We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, what more can you say!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Grand Real Villa Italia certainly isn't the cheap option in Cascais. That said it offers excellent value for money when you consider the superior standard of the hotel.

At check in we were upgraded to an executive room with a sea view. The bed you would have to be careful not to get lost in! All the mod cons are present including electric curtains. Believe it or not our bath even had a screen you could raise to look out to sea.

The hotel restaurant offers decent quality food if slightly on the pricey side. Wifi is complimentary throughout and it makes a pleasant change to have breakfast included when you have booked the cheapest rate.

No question where we will stay on our next visit!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rdslight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,

It is overwhelming and really gratifying to see how many guests are either repeated guests or are already planning their return trip, as you are, and please forgive us for repeating ourselves, but this is definitely the biggest compliment we can hope for. The small details make the big difference in our hotel.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 2,006 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a group of 7 girlfriends for a 3 night mini break. We had visited Lisbon the year before and driven past the area on a trip to Sintra and thought it would be a lovely place to stay. It was!

The rooms were lovely and very spacious. The service from all staff in all areas spa, reception, bar, waiting staff was excellent.

The breakfast was fantastic as was the lunch. In the evenings we had cocktails which were to die for.

A walk into Cascais town takes a leisurely 10/15 minutes and has a mix of shops, restaurants, marina and small beach. There's something for everyone. We spent one day by the pool and had spa treatments which were some of the best we had ever experienced. The Spa area is beautiful and very relaxing.

We ate out at Hemmingways in the Marina and Monte Mar (10 mins in a taxi) and can thoroughly recommend both. There is a beer garden just across the road from the hotel and we spent one evening after dinner there listening and dancing to live music.

Some of us are going to return with partners and family next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twotab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear guest,

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff.
It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service to the point of assigning the top score.

Thank you also for your detailed description of our services and facilities, but also things to do in Cascais. We are sure that these will be greatly appreciated and very helpful for future guests.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, next year, for another excellent experience at the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this luxury hotel, in the most magnificent room with a view ever, This hotel was was our second choice in Cascais, but I'm glad we stayed there. Friendly and helpful staff, wonderful poll. My only and one advice: when booking ask for a room with sea view.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlebunny960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service to the point of assigning the top score.

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another excellent experience at the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is magnificent hotel has 2 outdoor pools, one for children, spacious rooms and the most incredible bathrooms I've seen. It is a comfortable 15 minute walk to the town center which has charming patterned cobblestoned streets and dozens of charming places to dine. This is a beach town and the boats on the ocean provide beautiful vistas. This really was one of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are noisy but see if you can one facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gramrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with the conditions and the location of the hotel.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another excellent experience at the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed on a 4 night stay in Cascais and a 5 night stay in Porto,both 5 star hotels and be honest the grande real italia outshone the other hotel in terms of service to food.
Our room was excellent - beautiful very large twin room with balcony facing onto the pool/sea view.
Breakfast- best ever from all the hotels we have visted, excellent selection.
We decided to opt for half board and were not dissappointed in food and service , staff very freindly and professional ,nothing was a bother to them.
Only thing we were dissapointed with was not choosig to stay with them longer instead we had booked a trip to Porto and stayed in an awlful 5 star hotel .
We will return to Cascais and would return to the grande real hotel again.

Room Tip: Room facin onto pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,

It is overwhelming and really gratifying to see how many guests are either repeated guests or are already planning their return trip, as you are, and please forgive us for repeating ourselves, but this is definitely the biggest compliment we can hope for.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The choice suites appear to be those numbered "0xx" series. The corner suites such as 001 have views in two directions. Those on the "0" level or higher are more likely to have open ocean views. The Marina is a short 10 minute walk (right out of hotel entrance to the ocean in 1/2 block, then left along the ocean front for 8 or so minutes. A number of restaurants are located in the Marina. BTW this hotel numbers rooms without obvious relation to the level the room is on. 318, for example is on level 1. Stay here enough days and the rational might reveal itself. It would be nice for American travelers to include a coffee maker in the room.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank crackofdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We only stayed there 2 nights but it was pure luxury , the hotel is vast with a big enough pool , service and staff are extremely professional ( we have been surprised once by the roomaid although the no disturb sign was on but it wont ruin the general impression ) , rooms are large with balcony , very luxurious and extremly comfortable , bathroom is a piece of art , buffet breakfast is extensive, the hotel is in a quite area just a short walk from town center , they also suggested us a restaurant ( visconde da luz ) wich turn out to be amazing , we really enjoyed our time there .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that the two nights you spent with us were confortable and luxurious as you wanted and certainly deserves.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 39 in Cascais
585 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: £100 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing