We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Its the staff”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A very pleasant week spent at this hotel in October. The staff are superb, without exception pleasant and helpful. I question the 'heated' swimming pool as I found it unacceptable on the two sunny days we had. The pool really needs heating to be user friendly. The breakfasts were good and the evening restaurant provided tasty food, even if the menu was limited. The hotel location couldn't be better with good walks along the front in both directions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It is overwhelming and really gratifying to see how satisfied you were with our service and staff, this is definitely the biggest compliment we can hope for.

Thank you so much for your constructive comments and review, we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    268
    64
    19
    3
See reviews for
374
945
38
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

There are only a few resorts and hotels that I'd rate as excellent and fewer still that make the 'superb' title. The Grande Real Villa in Cascais is one of the latter. With a style blending traditional Portugese style with progressive details, the colorful rooms are both comfortable and exotic. The palatial lobby is impressive, while the dining room was open and inviting. While some staff spoke limited english, all of them went out of their way to offer hospitality and service of the first order. Loved the breakfast buffet, which had plenty of top quality local produce. The only downside I can think of was the high tech swimming pool--with an assortment of computerized water features--charged $60 USD per person admission.

Room Tip: -Request a seaside room if possible. -Nice walk down to the seaside road bordering the S. Atlantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review, especially for your kind comments about our architecture details. We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!

The downside you refer, in fact is the value of a good and exclusive feature of our Real Spa Marine, that is outstanding since it carries out all hydrotherapy treatments and massage with seawater. The practice of these treatments, known as thalassotherapy, has healing and preventive qualities, based upon the effectiveness of the properties of seawater and its bio-components.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, next year, for another excellent experience at the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We recently returned from 5 nights at the hotel. The staff could not do enough to help you and I was particularly impressed with the front of house staff. We received an upgrade to a suite which was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikechild100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, especially for your kind comments about the helpfulness of our team, which were really appreciated.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!

Thank you for having left your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

On checking in for our seven night stay we cheekily asked if we could possibly get a seaview room, even though we hadn't booked one. The charming receptionist said unfortunately no but she had upgraded us to a suite. This was room number 315 and it had a lovely lounge with a balcony (from which you could see the sea if you looked sideways), a big bedroom with an enormous bed and a big bathroom with his and her circular hand basins. The bathroom had a separate 'monsoon' shower plus the shower over the bath and a separate toilet and bidet. Everything was spotlessly clean.

The breakfast was great and in addition to the smoked salmon and champagne on offer were jars of marshmallows and Haribo sweets. I didn't indulge in the champagne as I don't drink but I did sneak a marshmallow or two. The only small downside was the breakfast coffee. It was often lukewarm and not very strong. The staff would go away and make a cappuccino, espresso or latte if requested but this sometimes wasn't very good either.

The hotel pool was a good size but unfortunately I reacted really badly to the 'salt' water. I have swam in saltwater pools before and never experienced this level of discomfort. Luckily I had goggles with me but as a result only used the pool twice.

I did however take advantage of the spa pool, sauna and steam room (hammam) by booking a beauty treatment and paying an extra 10 euro. I had the whole thing to myself for over 3 and a half hours. Luxury.

All the staff were great from the reception staff to the waiting staff to the housekeeping staff. We ate in the hotel restaurant twice and this was good too. All in all a wonderful, relaxing stay. I'd certainly go back, which is a good indication of how highly I rate this hotel as I'm really quite difficult to please.

Room Tip: Although we didn't have a seaview, our suite was big, well furnished and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmemBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your constructive comments and review.
We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were well impressed with our service.

Only demanding customers like you allow us to improve our service and continue to exceed expectations.

It was especially gratifying to learn that you would definitely return and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Grand Real Villa Italia certainly isn't the cheap option in Cascais. That said it offers excellent value for money when you consider the superior standard of the hotel.

At check in we were upgraded to an executive room with a sea view. The bed you would have to be careful not to get lost in! All the mod cons are present including electric curtains. Believe it or not our bath even had a screen you could raise to look out to sea.

The hotel restaurant offers decent quality food if slightly on the pricey side. Wifi is complimentary throughout and it makes a pleasant change to have breakfast included when you have booked the cheapest rate.

No question where we will stay on our next visit!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rdslight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

It is overwhelming and really gratifying to see how many guests are either repeated guests or are already planning their return trip, as you are, and please forgive us for repeating ourselves, but this is definitely the biggest compliment we can hope for. The small details make the big difference in our hotel.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a group of 7 girlfriends for a 3 night mini break. We had visited Lisbon the year before and driven past the area on a trip to Sintra and thought it would be a lovely place to stay. It was!

The rooms were lovely and very spacious. The service from all staff in all areas spa, reception, bar, waiting staff was excellent.

The breakfast was fantastic as was the lunch. In the evenings we had cocktails which were to die for.

A walk into Cascais town takes a leisurely 10/15 minutes and has a mix of shops, restaurants, marina and small beach. There's something for everyone. We spent one day by the pool and had spa treatments which were some of the best we had ever experienced. The Spa area is beautiful and very relaxing.

We ate out at Hemmingways in the Marina and Monte Mar (10 mins in a taxi) and can thoroughly recommend both. There is a beer garden just across the road from the hotel and we spent one evening after dinner there listening and dancing to live music.

Some of us are going to return with partners and family next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twotab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear guest,

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff.
It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service to the point of assigning the top score.

Thank you also for your detailed description of our services and facilities, but also things to do in Cascais. We are sure that these will be greatly appreciated and very helpful for future guests.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, next year, for another excellent experience at the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this luxury hotel, in the most magnificent room with a view ever, This hotel was was our second choice in Cascais, but I'm glad we stayed there. Friendly and helpful staff, wonderful poll. My only and one advice: when booking ask for a room with sea view.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebunny960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service to the point of assigning the top score.

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another excellent experience at the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#6 of 39 in Cascais
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
1.9 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#3 of 39 in Cascais
239 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Property: Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#2 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing