walk everywhere (including the train station). The staff was very friendly (english speaking) and helpful. I believe it was 70 euros/night for a double including breakfast (nothing special, just toast and coffee).

Cascais is a bit touristy for me but the location makes it a great base. You can take the train straight to the heart of Lisbon in 40 minutes. We rented a car and explored the Sintra area. The market at Sao Pedro de Sintra (2nd + 4th Sunday of each month) was a lot of fun.

Recommend Aromi Restaurant just down the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandpa117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

As a regular visitor to Cascais, we tried a hotel nearer the beach and centre. worried by previous reviews, sceptcism was the 'order of the day'. The location is perfect, quality of room very good, and above all else 'safe'. Polite and helpful staff, outstanding soundproofing, really no negatives. have already booked for autumn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterinburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Actually we needed just a place to sleep and put our bags, so this hotel was one of the cheapest (for end of May). Yes, i agree with other reviewers that the location is good: you can easily reach beach or cafes less than 5-10 min of walking. We didn't request breakfast in the hotel - and we were right! Some "breakfast" cafes (with fresh juice, coffee, fresh cookies and buns) are open since 7 or 8 nearby. And it will be cheaper than have a breakfast in the hotel.
Also i'll agree with one of the review that sometimes it was noisy: we heard new guests arriving at night to their room, how some company drank the whole night... So the walls are thin there..
The guys at reception (there're not so many of them, by the way, you can sometime see the front desk empty) speak not very good english, but they will use all their efforts to help you - with your plans, tour itineraries et c.
The room was always clean. Everyday.
So all i can say it was rather good, but we thought i'd be a little better for the money that we paid.

Room Tip: try to have a higher room ( it'll be less noisy there, i think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelFrog17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Rooms have little or no soundproofing. You have the sounds of bars and clubs till the early hours and street sweeping machines etc. from 6AM onwards. The worst night of sleep I have ever experienced in any hotel.

The GM/Owner refused to meet me or discuss this with me on the phone, even though he was in the vicinity. He is unprofessional in the extreme.

I did not feel that I should have to pay my bill in full given the above. I was informed that if i didnt the money would be taken from staff wages, which is unfair so I paid in full. That is the type of operation that you are dealing with here I am afraid.

Avoid at all costs. N.B. The nearby Hotel Valbom is under the same control, so the same advice applies there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cidadela
Hotel Cidadela
#27 of 39 in Cascais
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#3 of 17 in Estoril
458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cascais Hotel
Cascais Hotel
#16 of 39 in Cascais
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Vila

Property: Hotel da Vila
Address: Travessa da Alfarrobeira 1 3, Cascais 2750-285, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel da Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vila Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing