We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Such a beautiful hotel. The lobby is so elaborately decorated, and in a very unique style (unlike most beach resorts). The pool is just so-so, but the view is excellent. The rooms are AMAZING! Electronically controlled shades, huge bed, great linens, bath tub with separate shower and separate toilet area. Big closets, good-sized television, very interesting and thorough lighting. Definitely pricey, and thus not always the right choice, but if its in your budget this is a great spot. The breakfast is also insane, lots of choices for great food, not to mention complimentary alcohol! Helps that Cascais is so amazing as well, and this hotel is in great proximity to the city center, the beach, and the Boca do Inferno.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    234
    56
    19
    3
See reviews for
311
852
32
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed for two nights........opted for dinner on the first night on the patio off the lobby. Took 30 minutes to get a glass of wine and about 45 minutes to start our meal. When it came down for a second glass of wine - it was another 30 minutes - finally walked up to the bar to get their attention -the patio was not that busy. Good news - the "Steak Tartare" was the best I have ever experienced even in France - it was served with aoli sauce and french fries. My hat off to the chef....would eat there again - just the wait was the challenge

Room was large well equiped - my view was over the parking lot - so cannot say much - others in our group had good views - so it was the luck of the draw.....and they had excellent wifi........bath had tub and shower - everything worked.

Hotel is a distance from city center - about a 20 minute walk........

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbygrayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

If i were to sit here and type all day.
I would still not have finished telling you how good this hotel and it's staff are.

I'll keep it simple.

If you want a truly 5 star expierence from a 5 star hotel + staff,
this is the one.

The staff, food and hotel were the best our family have ever expierenced in our 6 night stay.

We will be back

SOONER rather than later

10/10

Room Tip: I wouldn't think there'd be a bad room in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

5 star property featuring nice large rooms with terrace (you like to book the grand dekuxe sea view rooms). Good service, spa, swimming pool everything ver well done. there is no direct access to the sea. So if you absolutely want that you probably should stay at the albatros hotel, etc... However the Grande Villa Real is a perefect choice for spending a few relaxing days and/or use if as your homebase to explore Cascais, Estoril, Sintra and the great waterfront and nature around these villages. The hotel can help you to organise bikes, etc... the hotel is also suitable for group meetings as it features a nice large meeting room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank purep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge ON
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I had the pleasure of accompanying a group that had earned a trip to Portugal and were staying at the Villa Italia. The hotel itself is stunning with some great views of the ocean. Even more impressive are the staff. They were without a doubt accomodating and extremely pleasant. The rooms were terrific and every detail has been thought out. The one thing missing perhaps was the lack of iron or ironing board. Additionally it would be have been nice to be able to enjoy a coffee on the balcony in the morning however as it quite normal in Europe, no coffee maker in the room. All in all anyone who is fortunate enough to stay at this hotel will have a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view on the 3rd or 4th floor - well worth the added cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in April 2012 (company event).
The hotel is simply amazing! If I ever return to Cascais that's where I will stay!

Positive points:
+Rooms are huuuuge. The bathroom in my room had a size of my entire flat back home :)
+Excellent sleep quality (big and comfortable bed, thick curtains, no noise)
+Perfect service and extremely helpful and friendly staff
+Large terrace with sea view, amazing swimming pool and sun-bathing area
+Quiet area, short walk to the center of Cascais and to the marina

Negative points:
- Catering (I attended a company event and the catered food was not great. Breakfast was OK and I didn't try hotel restaurant)

I don't know how the hotel and the area are in summer, I stayed there in low-season (April) and it felt like paradise, perfect place to recharge your batteries!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElRoyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Do not have anything negative to say. Cascais is a lovely town and the hotel only a short walk along the coastal road. Plenty of excellent restaurants and places to visit . The hotel room was beautifully decorated to the style of the hotel. Plenty of choice at breakfast and staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JKBHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.9 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Property: Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#4 Spa Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotelopia, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing