We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
2 reviews
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel when we were in Portugal for a friend's wedding. We had such an amazing stay. The hotel is like something out of an old movie with Carey Grant; classic style and very beautiful. The rooms are spacious and very luxurious. We had a wonderful view of the ocean. The staff was also spectacular. From the front desk staff, to the spa staff, to the banquet servers everyone was friendly and very professional. We met the spa manager, Christopher, at check-in and he welcomed us to the hotel. Our room wasn't ready (we were early) so he showed us around the hotel and chatted about how much he loves the property. We ended up taking a soak in their amazing baths because of his recommendation.

When I go back to Portugal I will make sure to spend more time at the Villa Italia. It is 100% worth the journey and the price. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesacavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,289
    231
    56
    19
    3
See reviews for
306
844
32
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aljezur, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days over Christmas. From the minute we arrived until the minute we left the service we received from the very efficient and friendly staff was excellent. The dinner on Christmas Eve was wonderful. The Spa was outstanding - the best I have ever been in. The hotel fully deserves all the accolades it receives. We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Expattiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with our staff, which is in fact responsible for the quality of our service.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service to the point of assigning the top score. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team, who will be delighted too.

Thank you for having left your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kintnersville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a week to celebrate his 50th birthday. The staff was so attentive, friendly and they make you feel like royalty! The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk to downtown. It is a great location. He walk to the village is just beautiful. The room was clean, big, the king size bed was even bigger than a normal king size. Bathroom was so beautiful too. We got a room with balcony overlooking the ocean and it was so worth it! This is maybe the best hotel I ever stayed. Breakfast was just decadent, everything fresh and delicious. I would definitely stay at the same hotel next time.

Room Tip: If you can pay a little extra for the room with balcony overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service to the point of assigning the top score.

Thanks for pointing out the details of service and the friendliness of our team. We’re happy to know that our guests feel this special place.

We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team, who will be delighted too.

Thank you for having left your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa for your second royalty stay.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were a party of 9 lady golfers and we had a wonderful week. The hotel facilities are fabulous, there's a great outside salt water pool which is superbly maintained and wonderfully maintained. Also an amazing spa with everything you could want. BIG PROBLEM was service in the restaurant as it was terrible. So terribly slow that we ate almost 2 hours after our reserved time! The food was wonderful but far too long to wait.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for mentioning the points that in your opinion could be better.

We regret that your experience was not the best one. Your restaurant observation is one of those that happen exceptionally, certainly because something unforeseen happened.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you soon, for another experience at the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel is located near one of the less used beaches of Cascais. The center of the town and the main beach is about 10 minutes by walk. You can reach Lisbon by taking the train for about an hour. The hotel has very friendly staff. The swimming pool of the hotel is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4on4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the compliments regarding our staff. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team, who will be delighted too.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another excellent experience at the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at this resort on the week in September. We were greeted by the front desk staff who were very friendly. We were told that our room was not yet ready so we walked around the town center of Cascais which was a 10 minute walk from the resort. We came back an hour later and learned that our room was upgraded to a Seaview Suite on the Villa Building. What a great surprise this was to us. The room was outstanding with a great view of the ocean and the bay. Room was spotless and roomy, with large windows providing lots of natural light. Bathroom was made up entirely of marble with a stand up shower and a separate tub with room for 2. Breakfast was ok with the usual items out. Service could have been better as we had to wait a long time on a few occasions for coffee refills. We never ate at the hotel for lunch or dinner due to the higher prices and there were far too many options in town to pass up. Grounds were very clean and the natural sea water pool was great. All in all this was an excellent stay and we were very pleased. We will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms with an Ocean View in Villa d'Este are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bavaria1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear guest,

It is overwhelming and really gratifying to see how satisfied you were with our service, this is definitely the biggest compliment we can hope for, especially when you say you will return.

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another excellent experience at the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed in room 25, probably the most comfortable room and fabulous bathroom, I have ever stayed in. The bed was bliss and pillows perfect. The decor was stunning. I had four windows, all of which opened onto sea views. The bathroom was large and contained a large seperate loo, bath and shower. It was quiet, the curtains kept out the early morning light and I slept really well. It is possible to criticise over the pool being too cold to swim in and there being no indoor pool. I also think they could have replaced the water by the bed each day. The room and location of this hotel more than made up for any drawbacks. Stunning!

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ros h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest,

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service to the point of assigning the top score. Thank you so much for your constructive comments and review.

We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
1,097 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.9 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Property: Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira, 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#4 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing