We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
State of Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is a wonderful hotel to stay in every way. It's very well located, in front of the sea and a few steps to the city center. The staff is very kind and attentive. Our room was very nice and comfortable and so the ambiance everywhere. I had an unforgettable time there and I would go there again for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cintiafarhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,489
    279
    65
    20
    4
See reviews for
395
970
39
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This hotel really is 5 star. From getting out of the taxi we were made to feel very welcome and indeed the level of personal service is something we won't forget. All the staff are excellent, professional and obviously well trained in the art of quality service.
We were upgraded to a sea view room which was very spacious and light, very calming colours, with a large bathroom which had two showers and two washbasins. The rooms were serviced twice a day, we had lovely fluffy towels changed twice a day too!
The whole of the hotel is furnished in an attractive modern/traditional style, very comfortable public areas and bar. The terrace provides a comfortable area for lounging outside if you don't use the sun loungers around the pool.
The bar staff were really good too, they don't just pour you a drink - they make you a drink, great cocktails and a "gin list", just right when you are on holiday for a treat.
We ate in the restaurant one evening and also one lunchtime. The food was excellent. Not large portions but beautifully cooked and presented, just what you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Breakfast was first class too, plenty of choice both hot and cold, lovely pastries and good choice of fresh fruit. My daughter has gluten free and providing bread and cereal was no problem at all.
If I was being picky then I would say the only thing I might not be happy about was the fact that two ducks were swimming in the pool! Dont know what the hotel can do about this. It was cloudy whilst we were there so we didnt use the pool at all, but not sure if I would have anyway.
All in all, from start to finish, my daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay.

Cascais - well we found it bit hard to get to the hang of this resort - it was very quiet and seemed like we were there in low season, despite it being June. The marina area is very nice (close to the Villa Italia) but the restaurants were almost empty and there was a slight feeling of despondency about it. We didnt find the shops very busy either, and its quite a spread out town, but maybe we didn't have long enough to investigate fully. We did take a taxi to the Cascais Shopping Mall on the Sunday morning - about 10 minutes away. Its very large but if you like shoppiing then its a good place to go, designer shops alongside cheaper shops, and excellent eating areas. It wasn't particularly busy there either. Maybe July and August are their busier months. I may be tempted to give Cascais another go at sometime in the future, but the resort itself wasn't very memorable, unlike the hotel which was.

Room Tip: Probably a higher floor is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owlsfan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have to agree with everything that has been said in all the previous reviews - excellent hotel, lovely big rooms with huge balcony on 1st floor overlooking the pool and sea with loungers! The staff were excellent nothing was a problem. The pool area was very nice despite the fact that a lot of visitors reserved their beds by putting towels on them and then disappeared for hours - this needs to be addressed by the hotel especially when the hotel is very busy. There were a lot of Irish people staying here which I was surprised at.... Breakfast was very good with a large selection of food and if you required anything which wasn't out you just had to ask. The pool area was very nice, if a bit small - it wasn't overly busy when we were there so we didn't mind. We had an issue with noise after midnight on the 1st night as our room was over the bar/outdoor terrace area, however, it was swiftly rectified when we called reception to ask about it. We have previously stayed in the Miragem and really liked it....for different reasons....the staff and atmosphere at the Grand Villa is more friendly. It is about a 10 minute walk into town which isn't bad but isn't a very scenic walk.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor but we had asked for the 2nd floor due to the noise issue on the terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreeceQBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford surrey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The experience at this hotel was nothing short of excellent.
We booked at a days notice and arrived to find an absolute gem.
Beautiful setting overlooking the sea. Rooms are very well appointed and very luxurious.
The restaurant food was truly memorable and the breakfast including obligatory champagne was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel.
The staff could not have been more helpful without exception . I would like to highlight the service we received from Andre the food and beverage manager . He really was the finest example of how good service should be !
In conclusion,the hotel is truly five star but manages to retain a sense of care for the customer unlike many of the worlds five star hotels. Well done

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel as we wanted a totally relaxing holiday in Cascais and based on the Trip Advisor reviews. It was everything we expected - and more!! When we arrived in the early evening, we were personally shown to our room which was HUGE - with a beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean. The room itself was really spacious and comfortable with a huge bathroom (separate bath and shower, double sinks and separate toilet). We had dinner in the hotel that evening which was great and woke up feeling thoroughly pleased with ourselves and our choice of accommodation! The hotel really is a luxury one and is ideal if you are looking to spend a lot of time there rather than going out and about a lot. Though it's only 10 minutes walk from the centre of Cascais and a very easy and pleasant walk to the museums, restaurants and shops there. And only about 5 minutes from the lovely park in Cascais, which is nice for a wander. The staff in the hotel are really friendly and helpful. We ate a few times in the restaurant and thought that the food was really good quality and much cheaper than we would have expected for a 5 star hotel. Overall the hotel is better value for money than many other luxury hotels, though lunch and drinks are on the pricey side. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was excellent - a huge buffet spread every day with loads to choose from. The hotel facilities are excellent - great restaurant, beautifully decorated bar and spectacular terrace where you can enjoy a drink whilst looking out at the ocean. The pool area is also beautiful and there is a lovely spa - you need to pay to use it but the prices are quite competitive - 20 euros to use the thermal suite and treatment prices are pretty standard. They also seemed to have various special offers on. It was great to have the spa to make use of on days when the weather was a bit mixed, as it was when we stayed here. I could go on and on about this place, but suffice to say the photos on the website do it justice, as do all the other positive TA reviews. Are there any negatives? We received a bottle of water in our room on arrival but this was never replenished. Given it's a 5 star hotel you would expect this to be replaced each day. The cleaning of the room seemed to be a bit random - on a couple of days this wasn't done but it seemed to sort itself out during the course of our stay. The service in the restaurant could be a bit slow at times, but nothing to really bother us. We were on holiday after all! I am splitting hairs here - these are minor points in an otherwise fantastic place. Would be hard to imagine returning to Cascais and staying anywhere else after experiencing this hotel. Gorgeous!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IgglePiggle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is the most difficult review I have written as I can't quite identify objectively what is lacking. Booked this due to the very favourable reviews on trip advisor. Positive points - good location - 10 minute walk to the centre of Cascais, speedy check in (we arrived early and very kindly upgraded to a suite) beautiful looking hotel, impressive foyer and terrace, beautiful bedroom and bathroom, great breakfast choice but no station doing omelettes. Free fast WiFi. The front of house staff were efficient.
Negative points - the piped music was really awful in the public areas ('supermarket' type). The room itself had staining on the carpet, no tea making facilities, the duvet cover on one bed wasn't changed for 6 days (it had a hole so I am definite about this) which made me question the frequency of the linen change. There was an unpleasant odour in the corridor near the room. An inadequate supply of loungers around the pool area to accommodate guests. The dining room in the morning - a little of the canteen atmosphere and limited seating outside. Afternoon bar service on the terrace was very slow and expensive - one flat draft beer 6 euro. Due to this we didn't avail of any dining or bar service in the hotel. Laundry service really expensive - 9 euro for trousers.
We had high expectations which weren't met and most of the negative points should not arise in a 5 star setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeWhatDSees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the end of trip to Portugal to get in a few days of relaxation and it was an excellent choice. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The restaurant and bar area are wonderful with relaxing views of a beautiful tiled pool and the ocean beyond. The food and service were way above average as well. Traveling in May, I got a fantastic deal on the room (less than $175US) which included a huge buffet breakfast. Although I did not have a view of the ocean, my room was enormous with a king bed, a beautiful marble bath and plenty of closet space. A minor area of improvement for the room is that it had a very light carpet that needed extra cleaning in a few places. I also did a half-day spa experience which was excellent. They have a really unique, swimming pool size hydro-therapy pool with a sauna near by. The woman (whose name I wish I could remember) who did all my treatments was really exceptional. (And I've been to a lot of spas!)

I also used Cascais as my jumping off point for Sintra which is an amazing city to visit. I did an entire day and could have used two. The staff at the desk was wonderful in helping me arrange transportation and recommending where to go in both Sintra and Cascais. They also helped arrange a car to the airport for a very early flight.

Overall, highly recommended on your next trip to Portugal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBAR_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#6 of 39 in Cascais
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
768 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Property: Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing